Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bowman Ashe/Doolin K-8 Academy

Public | PK-8 | 1325 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 24, 2013

I am a 3rd grade student at the lower academy, i think this school is a lot of fun and educating .Also i like the school because i have wonderful friends ,and love my teachers.


Posted July 1, 2013

I am a student at Bowman Ashe Doolin/K-8 Academy.This school teaches their students very well and I like the way they teach their students. Although the education here is marvelous I still believe that this school needs to work a lot on controlling their students' behavior. Especially the Upper Academy (6th, 7th, and 8th grade). There is too much profanity in the Upper Academy and some teachers hear it but ignore their unpleasant language. The students treat their friends and fellow classmates in such a disrespectful manner. When the students are asked why are they bullying the other students they simply say their "playing around". I have experienced this and even the lower academy is starting to adapt to this behavior.


Posted January 8, 2013

I right now am a student at bowman foster ashe and it is awesome! Right now I am in 5th grade and the teachers are awesome. The gifted program isgreat. Although im not pleased with the cafeteria. It noisy but youll get used to it eventualy.


Posted March 25, 2012

alright well i used to be in Bowman foster ashe. now i am in 6th grade. i did not go to doolin. but my years in bfa were amazing i had the most amazing teachers in the universe!!!! in fourth grade(the best year) i had Mrs.Bennie and Mrs.Avalos < they were huge blessings with me they helped me with anthing i needed help on. and infifth grade was also amazing i had ms.O'fernandez and ms.Pruna. i think bowman was a great school (:


Posted March 23, 2012

My daughter is on 3rd Grade, she is also in the gifted program, I believe the school was an excellent until first grade, then things started to change, I don't know if they have less teachers or personnel. The issue with the cafeteria is still on, they have no supervision. And the teachers at the gifted program are not doing their best. I hope they will improve I'm seriously considering change her to a different school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2012

This is my son's second year at BFA. Kindergarten at the PLC was a terrific experience, Mrs. Huss was an excellent teacher. The staff at the PLC (pre-K and Kindergarten) is loving, devoted and truly care for the children. At the main school, now he's in first grade, his teacher Ms. Hoilett is one of the most dedicated individuals that I have met. She promotes a well structured fun learning environment and always goes the extra mile to give them her all. There are two things that the school need to improve: the cafeteria supervision and security. During lunch many incidents tend to occur (kids hitting others, rude and unruly behavior) due to insufficient supervision. Security needs to improve. Overall the school is great, if those two thing weren't and issue I would give it a perfect score.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2011

I too am a former student and i have a plethora of fond memories. I was blessed to have great teachers who went above and beyond for me; from my 4th grade teacher who remembering my favorite books were "are you afraid of the dark" gifted me a trilogy of the series for my birthday, but also called my parents in when i did something wrong- To my fifth grade teacher ms. Hechevarria who taught us to stand in acknowledgement when an adult walked into the classroom- to mr de-diego who gave me a chance to be part of the choir despite what i now look back on as an incredibly screechy voice. All my teachers were amazing and my experience there was one i still remember even though its been 20 years since i first walked into bfa.


Posted June 9, 2010

My child just finished Kindergarten at the PLC with an awesome teacher, Mrs. Gomez. They don't come any more organized, caring and genuinely passionate about the students. Class sizes are excellent and support staff is great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2010

This is my daughter's 3rd year at BFA and my son's as well. I do agree that BFA has some good teachers but there are some real bad ones too. I tried to get my child changed from a class that he was doing poorly in and they absolutely refused. This child had been on the honor roll for the first 2 years and as soon as the child was placed with this teacher all that has been coming home are C's and D's. They act like they care and do a meeting with you, the teacher, and the administration but nothing changed; to me it was all show. And what extracurricular activities are there. My son did not even have one field trip this year and he is in the second grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2010

This is my son's first year in this school. He entered in 2nd grade with Ms. Moss. She has a very good caring. She is motivating my son to read more.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2010

Great school!! Both my daughter go there one is in 4th and the other in 2nd. The teachers are great. Very caring environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2009

BFA is an excellent school. Both of my kids atteneded this school. We are going to miss it!!! Mr. De Diego does an excellent job motivating kids into chorus. My daughter reads and writes very well. It's funny she's starting to text message and she just finished kindergarden. I give BFA two thumbs up!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2008

This school is great!! Thanks Dr.Patton for being the best principal ever!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 20, 2008

My son attends this school for about 1 1/2 years. Now he is in fourth grade and he is doing excellent, the teachers are well prepared, they know how to handle kids when they are so smart. I wish I could go back in time and avoid so many problems that I had when my son was in other Public school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2007

This is my daughter's first year in this school. She entered 4th grade. The teachers she has are very good and caring, the school has various extracurricular activities available, she is in chorus (and the music teachers are excellent). Parent involvement is somewhat encouraged, drop off and pick up can be chaotic and need more supervision (of the parents!). Other than that, it is a pretty good school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2006

It's a great school. I have no complaints. Good extracurricular activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2006

My son was in this school and the academy program is very good. Children are in a good enviromant. Students also have oportunity to develop their habilities in musi, art, sports or other extrcurricular activities . Parents are most of the time involvement in children activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2005

Good school. Teachers care about students. Discipline is good (not too strict, not too lax).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2004

I'm a former student of BFA; it's amazing! You can tell that the principal & teachers really care about the students. The music teachers, Mr. DeDiego & Mrs. Jorge, are inspirational & motivating; I love them! I don't believe any parent has ever been disappointed with the staff; they're attentive, nice, & help you with whatever you need. The school itself is beautiful. If a parent wants their child to have a good experience in elementary, they should definitely enroll their child to BFA. The school's located in a good area & does very well when it comes to FCATs. Teachers are caring towards every student & do their best to motivate each one to keep learning & enjoying it; & everytime a student does good, they're rewarded. Students are well-behaved & get along with teachers. BFA's the best! Believe someone who knows.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

123 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

122 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
55%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

128 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

127 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
61%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

127 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
83%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

149 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
60%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

149 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
58%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

149 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
44%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

126 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
41%

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
30%

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

126 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

161 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

162 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

137 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
18%

2013

 
 
22%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

197 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

197 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
40%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

197 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
65%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

130 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

272 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

62 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
94%

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 93%
White 4%
Asian 2%
Black 1%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 134%N/AN/A
Limited English proficient 236%N/A9%
Source: 1 FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014
Source: 2 FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 58%58%61%
Master's degree 39%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 1%2%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 2%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. ELISEO HERNANDEZ
Fax number
  • (305) 385-6408

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6601 Southwest 152nd Avenue
Miami, FL 33193
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 386-6667

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT