Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Joe Hall Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 585 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

35 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 2, 2009

Iam very happy with this school.My daugther is in second grade in Mrs.H.Roman class.Wao what an excellent teacher very nice,organize,very commited to see her students do well.Mrs.Garcia is very good too.My daugther is very happy she even wants to be a teacher like Mrs.Roman. Is great when a teacher touch a childs life and makes them want to be all they can be..I know Joe hall has a lot of good teachers but Mrs.H.Roman is one of a kind.. The new principal is very good brought along with her great changes.Iam happy my daugther is in this school and Ican't wait for my sons turn to go.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2008

I have a daughter thats in the 2 grade..i'm so happy with the school and the teachers are just great she had ms. rego for kinder and her mother mrs.rego and now has ms. hoover and my daughter has come a long way.All three teachers have worked very hard to help my daughter excel. They keep an excellent communication with me and they let me know always if my daughters needs extra help and they have always been on top of her and they have made sure that she does not fall back. I'm truly happy and thankful for such an excellent school and no wonder they are an A school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2008

I love love love this school I am so happy with the teachers that my kids have Ms. Reeser in K is so sweet and kind and very understanding I can't imagine making a first impression of school better than she can and Ms. Paez is awesome pays so much attention to the needs and advancement of her students I love her way of explaining situations and how maybe a bad grade once in a while can just be an off day for the student as long as their average grading is good. I cannot imagine my kids in any other school...the only thin g that bothers me is that the PTA is almost non exsistant seems to be hear of but never seen. Wish I had join back when they started the year I probably could have done alot.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2008

This school is wonderful. I have had nothing but great experiences with the staff and the administration. Mrs. Baz-Gonzalez is an outstanding 5th grade teacher. Also, Ms. Rivero is a wonderful 3rd grade teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2007

I love this school, went hear in 5th grade(note: im in 8th grade now) love the teachers, especially miss williamson very good teacher
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 4, 2007

I love Joe Hall Elementary. Mrs. Stern is wonderful and believe she has everything a teacher should have and is a very sweet lady, Mrs. Rivero is excellent too. Mrs. Georgelakis I heard is a great teacher and my daughter has no complains and think she is funny. Over all I love Joe Hall, the principal and assistant principal are lovely people. The personal in afterschool care are really nice and caring. I have to say this because I love music. they have the best music teacher, very dedicated and talented. The play last year was great (AIDA).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2007

I am a mother of two, both of which have attended Joe Hall for the last two years. I am anything but impressed with the school and the administration. While most of the staff I've met is pleasant, it takes a lot more than that to be an A school. The children are not given the accessibility to excel and progress. Also, the school puts too many time constraints in order to get any issues resolved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2007

I am thankful my children attend Joe Hall Elementary, it is truly an 'A+' school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2007

I am a mother of two children who one attends Joe Hall and the other one attended two years ago. This school has been a great school because of the teachers that are educated and interested in teaching our children however, there are some teachers that are there to receive a pay check and it is obvious. I have also noticed that the administration gives no importance to the ESE classes, teachers and paraprofessionals. Because my child attends Joe Hall I am well aware of what happens in this school and I can not belive the principal lets this happen to such a great school. The administration needs to open their eyes!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2006

I love this school. I was really impressed with Ms. Nadler in K. For the past several years my daughter has had excellent teachers which have shown their love for teaching and the kids. I am also impressed with the principal and vice-principal which I always see talking to the kids and showing interest in them. I do wish the school would have more extracurricular activities and a couple of more field trips wouldn't hurt either.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 19, 2005

My son attended k-5 and my daughter k-3. I love this school. From the teachers all the way down to the maintenance staff--great. They all form the kind of 'community' it takes to work. The teachers care, the office is very helpful, the after school program is wonderful. I have nothing bad to say about them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2005

The aademic programs are very good they include chrous, chess and more. The students there are mostly hispanic and very well educated. The sports are alot of fun for the children. The level of parent involvement is very high. The PTA is filled with very nice parents interested in their child's futures. Teachers are always open to have volunteers help them in their classes. The school sometimes has parent supervised parties in which they eat, dance, and talk for up to an hour only on special days such as valentine's day. They are completly free. The gifted program is very good and consists of two teacherss. They learn about Shakespeare and World War 2. I highly recomend this school as a child's first school. They evn get to go to disney in 5th grade!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 11, 2004

I love the office staff, principal and assistant principal, however the PTA is non-existant, there are no extracurricular activities and there are not enough field trips during the year. I do not know if it is the school district or the school, but it was almost impossible to work with the children in my daughter's classroom. In my rating of teacher quality, I am comparing to a private school my daughter went to, as I have no other benchmark to use.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2004

I think its great. For kinder my children love Ms. Reser. First grade Ms. Reynolds, Second grade Ms. Stern.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2003

I am an extremely involved parent for this school. I am very happy with the teachers and principal. It's the administration and PTA that need improvement ASAP.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

99 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

99 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
56%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

104 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

104 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
72%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

105 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
91%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

96 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

95 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
66%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

95 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
50%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

106 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 93%
White 4%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 30%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 74%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 64%58%61%
Master's degree 36%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 1%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. CATHAY S ABREU
Fax number
  • (305) 220-9758

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1901 Southwest 134th Avenue
Miami, FL 33175
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 223-9823

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT