Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Dante B. Fascell Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 527 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

27 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 12, 2014

The teachers at this school treat students with respect. They are dedicated and go the extra mile to provide a well-rounded curriculum. They support and inspire children to reach their full potential. Principal in involved and supportive of both students and staff. There is a sense of family at Dante B. Fascell.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 29, 2013

All my children have gone to this school. It is a VERY good and loving place. I am very happy with the care and attention the teachers and other staff members have always shown to my children.The principal is always polite attentive with the parents and the children as well. The only thing I do not like from this school is the Art teacher, Ms. Logg. She always has an attitude problems towards the parents and especially the children. She does not belong in that school. Other than that, I believe this school has been a blessing to my family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2013

I'm a fifth grader here and this school is just amazing! My teachers have always been caring, loving, and helpful. When I first started the school, everybody was just so welcoming and I felt like I was in the right place. Dante is an awesome school and you should join!


Posted September 26, 2013

My son started new at this school and the teachers have been really loving and caring, even though I know he is a handful they work with him and truly care about his growth.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2013

This school has improved a lot with this new principal where children see with respect and sympathy all the time, very friendly and helpful with parents, still have to make some changes in the office and some teachers as well they should not be teaching like the Art teacher and the Spanish teachers are terrible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2012

Great school, great teachers, but there seems to be some favoritism when iit comes to participating in the PTA events.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2012

I am a student at this amazing school. I love this school so much, i think it should be a K-8 center.


Posted March 22, 2011

im in dante in fifth grade iv been here in dante ever since i was k im in mrs. neass's fifth grade class as homeroom then i go to mrs. villa's gifted class i love this school it is awesome but im going to miss it when i go to middle school bye!!! dante!!!!


Posted February 1, 2011

I've been in this school for 5 YEARS. And, it couldn't be better. In 4th grade some slight changes with the new principal, but the school accommodated to it.


Posted August 16, 2010

This school does not offer any extra-curricular activities. Principal denied the continuation of free structured after school program which helped students with their reading, homework and much more. Very disappointed with rating on this school since it does not offer anything that s mentioned on the extra-curriculum activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2009

This is the kind of school I wish I had attended when I was a kid. The teachers are excelent and my daughter has learned and advance so much since she was enrolled. All teachers I had contact with are dedicated to their students and love what they do. Thank you all
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2008

This is a fantastic school. Mrs. Santiago has done a great job keeping the standard of the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2007

My experience with Dante B. Fascell has been good and bad. My three kids have attended Dante, my oldest child started when the school opened and my youngest is still in the school. My experience with the school is that there are teachers that are excellent and some that are not. With my youngest child all of his teachers have been excellent teachers. Now, I find that when the teachers are young they are better educators. They teach better and they have more patience with the children. They also don't miss class so much.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2007

I am glad that I am being rezoned, the new school seems wonderful! But I will miss some of the faculty. The office staff is a wonderful bunch of people. The PE department is always friendly and humorous. I will miss the convince of walking, but Dante needs to change with the times and I don't see that happening. A coat of paint doesn't change the academic and leadership problems inside the building.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2006

Dante B. Fascell elementary is the best school all of my children have been to. My middle child was having Trouble in math and they offered her tutoring with a teacher at no cost. Now she has improved a lot. They have lots of educational field-trips, and best of all, a great principal that cares about all of her students. They also do lots of PTA family fun nights. The teachers are friendly, and advise with very accurate information of how your child is doing in class. Dante B. Fascell has just made new 4th and 5th grade classes, and it's not an overcrowded school. The Physical Education teachers are awesome, they have many fun activities as well as the art teachers. My son has made lots of good friends and his Kindergarten teacher was very interactive with me throughout the year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2006

This school has excellent teachers who care very much for the children. Many field trips are planned and they have great facilities on campus. The administration frequently gives seminars and courses for parents on parenting and educational issues. There are a lot of volunteers and an active PTA membership. The majority of the faculty and staff are bilingual. The school itself is immaculate and conducive to learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 29, 2005

My daughter attended in 2001 - 2001 k4 and k5. It was not a good experience, especially in retrospect now that I've had my daughter in far better schools. It was over crowded (30-35 in her class) and the teachers were over-extended with little or no support from voluteers or parents. In the new school my daughter attended for 1st grade we found she was behind in reading and math. I feel it was because the teacher didn't have the time to spend on each child. It has taken her the past two years to catch up to the other children where we are now. I hope the improvements show in the test scores relate back to the classroom. The school itself had a jail-type environment with a 'lock down' feel.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2005

I have had at least one child in Dante B. Fascell for each of the past five years. In that time I have met teachers who welcomed parental communication and involvement as well as those who viewed any attempts to form a team atmosphere as an intrusion on their area of responsibility of a challenge to their competence. I think this has more to do with differences in teacher personalities than school administration. Overall, I have not been disappointed with the school or most of the teachers, counselors and staff I have met. I have been frustrated at the difficulty to get myself on the cleared volunteer list. I have spent the past year trying to get approved. While it may be comforting to think they are going through an in-depth screening procedure, I suspect that the delay is more a result of disorganization.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2005

I think it is a good school, the leadership has a well organized students's activities, and teachers are concerned about students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2005

Great academic programs, love the art programs, there is alot of parent involvement, love the school staff, would recommend this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

82 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

82 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
81%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

84 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

84 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
67%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

84 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
94%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

82 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

82 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
66%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

82 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
62%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

87 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 95%
White 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 16%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 72%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 73%58%61%
Master's degree 28%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. ALLEN N BREEDING
Fax number
  • (305) 380-1912

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

15625 Southwest 80th Street
Miami, FL 33193
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 380-1901

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Kingdom Academy
Miami, FL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT