Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ruben Dario Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 695 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 23, 2014

It's a very good school but I will give it only 3 stars due to the new program called "I-prep math". The teachers in that program are very rude and do not listen to the students when they ask for help saying "You didn't even try to learn the lesson." I understand that in the program the children learn independently but the teachers for that program are horrible. I have a A and B Child in advanced classes and in that class my child has a D along with all the other students. I have had many meetings with the teachers in the program but they don't even attempt to fix the problems in anyway. Many children have tried leaving the program but the principal has not allowed them due to the only normal Algebra 1 class is full.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2012

I have had three children in that school who have just graduated and are moving on to high school. I am very impressed in the staffing both administrative and teachers. I have seen very close connections with the teachers and the students which I believe to be very crucial in their teenage years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2012

It is an awesome "A" school ! The security and discipline are great and the classes are really challenging. I do recommend any kid to go there. So bad the school is still haunted by a sad episode that happened years ago. I truly hope and wish that stigma can vanish soon since the school is really good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2012

I agree at some point with all review the good ones and the bad ones honestly most of the teachers are great but some of them like Mr Kennedy.Mrs Mckoy, Mrs Wilcox this teacher really oh my Gosh they are horrible with their studeny the humiliate they mistreat disrespect and you make complaints and no results happen I just wonder why the system keeps them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2011

My son was going to this school and honestly, its very bad principal is not good, everytime you try to speak to her she ignores you or they tell you that she is busy, so they tell you to speak to the ass. princ. which is like speaking to the wall,I understand that school need to be strick but this school is way of the limits.. teachers curse, and they put students selfestime down. they think that teacher can disrespect student but student need to stay quit- NO if you want respect you first need to respect earn it. my son had two of his teacher that always called him name and offended him. in and out of school grounds. i even went to the district and they didnt do anything. this school is becoming worst and worst everyday.. i really dislike the teachers and the principal, they should make some changes... NOW AND NOT WAIT TILL SOMETHING BAD HAPPENS------- I WOULDNT RATE THE SCHOOL BUT HERE THEY ARE ASKING FOR IT SO WHATEVER
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2011

I went to Ruben Dario and i didn't like it because the principal was way to strict. Some of the teachers were kind of mean while others were nice. They say we behave bad and stuff but we don't. It was only because the school expected too much from us and it annoyed us. Tucking our shirts in and wearing a belt was like too much.


Posted October 20, 2010

My daughter loves the school and I think it has some excellent teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2010

i am a student at Ruben Dario middle i really hate it the school is too strict the principal does not like any of us and believes we are criminal delinquents and she even took away school spirit week so before you say why kids are misbehaving those are a couple of the reasons
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 24, 2010

They implemented this year a rule of only wearing certain colors with the uniform. I think that is great and very uniform-like but with the economy how it is there are a lot of parents that are not able to afford to buy new jackets for their kids. The weather is cold the economy is bad. Even private schools are cutting some slack on the kids. I think there are a lot of more issues to take care of in the school more important that school colors.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2010

I'm a parent of a 6th grader. I feel it's an excellent school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2009

exellent school and an a+ school. with an amazing magnet program
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2009

This school is really great! Its not perfect but its good. I'm a 7th grade student and have been in the school since 6th grade, and i love it. The school gives really good education and various activities to be involved in like DFYIT, non-violence, going green, basketball, volleyball, softball, band, etc. The teachers just as well as the students are really friendly and caring and encourage you to do your best. Some teachers are really fun but they're strict when they have to be strict. They make you feel like one big family. The school has its defects(just like every other school) but they're trying to improve, like in being cleaner and more organize. But other then that the school is really good and has a lot of advanced programs to choose from.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 29, 2008

When my son was accepted at Ruben Dario's magnet program I was worried because the school had a reputation. He had the opportunity to attend another school but he really wanted to be in the magnet program. Since all his other classes were AP I decided to give the school a chance. I don't regret it. All his Advanced Class teachers are involved in his progess. They are supportive and encourage him to think about the future not just today. The music teacher is also great and is working to build a strong music program. I also feel the Principal and Asst Principals are on top of things and fair. There is some parent involvement but not significant and in my opinion it's why some schools fail. Parents who are not involved in their kids education have kids who are not interested in their education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2007

I am a Student that goes to Ruben Dario and its so Wonderful... Actually alot better then my former Schools, Now we have a new Assistant Principal and everything is perfect in life for me!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 25, 2007

This is a really great school.Last year it was really kind of a mess. Currently I am a student in that school in 8th grade and I love it.What I dont like is the students behavior that changes by the middle of the year.Probably beacause students misbehave and the principal doesnt gain trust and doesnt make lots of activities so by the middle of the year,everyone wants to leave.But it iis a great school.Especially with its advanced and magnet classes.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 28, 2007

Hello, I think that Ruben Dario Middle School is a wonderful school but years before something happened and this reputation is following this school until now, but I can tell you that now this is a trusted school and his principal is a very respectfully person and I know because I always at the school helping at the PTA and I can said that everything is working correctly, I know that we need work more to get the perfection but we are working in it. I would like to said thanks to all the teachers for teach my son like they are doing. Finally I would like that more parents stay involved in the school to help us to improve more the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2006

The school is ok. I don't blame some of the children for misbehaving. The teachers and the office staff have no respect for the children that attend that school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2006

The teachers are very good.Its not that the school is bad,because they teach very very good.Its just that some children there aren't well behaved.But the school is good.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 10, 2006

Ruben dario was kind of a mess when I went there but we got a new principal that was really strict which helped a whole lot. Last thing I heard of the school it was improving so much.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 1, 2005

Academic curriculum is good and offers good programs for elective clases. School Staff involvement is good but unfortunately Parent Involvement is almost non existant but not for lack of trying. Parent's just don't participate.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

205 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
37%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2013.

206 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
52%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

214 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

211 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
54%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

222 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 56% in 2013.

282 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
46%
Science

The state average for Science was 47% in 2013.

279 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
38%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 79% in 2013.

275 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

294 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
91%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 94% 29%
Black 4% 23%
White 2% 42%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian N/A 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 89%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 46%58%61%
Master's degree 51%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 3%2%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 10%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Dr. Verona C Mccarthy
Fax number
  • (305) 559-0919

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Soccer
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

350 NW 97th Ave
Miami, FL 33172
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 226-0179

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Miami Christian
Miami, FL


Vann Academy
Miami, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT