Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Charles R Hadley Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 1032 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

25 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 5, 2014

I do not understand how the gifted program works in this school. My son is now in third grade and he has been attending this school since first grade . In the SAT of both , first grade and second grade, he got 99 in Math(which is the highest possible score) and 95 in Reading . At the end of both courses, his regular grades were straight A's. However, every time we went to the school (because they never contacted us) to ask about the possibility of him entering into the program they gave us a different explanation. Last year, they told us that it was too late to begin with the process, now, that they need to take into account the amount of students enrolled into the gifted program in each grade before make any proposal to the district. So, if the gifted group has enough students no other student will be able to enter into the program even though his results could be better of those already enrolled . I think that the school does not have a transparent and fair policy about this program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2014

please call at district office at 305 499 5050 and let them know so they can take care of it
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2014

My three kids go to this school and i have nothing but good experiences both teachers, administrative staff and students. This is the first year i am home full time and i have beend at the school in many occassions and i have wonderful relationships with my kids' teachers. Ms. Leon-Rodriguez, Ms. De Dios, Ms. Marrero, Ms. Sanchez, Ms. Carranza, Ms. Hernandez and Ms. Garcia are aweeesome! They are dedicated, easy to talk to, they are always thinking about the well being of my children and all the kids and the minute they see something not right they let me know so we can work together to fix it. I really love this school. Ms. Menchero, the Principal and the assistant principals, Ms. Gil and Ms. Rose are always there to help me and all the parents. Many of the parents that i have talked to, have excellent comments about the efficiency, dedication and personal touch they give to any issue they might have had with their kids. I recommend this school 100%.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2014

Im giving it one star because this school is very bad. The principal is the only nice person there and some other teachers but the children... They bully and bother everyone and they keep on doing it which is why it is impossible to ignore them... The food is not that healthy and good the lunch is messy the school is dirty they make the kids sit on dirty floors which my kid comes with dirt on his pants everyday . The gifted has the only normal people in it pther classes are horrible but not because of the teachers because of the kids. If you dont want your child being one of the bully or crying everyday dont ever choose this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2013

This school is amazing. Amazing campus, professionalism everywhere. Also, unlike most schools the faculty and staff are actually nice, caring, and responsible for our school. I highly recommend this school because it welcomes all races and cultures
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2013

This school is the best one ever I am in 5th grade and I am having a wonderful year I have been here since kindergarten. I love you Hadley.


Posted October 30, 2013

This school has the worst manners and professionalism i have ever seen. I called up the school to find out some information for my son, when i called the operator welcomed me to the school then continued to talk to whoever she was talking to in the office completely ignoring me. I just want to warn everyone that they should be ready to deal with some of the rudest people in FL i hope after this year i have nothing to do with this school and i am very disappointed in the action of the receptionist


Posted February 10, 2013

I went to Hadley 2nd-5th grade it is Amazing extreme security and once there was a delincuent 100 ft from the school and within 2 minutes the school was on lockdown.the children are friendly and there is no bulliying whatsoever . Your child will be happy here and The principal Mrs.Menchero has amazing leadership and Mrs.Gil And Dr.Guold Are Amazing Vice principals!Hadley Is Amazing!


Posted December 17, 2012

I think is the Best School in Miami, Dade. My son & daugther go there, ones in 4th and the other in kinder, The teacher are great, and very understanding!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2012

Charles R. Hadley has been the best experience ever for my daughter, GABRIELA OLEAGA. I can t ask for more. She has been able to succeed and explode her full potential. The teachers are great and very caring. Their gifted programs is excellent and even thou there is a lot of homework at times, I believe is for the benefit of the child. As for those parents who are complaining about the school, it might be because they want their kids to be babied, they are not there to play they are there to learn, discipline is a key to success. We will miss the entire staff, since my daughter is graduating this year! Thank you for 6 fabulous years of good standard and great education!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2011

THIS IS THE WORST SCHOOL IN MIAMI. PLEASE PUT YOUR CHILD IN ANOTHER SCHOOL. HERE ARE THE WORST TEACHERS IN MIAMI .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2011

My two children attended this school since pre-k - 5th grade is excellent school teachers are dedicated to outstanding students are the responsibilities of each child s really give them 5 stars because the institution has won it
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2010

My two kids are there since preschool and is an excellent school for the attention you give to students, the teachers are patient and helpful my first son is graduating this year but I've got two there and my two nephews are like from the preschool so far not had any problems there .... they recommend
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2010

great school.....there where always somebody to help me when I need it....My child's teacher was Mrs. Leon-Rodriguez. She is the best..always worry about the education and progress of my son....I'm glad my son had it as a teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2010

My son is a 2nd grader at Charles R Hadley. He has been bullied the majority of the year. Even though I have discussed it many times with his teacher and now school counciler and principle it continues. They blame him because he stands out do to his long hair and said it should be cut, he doesnt look like the other boys. His teacher and counciler have even called him 'annoying' to my face! There are so many problems that I have experienced with this school this year theres just not enough room on this page to list it all. The experience this year has been very disapointing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2009

My daughter, Rhina Lara, attended this school from K-5th and she will always cherish the education she received at this school. I want to say thanks to Mrs. Falcon, Mrs. Argain and Mrs. Mena, Mrs. Placeres and Mrs. Miranda (retired), Mrs. Rivero and Mrs. Valle, Mrs. del Valle and Mrs. Gonzales, and wonderful Mr. Gans. My daughter was in the SABER program and later became Gifted. I have to say that this school was a safe haven and she made life-long friendships. I'm proud to say that she is now going to highschool and she still uses many of the advices that her CRH teachers gave her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2008

this school is sooooo good! the teachers are great expecially the new principal and the students always behave (except sometimes in the cafeteria) :D
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 27, 2007

My oldest girl got into Middle School after Charles R. Hadley, I would say yes, very proud kids graduated from CR Hadley they are very well prepared to face all the challenges from Middle school, whenever teachers ask to do a task of any kind, guess who accomplised first, and help tutoring other kids who came from other schools. Also our Principal is the most active member, she was always on top of all activities, parents meetings, etc. A+ 4her
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2007

There are no such 15 students per teacher. No encouragement for kids or rewards. Other schools has more activities for the students and teachers. 2006-2007 year was awful experience for my child with a 30 student classroom and careless teachers. The whole year she was a trouble child and at the end she got a gifted child invitation for a test. How you explain that?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2006

My daughter attended K - 5 grade and just graduated over the summer. Charles Hadley was an exceptional elementary school and stepping stone. I found the Principal and teachers to be very supportive and encouraging. This is an 'A' school and they work very hard to maintain their high standards. The environment was safe and nurturing. Assemblies and meetings were a challenge though for parking, seating and punctuality - meetings rarely started on time. Also, because the community is bilingual, all gatherings were conducted in 2 languages which at times, was very frustrating.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

161 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

161 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
52%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

138 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

138 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
60%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

139 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
37%

2013

 
 
87%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

172 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
56%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

172 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
62%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

172 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
53%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

145 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 96%
White 2%
Asian 1%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 50%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 84%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 54%58%61%
Master's degree 43%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 3%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 2%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Music teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Music room
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • MS. MARIA R MENCHERO
Fax number
  • (305) 267-2984

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Music room
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Girls sports
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8400 Northwest 7th Street
Miami, FL 33126
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 261-3719

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT