Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Marjory Stoneman Douglas Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 978 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

26 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 21, 2011

My children attend this school and I have been very happy with the quality of the school, and the leadership of the teachers (particularly Ms. Guadagno). Her involvement was substantial in my son's success last year. Her dedicated went above and beyond, and because of that he is very confident, successful and now loves going to school. I am particularly thrilled with the tremendous cultural and ethnic diversity of the school. My children truly have the opportunity to mix with and learn from children of all nationalities, colors, religions, and cultures. Thank you again.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2011

I love this school my daugher is in 2nd grade this is her first year she came for a charter school and I prefer this public school 100% she loves that her teacher teaches in both languages spanish and english and I love that too :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2010

This is an amazing bilingual school with hard-working teachers and staff. The students are taught higher order thinking skills and challenged daily with their classwork and home learning assignments. The students graduating from this school have been said to be the most prepared when entering middle schools in the feeder pattern. The school has excellent programs for the students as well as for the parents.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 16, 2010

This is my daughter's 3rd year at the school. She's had amazing, wonderful teachers. I am a very involved mom. I go to field trips, field day, etc., but I feel that public school doesn't do much activities to get parents involved. Comparing to other friends and their schools, I think more should be done about this.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2010

For any parent of an ESE/EBD student: If you are unhappy at your childs current school I would recommend their ESE/EBD program to everyone the teacher and aide for K-3 are by far the most professional and loving teachers a child can have. I am very pleased with their hard work and effort to help your child excel. I have no words to ever thank them enough for their hard work with my child!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

This a fabulous school. The entire staff makes you feel welcomed and the adminstration is always available to assist with any and all concerns. You truly feel at home there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2008

Marjory Stoneman Douglas is a great school, the staff in the office is very nice and helpful, and the assistant principal is always available. I'm very sad to say that my daugther doesn' have this year a great teacher like last year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2008

this is the very best best school all the teachers are nice and most are bilingual there teaching is VERY good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2007

I am very proud to have my daughter in this school. I love to work with the teachers and staff. My daughter is very happy to be here. Thank you
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2007

They are the best! Thanks God my son is a privileged student, and even that, the teachers always put him as equal as others and the academic challenge was always there. Very competitive in advance academics. I love the people in the administration department and the teachers. I was sick and almost died three years ago, and all of them were there to support my family. The best school I ever seen. Very human people and at the edge of technology. Good work people, will sincerely miss you all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2007

Great academic programs. Team program for 5th grade was a nice one.Teachers did a great job.This our last year in MSD.I was very lucky to have this school as my neighborhood school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2006

My son is now starting his sixth year at this school and I must say that I have been pleased with the education my child is receiving. There gifted program has been great for my son. The extracurricular activites are superb. They have basketball, flag football, aikido, piano, tap, cheerleading and more. Last year however, there were a few mistakes with my son's report card but they were very professional when it came to correcting the problem. I would highly recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2006

Overall this is a decent school however the funding gaps at the state and city level force it to have a very tight budget.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 13, 2006

I've been part of Marjory Stoneman Douglas Elementary for almost 12 years now and their gifted and TEAM programs (which are the ones my three daughters have been placed) have outstanding teachers who are interested to prepare the students for the challenges they will face in the middle and high school years. Also, aside from academics, the students wll find extracurricular activities such us chorus, musical instruments, salsa, and drama, representing MSD in competitions like those organized by the Dade-County Youth Fair. Finally, students will be able to participate in sports and extracurricular activities like basketball, tap, and martial arts. Parents are always welcomed to get involve in their children's education by volunteering in the PSTO organization, helping teachers with arts and crafts, being readers in Spanish/English for the kids, etc. My last word about MSD is that you'll find a secure and professional environmental for your child's bilingual education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2005

Great academic programs with alot of interest with the child's ability to learn and get ahead in their studies. Teachers are very attentive to children's needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2005

This is the best elementary school I have ever been to and seen. The principle has experience and knows how to correctly guide the school. There are a lot of extra curricular activities including dance, chorus, school shows, patrols, tv production,etc. Parents and teachers are always invovled and are always there to support the students. Students come out of this school prepared like I did.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 14, 2005

I am a former student in M.S.D. I personally loved being in this school. The principal and staff were very nice and helpful. If i could back in time, ill stay in MSD forever! Teachers are great and so is the Media Center!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 15, 2005

This review is for PK-4; children attending the Primary Learning Center. This is an excellent school. Since this is a small center, you get the opportunity and are given one-on-one time with the Teachers and Administrators. The staff for beforeschool and afterschool care is very caring; they make sure the kids eat their breakfast, learn manners, etc. I find this school to be top notch.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2005

We moved to this neighborhood as this high school was recommended by educational professionals and test scores of previous years, for our child to attend and graduate from the 'best' school. As a Gifted student we had great expectations for success in the 'best' school. This school may be fine for the average student. It has gone from an 'A' rating in 2003 to a 'B' rating for 2004. Unfortunatley we were disappointed,and had to place our child in a private school to receive the best education. I feel the lower student to teacher ratio of the private school greatly increases the ability to provide the best education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2005

My daughter was there for kinder and now she is in a private schools. I can tell you that Maryory was, by far, a better school than the one she is in now. The teacher are great and I think that is one of the most important things.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

166 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

166 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
55%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

153 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

152 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
64%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

152 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
39%

2013

 
 
86%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

166 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

167 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
54%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

167 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
59%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

209 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 98%
White 1%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 50%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 82%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 54%58%61%
Master's degree 42%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 4%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 2%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. RODOLFO RODRIGUEZ
Fax number
  • (305) 553-0001

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

11901 Southwest 2nd Street
Miami, FL 33184
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 226-4356

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Vann Academy
Miami, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT