Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

G. Holmes Braddock Senior High School

Public | 8-12 | 3443 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

24 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 18, 2014

The Cambridge program at this school is beyond compare. Keep up the excellent work that you are doing!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2014

I love my school I skipped a grade next year going to be a senior they helped me skip a year most of the staff is the sweetest the mean ones are ravelo and soriano they want to ruin you life all the teachers I have had have wanted to help me get better and progress the programs and the people are cool I recommend it it's a bit of everything fun and curriculum ! Good luck


Posted April 3, 2013

I don't know why there are bad reviews for this school. Honestly, no matter what school you attend there will always without a doubt be a problem with it, it's just a matter of who you are and who you hang out with. I currently attend Braddock leading up to my senior year and I am in the Information Technology program and it's an excellent program. New programs such as iPrep and the Arts Academy are starting to rise and the school is initially good. There's kids of all types of groups, ethnics, etc. It's a very big and diverse school where you're constantly always learning.


Posted May 24, 2012

I really love my old high school, i was a former student there for my freshman and sophomore years and it was great! But the one thing that school needs is autism support! I am high functioning autistic and that didn't support me as much as Ferguson did!


Posted February 10, 2011

Cambridge is SUPERB! The teachers are the best, no doubt about it. Mr. Server has to be my favorite! GREAT PROGRAM! HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT!


Posted October 15, 2010

i go to Braddock, I'm a senior and i go to night school also and some of the teacher from night school aren't from Braddock their from sunset and many other schools even middle school and Braddock has given me many good values and now i am going into studying the culinary arts and if you want to have the best high school experience Braddock is where you want to be.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 29, 2009

My daughter is in the Cambridge program and loves it! The Cambridge program is very organized and academically challenging. The school administration is very involved!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2009

The Cambridge program is excellent! The teachers and administration are very involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2009

If you want to have 'Fun', go to Braddock, but if you care about academics, please choose another high school less crowded and wih better education. Not all teachers treat students with respect and don't care about their different ways of learning. I'm glad my son is out of that horrible school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2009

This is one of the only schools that makes you feel like going to school! All Ferguson does is take away a kids childhood by filling it up with work that should be saved for college. Braddock is filled with too much of everything, which is exactly what your going to find in the real world. They make us pay for our mistakes and they dont treat us like were children, but, unlike Ferguson, they know that were not 30! Everyone who actually attends Braddock leaves with a smile on their face and if you think that your child doesnt deserve fun during their last years of being a kid, then send them to Ferguson. But if you want your child to wake up saying 'I cant wait to go to school today!' and still recieving one of the best educations in Miami-Dade County, then Braddock is the school for you.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 19, 2009

I attend John a. Ferguson Senior high, and not it's not a school rivalry thing; but I have also attended night school at Braddock and I have to say it is one of the worse schools I have attended. The staff is horrible! They never listen to the students! At Ferguson the administration gives us a taste of 'the real world'. They don't talk down to us, nor do they treat us like we are still in middle school. I am a Junior at Ferguson with many friends from different schools. Most of my friends are dying to get into Ferguson. Ferguson offers many prgrams and has academies in which you can learn about your carrer choice. Ferguson helps you focus on your future, gives you a heads up on your carrer path by placing you in specific classes and overall pushes you to exceed your limits in education. Braddock doesnt
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 6, 2009

This school is absolutely the best! I graduated in 2007 and went to G. Holmes Braddock all four years. I actually enjoyed going to school and learning! Braddock provides top notch teachers and an excellent environment. The best teachers surely have to the be the ceramic's teacher, Ms. Lockwood, and the physics teacher, Ms. Pentzke, along with many other A+ teachers. They surely do care about their students and push hard for them to succeed in EVERYTHING that comes their way! BULLDOGS FOR LIFE!


Posted May 27, 2008

I love braddock. its a great school for students to learn and to have a great education for there high school years. everything is great about the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2007

This is a school with lots of opportunities for the kids to get a great education. It has lots of extracurricular activities, clubs, and the athletic department is great! it gives something to do after school aside from homework. It keeps the kids busy and motivated. I just wish I would see more parent involvement. PTSA, Buster Clubs, etc...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2007

My son attended Braddock Senior, his curriculum consisted of mostly 'special ed' classes. In 2003, he passed his FCAT and graduated with a regular diploma. Obviously, Braddock works! I now have a daughter attending this school. She is good student, no disabilities and defends her school with a passion. My big concern: security! Had a scary incident just today. Apparently she was 'alone' reading when 4 male students, apparently bored, decided to get her attention by calling out foul language remarks, throwing things at her and finally hitting her with a door. She got away, luckily! What could've happened? Braddock is a 'huge' high school and academically I feel the staff really works with their students but security is scarce. They should focus less on whether the dress code is being adhered to and pay more attention to the safety of students during free times (like lunch).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2007

Good school. Best English teacher Ms. Madansky, extremely caring about her students, you'll never find another like her. Extremely great atheletic department. They all give 150%. Overall my experience has been fantastic
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 30, 2006

This senior high is one of the largest in Dade County. The teacher to student ratio is very high so sometimes my child felt a little isolated, but when she started taking honors and AP classes, she learned a great deal and felt my treasured.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2006

Best Chemistry, Physics, and Calculus teachers there. Their names are Dr. Phyllis Hoar, Odalys Reyes, and Teresita Lemus. Odalys Reyes and Tersita Lemus have been awarded for having the most hispanic students pass the AP Physics and Calculus tests.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 11, 2005

I belive Braddock Senior High is a great schools with great teachers that really know what they are doing, and care about the students education.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 8, 2005

Braddock Sr. high has so many possibilities. They offer everything form ESE to AP classes. Talk to the CAP advisor if you are interested in scholarships or other college opportunities. Many clubs to choose from! Clubs and sports keep kids interested in school...very important! The school is beautiful too as different classes (juniors, seniors) take on beatification projects each year for community service. Parents can view their kid's grades online too! Want to see if Jr. did his homework? Look online! A great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

770 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2014.

933 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
45%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2014.

904 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
55%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2014.

890 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
87%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "C".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

499 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
35%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

879 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
64%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

893 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
51%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

731 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 94%
White 4%
Asian 1%
Black 1%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 11%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 76%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 2%N/A2%
Graduation rate 79%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 52%58%61%
Master's degree 43%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 3%2%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 8%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. MANUEL S GARCIA
Fax number
  • (305) 221-3312

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Tennis
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3601 Southwest 147th Avenue
Miami, FL 33185
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 225-9729

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT