Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Design & Architecture Senior High School

Public | 9-12 | 505 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 4, 2013

As a senior, I can very honestly say that DASH is the best school in the world. It has taught me everything I know. I love you DASH.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 7, 2011

My daughter has attended this school for two years. The design, art and architecture classes are above reproach. The teachers are definitely devoted to the students. The students are the lucky recipients of the teachers' expertise. However... the academics are another story entirely. The math teacher for the gifted/honors program is absolutely below average. His ineptitude is handicapped my child, and destroyed her fascination for math. We have resorted to virtual school courses in math to better prepare her for college. The administration refuses to address this issue. Send your child here for a phenomenal arts education, but don't expect high SAT scores for math. When we were considering schools, one of the selling points for this school was the administration's claim that the majority of the students get accepted to the college of their choice with a full ride. Last year a good portion of the graduating seniors listed the local community college as their future. Far cry from what was touted. After so many years of early mornings and late nights and days of projects over breaks, the payoff has to be bigger than community college. Hopeful things improve before my child graduates.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2011

This school is great especially because it's a small school, which allows for a "family like" atmosphere and a lof ot solidarity between students. Also most of the students there have chosen to be there so everybody is working hard and passionate about what they do. My daughter is in her second year there and loves it.She gets a lot of help and advice from some seniors. Academics vary in quality though, espcially maths. I wish they would not get all these cuts--but which school does not?--because they have suppressed a lot of clubs, and the students will now have to take some classes online, which is less efficient than person to person in my opinion.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2010

My daughter is a graduate of DASH and in her second year at college. DASH is a magnet school a quarter the size of my son's high school, located in the Design District of Miami, and is devoted to the visual arts education curriculum. While a student my daughter received the quality education and attention each student at any US school deserves. DASH has prepared my daughter for the challenges and level of excellence that college presents to its students They are truly deserving of this reward money to expand their school and programs and welcome new talented arts-majors.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2010

My sister has been going to this school for 3 years, and never has come home saying she had a bad day. She loves every teacher she has ever had, and her principal is amazing. This school is not only one of the most educational schools, it is also a great place to meet new friends. There is no bullying much at all, and I would recommend it for anyone who wants to go there.


Posted December 17, 2009

its a great school and i learned alot!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 1, 2009

My son is finishing his second year at DASH, and he says it is the best thing that has happened to him to be able to attend such a great school. I knew my son was good in art, but his talent has increased since he started going to DASH. I know he will get into a great art college as a result of having attended DASH. My husband and I have attended some school luncheons that they have had at the school, and we are impressed with the quality of students that attend this school, they all enjoy being at school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2007

Best school ever! I can't say enough about the environment, the teachers, the curriculum, and the preparation for college and the real world. But, everyone has already stated that here. so, what I would like to add is that they are also coached on how to speak with college reps and how to professionally explain and present their portfolios and works of art so that no stone has gone unturned and a thorough process from inception to completion can be understood; and that their passion and knowledge cannot go unseen.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2006

I was very impressed with the talent of the students, which was encouraged by an environment that nurtured creativity. The calculus teacher here was so good that my daughter took courses over the summer so she could take another class with this instructor. Never happened before or since. This was a very good school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2006

Great for art... academics are great, don't get me wrong, but it may only appear amazing on the fcat. Otherwise, it may be better to consider a more academically focused school. The environment is extremely enriching and the small classes make it excellent to thrive in the subject areas you want.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 20, 2006

Great school with a great program. Nearly 100% college attendance! Offers best art and design programs in Dade County.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 11, 2006

great public magnet school; don't send your kids here unless they're really interested in the core curriculum (fashion desing, architecture, industrial design, film or web-based media); very high FCAT scores but that's a little misleading given the low standard the FCAT tests to; SAT scores aren't necessarily that high; to get the most out of this school your kid must be prepared to work very hard and be committed to the art and design classes; some of the teachers in the non-art related classes are not as good as the 'art' teachers, who are uniformly great; this school is probably much closer to New World School of the Arts and further away from MAST Academy in terms of magnet schools; that is, don't send your kid here just to get out of the neighborhood school for a better education unless your kid is serious about the core curriculum.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2004

Only great things to say about DASH. High academics; encourages college level courses, challenges students. Great atmosphere for teens , small school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2003

I cannot say enough great things about DASH! My daughter loves it and I'm hoping my youngest daughter gets in. It is well worth the long days. The teachers are incredible and the work is challenging. I know my daughter is getting the best education possible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2003

My daughter graduated from here in 2000. It was an incredible experience for her and turned her life around (she had been floundering in the low-grade middle schools in the district). Her friends and fellow students were vibrant and creative human beings-going thru all the usual teenage angst-but devoted to their creativity and for the most part, looking ahead with a keen understanding of themselves and where they were in their lives at that time and place. DASH is the only reason I kept us in Miami as long as I did.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2003

WOW...what an exceptional opportunity for my son! To be able to learn in an environment that is completely in the field he loves is a great gift. The teachers and administration are tops! He loves to go there everyday and missed it during the summer. He says it is well worth the long bus ride and commitment to achieve his artistic goals and would not want it any other way!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2003

teachers are excellent, very motivational. my kids love the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2003

great school that encourages students. My daughter loves this school.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2013.

136 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
92%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 54% in 2013.

126 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
84%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 85% in 2013.

127 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

131 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
85%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 55% 29%
White 25% 42%
Black 14% 23%
Asian 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races N/A 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 40%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 0%N/A2%
Graduation rate 100%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 48%58%61%
Master's degree 52%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 5%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Visual arts
  • Architecture

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Architecture
  • Painting
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Dr. Stacy H Mancuso
Fax number
  • (305) 573-8253

Resources

Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4001 NE 2nd Ave
Miami, FL 33137
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 573-7135

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT