Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Coral Reef Senior High School

Public | 8-12 | 3229 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

76 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 7, 2014

My daughter applied for this school this year and she din't get in , they called me and told me that she got a 97 over all but never gave me an explanation of whey she din't get in , my daughter is a professional actress and has done commercial for Disney and also had worked on tv I think this school doesn't go by talent at all , someone told me they go by lotto or something , I would love to know , please send me email if you like ,,,,, vergels @bellsouth.net
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2013

The school is great the students are nice and the teachers really care about you.


Posted July 18, 2013

I am a Sophmore in the Choir strand at CRHS i think it's amazing!!!! i love this scool! the teachers are Fun, and i can definately say im getting a great education! yes, there are things that i dont like about the school but all in all it's amazing!


Posted December 27, 2012

My daughter is in 12th grade here. I like this school but I don't love it. They really stress the kids out and push them to take a grueling schedule because it improves the school's rating. I would recommend parents not give in to the pressure to have their kids take too many AP classes unless their child is really that motivated. If your child is in a career magnet, colleges will be plenty impressed at the difficulty of the electives your child is taking without having to take 4 AP classes every year. Also, remember that part of the reason for this school's good graduation stats is because they kick out anyone who doesn't have a 2.3 (UNweighted). Therefore, have them take the classes in which they will do WELL. Otherwise, we have been happy, and the teachers are really good and responsive. The classes are, for the most part, less crowded than other schools around here, and because the school was built for the number of students who are attending, it doesn't feel overwhelming. The kids are well-behaved behaved, and the uniform policy is enforced. They are generally very strict about rules. It has a diverse student body.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2012

The ratings for this school do not do it justice. CRSHS is beyond expectations. My child is in the Legal Academy and she loves it. She wakes up at 4:30 am and goes in a school bus for nearly two hours to get to school and she wouldn't change it for anything. Be mindful that she has a high school less than half a mile from home, where she could literately walk there in 5 minutes. The environment, teachers and energy through out the school is beyond what you can get in any other school. As far as the performing arts, I don't think it has to do with "politics" or "insiders" , the whole purpose of auditions IS to maintain high standards and qualifications of the students admitted. It doesn't mean those not accepted are not talented... this is a very competitive world whether in law, medicine, business or performing arts. It's just the way it is. The school, staff and academics at CRSHS are just AMAZING!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2012

the ratings for this school are not a reality. The only reason the ratings are so high is because it is a full magnet school.. However, you need to see that there are other High School, that might be better, but because they do not have as many magnets, they are not looked at in the same way. A lot of the reviews are from students just having fun at the school. Grades, academics and student history does not weigh as much when it comes to getting into the school. Some of the magnets, audition based, have become a lot of politics. If the parent knows the administration it is easier to get into the magnet. Students do not have the same opportunity to get into the school. This year so many applied for performing arts and only 30 made it into the magnet due to the fact that it is audition based. This affects a lot of kids self esteem. Some of the kids were equally talented but because the other kids do not have push or someone inside of the school, they do not make it. Then the kids that do make it in, tease and brag about the fact that they made it and the others did not. This kind of competition between kids is not good at this age.


Posted April 25, 2011

CORAL REEF SENIOR HIGH SCHOOL is a great school. I could not make a better choice for my son, who is in the VIP-BAND. I am very happy with the education he had. The teachers , the sports, the discipline, the activities, etc. Everything in the school is just awesome! My son is ready to move forward to College but CHRS will be in his memory forever. Thanks the Coral Reef Staff ..YOU ARE THE BEST! I will miss my son high school days! Regards,
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2011

I graduated from Coral Reef in 2010 and I can honestly tell you that I would not have chosen a different school to ever go to. It was hard at times but some of the classes really did prepare me for college. The learning environment was great and the teachers I had really cared about my success as a student. I would seriously recommend this school to anyone. However, I will also say to make sure you know what the academy you are entering entails, it may not be exactly what you want or might just be perfect for you. But do the research!


Posted March 19, 2011

This school is over crowded, its education is horrible and has too many magnet programs. It looks like a jail and at the auditions the parents of students there make the school seem even less appealing.


Posted December 18, 2010

CRHS is not that bad of a school. The work is not that hard it just makes you think and sometimes that can be stressful if you are not use to thinking all the time. the teachers are real helpful and are willing open to help you at any point. Some of the students are kind of fake but its magnet school, so most kids are going to be like that. but there are some students that are good people and that want to o well as much they want to do well. its pretty much a privaty school eucation for free , thats all.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 19, 2010

My son is in the IB program, the first year as a freshmen was really tough , now this year is totally adapted and working hard as this is the more demanding program in CR, have to mention this is a school for committed students and parents as well
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2010

i am a freshman in the Choir strand in the VPA program and i will never regret accepting the invitation to come to this school. I think that the teachers are great and a joy to see everyday and the programs are very focused on the fulfilment of the student needs.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 29, 2010

My daughter is a freshman in the VPA department at CR, and she loves it. Is she stressed with the work, yes! High School is very different from middle school, and from when we (parents) use to go to High School. Challenging High Schools seem more like colleges now a days, and I find that CR challenges my child every day. The principal is strict and knows everything, yes! Exactly what most schools need now a days.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2010

The best that can be said for this school is that it has great potential. The principal who gets accolades, because of the national rankings based on % of kids who take AP tests, is an anchor not a life saver. The constant turnover in staff, low morale can be directly related back to her. Good faculty, good kids, terrible administration. Could be so much more.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2010

Compared to other local schools in Dade County CRS is good. Taken on it's own merit, it has some problems. As with all good schools that are in the minority, the management style of the administration is that of a dictator. They are aware that they are one of the few good schools in the dade county school system and as a result are dogmatic about almost everthing as they know that good alternatives are scarce. Additionally, teacher quality is extremely variable. Few are great. Most are mediocre and some are really poor. I recommend that parents do their homework. If your home school is good and has magnet programs, it's definitely best to really investigate that possibility.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2010

Hate it here!! Its so fake. rated A because they teach you the fcat all year long and nothing else!! In the media alot because they have friends at the herald, but make no mistake this place is full of self centered people. I am begging you, dont do this to your kids.oh and stay out of the bathrooms, alot of drug deals.. One Big Lie
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 15, 2010

i am a freshmen in the law academy. i actually love this school. its like a home to me. the academy class is bery slack and the teachers grade so hard, they try to help u succeed but they just stress you out
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 12, 2010

not that great of a school. The school takes a lot of pride in its students however it is only because we provide them with money especially in the IB program. In the IB program despite all of its reputation the students are forced to make up for the lack of good teachers and are forced to work even harder to make up for this deficit. The school is all media and does its best to always be in the spotlight for everything. Do not let it fool you, this is a school that does not provide a good education, it merely has many dedicated students that work hard on their own.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 11, 2010

Horrible place. I am an A student here, and I have to say that this is an awful place to spend 4 years. Everyone acts like the world revolves around them. The whole school is fake!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 7, 2010

This school is an excellent school! This school has a great environment with hardly any fights, and great school principal. This school, though, I must say; is a sink or swim school. They push hard you so that you can succeed. Few students fail, but overall most students do an outstanding job! Whomever rated this school low obviously didn't do well. This school has great school spirit and has helped me develop into a better student than I was before. 5/5 stars all the way!
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

864 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2014.

852 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
87%

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
81%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2014.

759 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
83%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2014.

760 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%

2013

 
 
99%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

231 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
86%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
55%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

772 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
90%

2013

 
 
91%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

748 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%

2013

 
 
90%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

736 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
86%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 62%
White 20%
Black 13%
Asian 4%
Two or more races 1%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 1%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 42%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 0%N/A2%
Graduation rate 98%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 41%58%61%
Master's degree 49%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 8%2%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 3%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Security personnel
Special education coordinator
Assistant principal(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. ADRIANNE F LEAL
Fax number
  • (305) 252-3454

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Special education coordinator
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Badminton
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Badminton
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Water polo

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10101 Southwest 152nd Street
Miami, FL 33157
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 232-2044

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Christ Fellowship Academy
Palmetto Bay, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT