Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Zora Neale Hurston Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 794 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 21, 2011

My children attend this school and I have been very happy with the quality of the school and the teachers (particularly Mrs. Martinez). While parental involvement is substantial, many of the teachers are wonderful and dedicated and go above and beyond to help their students. I am particularly thrilled with the tremendous cultural and ethnic diversity of the school. My children truly have the opportunity to mix with and learn from children of all nationalities, colors, religions, and cultures.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2010

This school lacks school spirit. There is no activities for kids. The xmas show last year, the kindergartens did not participate. There is no parent involvement. My daughter that is in first grade is a gifted child, I told their teacher at the begining of the year and she confirmed she was, and that she referred her. School is over, they never put her in the gifted program. The after school program is good
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2010

In the years that my daughter has been in Zora she has gotten better. i hate to say this but what people write about it is wrong the school is amazing. i like the fact that i can talk to the teacher whenever i can and the teachers are very nice and always there for the kids. the school is way better than the school i was going to put my child in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2010

I think is a good school and the teachers had good quality!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2008

I'm sorry to have to disagree with the majority but I have found in the past 4 years that my son has attended... the teachers have progressively gotten worse. I couldn't be more disappointed with a school and I would suggest to look elsewhere for a quality education. If you can afford it, enroll your child in a quality private school. The public school system seems to be failing miserably.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2008

I have been a parent at Zora Neale for 5 years. I agree with the other 'reviewers' in that the school had been having issues with the morning routine. This year there have been very significant changes. There are several volunteers that service the cafeteria in the morning to keep order. The biggest issue was the traffic because many of the parents were parking in the no parking zones in order to drop the kids off and wait with them in the cafeteria. Now, the school has implemented a drop off only policy...no parents allowed in the mornings. Huge and favorable change. As far as the teachers are concerned, this school has very qualified and experienced teachers. Many of them have different strategies that happen to work well with the children. As parents we have to reinforce what is being taught and support what the teachers do!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2008

My son is in kindergarten it is his first time going to a big school since he was in a small preschool/daycare before so it is hard for him to get used to the idea of going to a big school. The staff and his teacher are nice and helpful but there teaching methods are not so fun and exciting.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2008

My son attends Zora Neale. and so far as a parent, i believe this school is okay. i dont believe its the best school but its decent. There are major negatives when considering this school. the main one is traffic, coming in and out of school. there is only one entrance so the same way you came in, its the same way your getting out, so everyone is trying to cut each other off to get a spot. In the morning there is usually a mild case of chaos in front of the cafeteria, especially when the bell rings and the teachers have to come and pick up the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2008

The school is very unorganized. I hate the drop off method for the kids. The after school program is terrible. The teachers in after school do not have control over the kids. I just think that this school overall needs a lot of improvement
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2007

very good school, great gifted program,excellent teachers, need more security and more activities involved teachers, parents and students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2007

My son and daughter have been at Zora Neal from pre-k until 4th grade.I love the classroom atmosphere,and I truly believe the academic programs are good.Not enough homework given though, and very slack on the control of parents signing and checking that kids are doing it. I wish they had more sports and music programs for the kids to get motivated early in life. Although I agree with the pick up process being unsafe, I must say in defense that the teacher usually know the parents picking up the kids every day and they are getting better about signing out and questioning the kids who is picking them up.Parents are very involved.And my favorite part of this school is the staff.They are truly amazing and so helpful with both kids and parents,and they gain such a great relationship with the kids.My kids are sad to leave, and I am too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2006

I have a 12 yr old that went to a different school from kinder thru 3 grade.That school allowed parents to go to the classroom and drop off the child.There is the drive up area for pick-up like at Zora Neale, but the teacher had to see the parent.My sister drove up to pick him up and the teacher made her go to the office to sign him out, even though my son told her that she was his aunt.At Zora there is no control.Never has anyone asked her to sign them out.Children are dropped off inside the cafeteria.They are collected by their teachers and led out in massive crowds.It is very confusing for smaller kids who get pushed around. I have to stand with my 6 yr old and wait for the teacher, who sometimes is late.It is completely unorganized and dangerous.But the teachers have been exceptional so far.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2006

My children have gone to Zora Neale Hurston since they were 4 years old. Each child is encouraged to do their personal best. Zora Neale Hurston is a school where the children come first. The teachers are highly skilled and work hard to bring out the best in each child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2006

I am very happy with the staff and with the education that both my boys are getting at Zora Neale Hurston. The teachers are firm with the students but at the same time very caring. I strongly believe that parent involvement is very important. You need to be as informed as you can about your childs education. Todays society is not what it used to be. Education starts at home, let's not forget that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2005

Because this is currently a fairly small public school (as compared to other public schools in the system) I have noted the parent involvement to be above standards. Parents are encouraged to become involved by faculty and staff, therefore contributing to the quality of the academic programs. Academically, teachers are very involved and always willing to offer feedback to parents, as well as supplemental enrichment if necessary. The age of the school also reflects the extracurricular activities available. I have not seen a solid after-school music program, nor in sports but further research might be more productive. I am not particularly happy with what is served in the cafetorium, nor with the limited access parent's are offered as to what and how much nutrition the children are actually intaking! Overall I feel this is a good public school because of its size and student count, with room for improvement over time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2004

My son is in kindergarten at Zora Neale Hurston Elementary,Miami, Florida since August 16th, 2004. I am new to the public school system, and I am so disappointed. I am disappointed with the poor organization procedure established to drop off and pick-up our children at that school, especially the little ones. It is chaotic and unsafe. Children are dropped of in the cafeteria where the teachers supposedly pick up the children. All the children leave the cafeteria at the same time in a huge crowd. The little ones get pushed out of their lines and disoriented to where they are going. I have never seen anything like this. The parent is not allowed to take their child to the door of their child's classroom. I have seen many children crying in the hallways because they are lost. There is no need to have children lost and crying and vulnerable to strangers. The little ones should be taken to the door of their classrooms by their parent. The pick-up procedure is a tragedy waiting to happen. The teacher stands in front of the school with her class as cars drive up and wave at the teacher who releases the child to the adult. No ID, No questions asked. How do they know who is picking up these children. Do you honestly find these procedures safe? I feel very uncomfortable and insecure leaving my son there every morning. Not to mention that I didn't even have an orientation before the beginning of the school year. I took my 5 year old to a place I knew nothing about. Orientation should be given prior to the beggining of the school year ( 1-2 wks before ). I and other moms addressed this to the assistant principal on the second day of school and nothing has changed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2003

The teachers at Zora Neale are wonderful. I would recommend this school highly.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

107 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

107 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
65%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

137 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

137 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
62%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

134 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
81%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

132 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

132 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
69%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

132 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
47%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

130 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 97%
White 1%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 25%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 80%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 67%58%61%
Master's degree 31%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 1%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
  • Other health impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities

Language learning

Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • Spanish
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:15 a.m.
School end time
  • 1:45/2:45 p.m.
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • MS. ISABEL G VALENZANO
Fax number
  • (305) 222-4923

Programs

Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • Spanish
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
  • Other health impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

13137 Southwest 26th Street
Miami, FL 33175
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 222-8152

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT