Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public
Miami, FL
Students enrolled: 799
Before care: No
After care: Yes

5 stars
Based on 42 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


44 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Dr. Gilbert L. Porter Elementary School 5

Posted May 19, 2014
- a parent
My son is currently attending Dr. Gilbert and so happy that he ended here, He is coming from a Christian school in Jamaica and it was difficult at first, but thanks to the great teachers that helped him to so much. He is more confident. It is refreshing to see a principal who gets outside during pickup time and not afraid to pick up trash and even shout at motorist speeding. Keep up the good work and God bless you all.

Dr. Gilbert L. Porter Elementary School 5

Posted April 17, 2014
- a parent
Dr Gilbert Porter elementary is one of the best schools in Miami Dade County my son 2 who is 3 yr old has autism and is apart of their ASD program his teacherrs. MALATS is the world's greatest also MR. Bruce who everytime I see thier faces, I feel comfort in knowing that my son is in good hands There's no other school that I would feel comfortable enough leaving my son with. I think God for Dr Gilbert Porter elementary many blessings to all of the children blessed enough to attend. Even the Security guards, the children love them.


Dr. Gilbert L. Porter Elementary School 5

Posted August 20, 2013
- a parent
My son started Kindergarten last yr without having been to preschool! Ms. Dawson was amazing! She always kept us parents informed about our child's progress throughout the year. He was reading when he left her class. She worked really hard with all the kids! Couldn't thank her enough!

Dr. Gilbert L. Porter Elementary School 5

Posted June 26, 2013
- a parent
This school is wonderful! The teachers are excellent and the staff very helpful. My children are doing great academically and socially. I would recommended this school, great choice.

Dr. Gilbert L. Porter Elementary School 5

Posted June 26, 2013
- a parent
I love dr gilbert porter elem is the best school including the teachers and staff my older kids went to that school and know my little one is going there since kinder I have no complaint im super happy has a mothe we want the best for our kids thank you.


Dr. Gilbert L. Porter Elementary School 5

Posted December 02, 2011
- a parent
Extremely happy with the school excellent teacher!! Daughters have been there since preK and will DEFINATELY finish at Dr Gilbert Porter!

Dr. Gilbert L. Porter Elementary School 5

Posted December 02, 2011
- a parent
Well rounded school!! Amazing teachers! The kids By The time they get out of Kindergarten they are reading Also great after school program!

Dr. Gilbert L. Porter Elementary School 5

Posted August 27, 2011
- a parent
This school has some really awesome teachers ! Both my children have been in Mrs. Showen's class. She is a wonderful teacher. She is very strict, but the children in her class learn and they love her. Mrs. Fajardo is another wonderful teacher. She and Mrs. Showen make a great team.


Dr. Gilbert L. Porter Elementary School 2

Posted August 23, 2011
- a parent
My child has been attending Dr. Gilbert L. Porter E.S. for 4 years now. I personally feel that the administration has no involvement with the parents or students. The teachers are also lacking the enthusiasm and energy that these students need. Unfortunately, the first year was the best year, and these past three years here at GP continue to get worse.

Dr. Gilbert L. Porter Elementary School 5

Posted June 07, 2011
- a parent
my child did so good in kindergarden teacher are so good and parent involvement the best very good school

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Dr. Gilbert L. Porter Elementary School
15851 Southwest 112th Street, Miami, FL  33196
(305) 382-0792
Last modified Dr. Gilbert L. Porter Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Dr. Gilbert L. Porter Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 44 reviews. Top