Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Wesley Matthews Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 515 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

24 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 29, 2014

i love my school its hard to believe how many memories ive made there and soon ill be leaving to middle school. I promise you this one of the best choices for an elementary school there is. The teachers are great', the principal is awesome and everyone is there to help when you need it. there isnt one thing i regret about asking my mom to send me to Wesley i couldnt have love this school more . if i were a parent i wouldnt think twice about sending my child to this school


Posted February 28, 2013

This schools is the best!!!!! I love it!!! Communication is beyonf excellent and more improtant is that my son is HAPPY!! The staff is AMAZING!!!! Very happy parent here!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2011

This school is the best!! My daughter is in 3rd grade and has attended since kindergarten. The teachers are excellent, staff members are very caring too. Her little borther is in Pre-K now and has even began to read. They also have GREAT after school programs including dance, ballet, baseball, soccer, etc. Totally reccomend this school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2011

The best! We recently move from Central FL and found every one is very friendly. Our son is so busy with homeworks that challenges him everyday. We like the atmosphere that makes you feel close to everyone there. A wonderful staff that keeps the school is extremely clean and organized.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2009

The best school! My daughter is in 2nd grade and my son in kinder. We love it. So blessed to be a part of this wonderful community!:-)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2009

My Daughter has attended the school Since Kindergarten and is now ready to move onto Middle School and it has been an enriching experience for her. All her teachers have been caring and so devoted to their students. She is in the Gifted Program which has been challenging yet fullfilling for her. She is now been accepted to a Magnet Middle School and could not be happier. This school treats all students like family and I highly recommend it to all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2008

My 4 yr old niece just moved from a spanish speaking country three months ago, she is in Pre-K and with just two months attending this school she has been able to properly stablish a short conversation in english. That is amazing. Her teachers are very nice and she loves and respect them. Whenver I have kids of my own, I certainly will enroll them there.


Posted March 26, 2008

I absolutely love this school. My daughter is a 5th graders in this school, and it is like her second home. The gifted program in this school is wonderful, the children learn faster. Extra curricular activities are really good, they have dance,cheerleading,tennis,chorus,year book and more. Field trips are common, but most are after state testing is done. Every one is very friendly, and the small atmosphere makes you feel close to everyone there. The school is extremely clean and organized, and parent involevement is amazing. Unlike many schools, this school has hardly no cliques, and has had no fights. All in all, this school is great, don't doubt sending your children here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2007

I am new to the school with my 1st grader. I just want to say I just luv this school!!!!! I left the other school b/c it had no parent-teacher interaction at all. No PTA, no school activities, this school has it all. And everyone is soooo friendly!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2007

My children all started out at WMES in the Pre-K program. The teacher and staff at WMES are top notch. The school has a very family/friendly feeling about it that makes me and my kids very comfortable. My oldest tells me that she loves the school because of how everyone treats her - with respect, love and kindness. Its her second home and I'm glad she feels that way!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2006

As a parent of twins entering 2nd grade this coming year, I am very pleased with the quality of this school. They have had great teachers who have provided the support that they needed in order to learn. My children have shown growth in all subject areas, but I am especially impressed with their reading abilities. They have not only become more fluent in their reading, but have also developed great strategies to help them comprehend the text they read.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2006

The best! Is definetely the one word to describe this wonderful school. My two children, fourth and first graders love their school so much, they want to stay there for summer camp every year! They both are in aftercare and music and dance after their classes. It is sooooo awesome because these programs are offered within the school and they do not have to leave the premises. Just imagine how convenient it is, not to have to run through traffic from one side of the city to another, just to take your children to extracurriculur activities. Everything is in the same place! We love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2006

very organized and efficient, this school provide all the education I need and most important, they care about my childrens.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2006

I am very pleased that my two daughters attend Wesley Mathews. We moved here two months before my oldest was to complete kindergarten, and in just that short time her reading skills increased dramatically. She went from being able to only read a sentence at a time to reading the whole childrens book almost completely alone. The teachers are friendly, easy to talk to, and they make themselves available. I am glad I found this school. My daughter has music, art, PE, and Spanish class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2005

I approched the school when I was in search of a new school for my son. The staff was helpfull and I life the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2005

WMES is a great 'A' school. They just changed Principal this year. My two children have attended since first grade. Parent teacher communication is very important so keep at it. We've had 'teacher of the year' quality teacher relations. Classes are a 'bit'overcrowed. They have a very small Music program with inexpensive flutes. Children get journalism experience doing the yearbook. Picking up the children take 15 to 20 minutes due to parents parking in a no parking zone. Not enough parents walk their children. There are two great crossing guards at 122 Avenue. They have great before & after school care programs. Security is very good. Overall my wife and I were very pleased with Wesley Matthews. We used the park next to it to jog at night. Quite a few people are out at night jogging & walking 'til ten PM. Very safe area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2004

This is one of the best schools in all of south florida. From the principal, lead teacher and all of the teachers. The detatil and personal attention they give each child is overwhelming. This should be a modle for all schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2004

My Daugther has been going to Wesley Mathews since kinder. She too like many other students were identified as Gifted in the first grade and has wonderful teachers every year. But unfortunatley she is in the 5th grade and its her last year. I highly recommend this school. I thank the entire staff too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2004

I have two children in Wesley Matthews E.S. Both started in Pre-K3 (almost unheard of in Dade County, as most only have Pre-K4). This is one of the best schools in Dade County, no doubt. My daughter is in 3rd grade and back in 1st grade she was recognized as a gift student and has continued on this program to date. My son is in 1st grade now and while not in gifted program, he has advanced tremendously thanks to the wonderfully skilled teachers and staff of this magnificent school. Please keep up the great work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2004

My daughter has been in Wesley Matthews since Pre-K. She has been in the gifted program since fist grade. She is now in the 5th grade! Our school is by a wonderful elementary school with excellent administration, teachers and opportunities for all students. It is a beautiful school and we are very proud to be a part of it!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
56%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
74%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
73%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
69%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

83 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 93% 29%
White 5% 42%
Asian 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Black N/A 23%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 78%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 66%58%61%
Master's degree 26%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 8%2%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 4%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • "A" school (2007)

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • Spanish
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:20am
School end time
  • 3:00pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Ms. Deborah D Darbonne
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
Fax number
  • (305) 222-8168

Programs

Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • Spanish
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Girls sports
  • Cheerleading

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Dance
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

12345 SW 18th Ter
Miami, FL 33175
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 222-8150

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT