Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Jane S. Roberts K-8 Center

Public | PK-8 | 900 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 8 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

62 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted yesterday

I'm so happy with the teacher, but the drop off and pick up situation is HORRIBLE! They do not allow you to park anywhere! They're large parking lot is off limits unless you have a handicap parking permit.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2014

I would give this school zero stars if possible. It USED to be a decent school about 20 years ago. My son went to this school for one year (2012-2013) and it was HORRIBLE. I wanted to get him out after 3 months of him attending JSR. Unfortunately, it was not so easy to do so we had to bear an entire academic year here. The only thing nice to say about this school is that Ms. Johnson (the security guard) is nice. The principle is never around, the specialists need to update their training, the office staff is rude, the teachers are horrible and unprofessional, the AP is rude. The teachers don't communicate and are not committed to the students. They also have an old way of teaching that is tailored to robots not children- the teachers do not know that there are different and effective ways of teaching and that every child learns differently. There is no feeling of belonging or community at JSR. I regret having my son attend JSR. He is now at an excellent school and thriving. I am glad I was able to see what a bad school like JSR looks/feels like because now I truly appreciate his current school. In all honesty, from one parent to another- DO NOT ENROLL YOU CHILD AT JSR.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2014

My daughter has had one ok teacher and one great teacher. My oldest kids went to this school about 10 years ago and the teachers were also bad. The drop off and pick up situation is HORRIBLE! They do not allow you to park anywhere! They're large parking lot is off limits unless you have a handicap parking permit. They have 6 parent parking spots in the front and the other 6 are reserved for staff. Thats 6 spots for schools parents!!! The security guard & P.E teacher are rude to parents as they drop off their kids. All lot of parents have complained to the school & school board and nothing gets done.The principle tells you to wait till the security guard is gone from the large parking lot to park in there! So who sets the rules in this school? I witnessed a male custodian yelling at a boy that was holding a side door for his mother that had ran to her car!The principle is not involved. All she does is walk around in her promiscuous outfits. Even 1st and 2nd grade teachers dress like this! Aren't teachers supposed to dress in a conservative manner?The office staff sees you standing there and ignore you. I thought I would be able to handle this school for another year. I was wrong!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2013

Not happy with the school. Very disorganized. I can't wait for the school year to finish to change my son to another school. my advise look for another school around the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2013

This is literally the best school in the entire world. Every one is so nice ! The teacher interacte with the student . I am a student from JSR and unfortunately I have to leave the school . I love this school so much it's not even funny


Posted October 24, 2013

Jane S. Roberts is a great school. My twin boys love their teachers and learn so much everyday. They are in Middle schhol, eighth grade, and will be graduating to high school next year. They are honor students, very polite and extremely smart. Thanks to everyone at Jane S Roberts, including Ms Alvarez and the Vice Principal, my twin boys are prepared for their future. I am so glad they went to this school rather than private. I rate this school as being over and beyond excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2013

Teachers do not communicate. They also take a very long time posting grades. In addition, the teachers do not categorize their grade book. Therefore, their classwork and test weigh the same. Principals have access to monitor teacher's grade book, however, it is evident The principal in this school doesn't. The teachers even talk bad about the principal and comment how poorly involved she is.. I can see why many people are looking for other options such as charter schools. In a charter school the teachers are observed constantly by their principal. While in this school my daughter tells me the principal only walks in their classroom once a year, if their lucky. (To be continued)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2013

Continued This school has gone down hill and I believe they will continue to do so. Unless the principal can get more control of their teachers. It is evident in this school that it is hard to fire a teacher for their low performance. However, in other schools like private and charter have their teachers are on a yearly contract. That's why their scores are better. Here the teachers are protected by the union just waiting for their retirement. If you can put your child in another school I will suggest it. The majority of the teachers have been there since the school opened 20+ years ago and are tired with no new ideas or authentic assignments. The coach screams and just assigns crossword puzzles for a grade and last year their field day consisted of the PE coach hosing them down with a hose. Plus other schools do nice events were parents can be involved such as Mother's Day, Spanish heritage, end of the year parties etc.,. and even a parent orientation at the beginning of the year. However, if you put your child here you won't experience any of those events. The teachers in this school would not put any extra effort and I blame the principal for not holding them accountable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2013

This school did not work out for us. Unless you are physically there at all times and you do not work this school is not a good choice. there is such a lack of communication between the office teachers and parents. The teachers are all about how they look and not there to teach. They are definitely not committed to the students. We withdrew our child and enrolled her in another school 10 miles away from our home. Also coach Hall is always screaming at the kids. We're is Mr Carbalo when you need him.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

My experience has been good at JSR K-8. My middle schooler has gotten encouraged to pursue advanced classes and her efforts have always been acknowledged and rewarded. My other child had an excellent 3rd grade teacher last year. She is such a caring person and a good teacher. My kids did very well in the FCAT. The small environment, compared to other schools in the area, is definitely a plus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2013

I am an alumni of J.S.R. now. I attended since my family immigrated to the US when I was five, and spent all of Kindergarden through the 8th grade. I am currently a sophomore at Stanford University in California and plan on graduating with a degree in physics. I have the most vivid memories of wonderful times at J.S.R. My teachers truly cared about me. The school is small, and thus each student gets the attention they need. My teachers instilled in me a passion for learning that will never leave me, and for that I am eternally grateful. Some of them I am still friends with. I can't speak for anyone who has had a less-than enjoyable experience with any of the office staff, but my mom always had help when she needed it. The teachers are amazing, and actually teach. Thank you J.S.R. for helping me get to where I am.


Posted December 23, 2012

Was in 5th grade last year. So happy i went to Lamar Louise Curry Middle instead of JSR. Ms. Dacquino is horrible. If your child gets her i recommend getting her a class change!


Posted February 8, 2012

I think this school is fair ,teachers are ok.I have noticed that the students and teachers are arrogant ,stuck up, snotty,and rude. Iam not sure if its the location,bounderies,that most parents work or is a status issue,maybe is that the parents are too busy working to give their kids everything that they forget to teach their kids manners, to be polite and respect others. Mrs Quintero is a great assistant Principal,she seems to cares about the school and the students.I do think that they should have a manners class for parents,teachers and students.In the morning when i am walking in ,in the PE court, the halls, as i drop off my kids, i have said good morning ,hello ,good bye to parents,teachers and students and have no respond.People have no manners in this school.They have clics and bulling is common in this school because of the clics.My daughter wants to go back to her old school,she is not happy here.I would if i could, i dont want my kids growing up around this kind of people.I guess is true what they say 'the more money you have, the less values you possess'.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2012

I am extremely happy with this school. My son is in 8th grade and he loves his school. We have been getting great services from Jane S. Roberts ever since he was admitted there. Principal ,vice-principal, teachers and counselors together created a great educational atmosphere where they all belonged to a family .Vice Principal Ms. Natali is always around making sure that kids are attending the classes . She also makes sure that no outsider stays in the school , without a valid reason. Whenever we approached her for help , she took immediate action and tried to accomodate all our needs. She is always caring and always stops to listen to the students. I am so happy that my son is in good hands and at the same time feel bad that he has to leave the school next year !!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2011

I am now an alumni of Jane S. Roberts K-8 Center. I am currently a Senior in high school. I attended J.S.R since Kindergarten through 8th grade. To this day, I am forever grateful for having the opportunity to attend this school. My teachers were helpful at all times, and always there when I need them most. They wanted to instill a passion for learning and that is exactly what I received from them. I enjoyed all my classes. Yes, the school is limited in electives, but what you learn inside of class, and the memories created are worth more. I have not gone back to visit since 2008, but my J.S.R. still has a special place in my heart. The staff, and faculty were kind and sweet to all. I cannot thank J.S.R. enough for steering me in the right direction. It is definitely an "A" school in my book. All schools have flaws, J.S.R. isn't perfect, but it's strong values in education make it stand out.


Posted March 2, 2011

The quality of the teachers and the education has deteriorated since a few years back. Teachers have very bad attitudes and this os why the school has lost may students to new schools around.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2010

My son is getting a quality education and enjoying his elementary years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2010

This school is not that great of a school. The teachers are okay teachers, they teach but not the sufficient. My Child is not an ESE student, she needed a promotion and the school denied to help my child advance and be placed in a better grade. I as a parent consider this a C school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2010

Dude, this school is awesome! I'm currently in eighth grade and have been attending since kindergarten. The teachers are amazing, as are the principals and assistant principals that we've had. It's not the best middle school, but it kicks butt for a k-8 school. Go jaguars!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 21, 2009

My two daughter has been in this school since kinder. Most teachers are excelent educators, and alway challenge the students to do better every day. I am very happy with what my daughters have learned so far in important courses such as Math,science, and Language arts.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
62%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
77%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
70%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
71%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
74%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
69%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 56% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
68%
Science

The state average for Science was 47% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
71%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 79% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

102 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

114 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 92% 29%
White 6% 42%
Asian 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Black N/A 23%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races N/A 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 58%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 66%58%61%
Master's degree 31%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 2%2%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 8%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

14850 Cottonwood Cir
Miami, FL 33185
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 220-8254

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT