Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Paul W. Bell Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 493 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

35 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 15, 2010

its the best school ever my nephew graduate three years ago all a's he said the teachers are nie and kind and that he wants to go back


Posted May 4, 2010

this school show outsanding school achievements. but at the same time we are involed in are school work & we also have fun time at this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 25, 2009

This school is underated. The teachers at Paul Bell are excellent. The electives teachers teach some of the best education in the county. The fine arts classes such as Band and Graphic Arts are superb. Currently there are several after school classes being offered.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2009

Even the teachers seem to know their subject matter, some of them do not use multiple teaching strategies to reach students who come to school with varying skills and interests. They did not take the time to explore each student's way of learning (Multiple Intelligence). At the same time, they go and care only for the ones that are ahead leaving the ones that are behind. I think most of the teachers care for and support each student individually. Most of them communicate openly and clearly with parents and work well with their colleagues while some of them do not. Teachers who are devote and pasionate for their profession, they use as much strategies to help each of the students achieve in school not only the ones that are ahead.....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2008

This school is good as well as the teachers. Their security is awesome. Yet, no afterschool activities for 6th graders.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2008

This school is not bad the teacher are dedicated to the childrens learning .But the school is cheap and has very little afterschool activities also they have only a few electives
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2008

this school is awesome best school ever!!!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 6, 2007

I changed my child from Doral Middle School to Paul Bell since Feb 2007 she is now in 7th Grade, and I am so happy. I do see that the teachers and the counselors do care about the kids progress and try to help them the best. They also encourage them to do better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2007

This school has progressively declined the past few years. There are few extracurricular activities and sports teams have disappeared. Schools complain of students not being fit and healthy enough, as well as uncontrollable in class, yet eliminate outlets for energy in the form of playing sports. What is happening at Paul Bell?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2007

I am a student attending Paul.W.Bell Middle School. Im in 7th grade and so far all they do is teach us and give us great studying and learning startegies that actually really help us to study and we turn out to do excellent on our exams. The teachers at this school are the best teachers you can have they actually make learning fun. Its really a magnificant school. I love it !!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 21, 2006

as a former student, I can tell you that Paul Bell has some really dedicated teachers. They have a large number of security guards, and although fights break about everyone in a while, security guards stop the fight in a minute (literally). Teachers are dedicated and show interest in their work, and Paul Bell Provides alot of extracurricular activities to get involved on. Principals are often overseeing students in the lunch room, and often seen talking to students. Dicipline is very much enforced in Paul Bell. With plenty of security guards, and strong enforcements of even the tiniest things like the dress code are in full effect. If your student wants to have a great time in PWB, then try and get him involved.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 16, 2005

I am a former student from PWB, and from the experience that underwent there, I can say that it was quite challenging, from the teachers that is. It has a strong academic foundation and a very strong based faculty that is dedicated in providing better ways of challenging today's youth. Do keep in mind, their extracurricular's aren't all that great as well as their athletics.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 6, 2005

I love Wesley Matthews Elementary. My three children have attended this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2004

Teachers and staff very dedicated. Nice security job. Excellent band and orchestra.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2004

I highly recommend this school. I have two children at Paul Bell. I'm very satisfied with the discipline and teaching done there. I have been very involved with my children's education and all their teachers have been supportive and concerned in helping out with whatever problem arises. My son's counselor has been the best he's ever had. I thank all the teachers for giving my children an excellent learning experience in Middle School. 'Teachers touch a child's life forever', and you all have certainly touched the ones of my children. Thank you.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

144 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
25%

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
36%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

144 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
51%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

141 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
37%

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
40%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

141 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
50%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

169 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
36%

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
33%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

204 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
41%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

204 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
33%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

206 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
69%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

232 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

30 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
93%

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
94%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 97%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 29%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 94%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 57%58%61%
Master's degree 41%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 3%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 10%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. INGRID G SOTO
Fax number
  • (305) 229-0798

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

11800 Northwest 2nd Street
Miami, FL 33182
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 220-2075

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT