Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Eneida M. Hartner Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 564 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 10, 2014

Enieda Gartner is the worst school I have ever put my child in don't look at the other reviews they were written by the staff every time I go to the office I'm greater with attitude my child was on honer roll in the school before and now making d and f my child dropped something by accident I'm the caffetiria and made my child clean it up with the broom in front of the hole caffetiria tell me something don't kids drop things by accident I know when I was in school and we dropped something the school would clean it up come on there are working with kids this school since day 1 I have watched them gossip about other parents just a horrible school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2010

ENEIDA HARTNER IS A GREAT SCHOOL.THE TEACHERS ARE THE BEST SO CARING AND UNDERSTANDING THE GIVE 100% TO THEIR STUDENTS.I HAVE HAD 4 CHILDREN GRADUATE FROM ENEIDA AND I HAVE A FIVE YEAR OLD IN PRE-K.THEY ALSO HAVE A GREAT GIFTED PROGRAM.TO MRS.KOHRMAN,MRS.SVAGE AND MR.CRUZ THANK YOU FOR BEING SUCH GREAT TEACHERS WE LOVE YOU AND TRULY APPRECIATE YOU!I RECOMMEND THIS SCHOOL TO EVERY PARENT AND STUDENT IT HAS BEEN A PLEASURE TO BE A PART OF THE ENEIDA HARTNER FAMILY!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2009

Eneida Hartner' staff is a devoted group of people who have become like family. Each day, we dedicate ourselves to bettering the lives of the children in the Wynwood community of Miami. Despite adverse conditions resulting from the depressed economy, our faculty has remained strong both for our families and for each other as many teachers have had both personal and professional difficulties. We are the sum of our parts and our whole group remains strong.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 26, 2009

Incomparable warmth from staff and parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2009

Ther are three excellent factions at Eneida M. Hartner Elementary School--administration, faculty/staff, and students. Each faction is composed of an excellent group and all three groups work together to make the school the best that it can be.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 21, 2009

Eneida Hartner Elementary School is staffed by one of most caring faculties in the State -- students are number one at this school, even at times of shortfalls- teachers go the extra mile in terms of making sure the students have proper supplies, including but not limited to pencils, paper, and at times they even supply the students with uniforms -- all of this out of their own pockets.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

The teachers care about their students and their ability to create an even better enviroment for them to succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2009

Eneida Hartner is much more than a school, it is a place where students, parents and staff come together as a family to enrich the lives of all involved. Through the years I've had the good fortune to see former students and their parents come back to visit and share their stories of success and how our school had something to do with that. I am proud to be part of the Hartner family and of it's community.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 18, 2009

Dedication,committment,loyalty and love for their children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

the teachers there are very caring and understanding toward the care of their children. they devote time and energy to children who are falling behind.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

I love this school because the teachers are all very dedicated to helping the students succeed. They also try to incorporate life experiences into the classroom as well. Although this is an inner city school the teachers and staff while try their best to help ALL of their students succeed.


Posted September 17, 2009

We have an incredibly talented and dedicated staff that give 110% of themselves for the benefit of our children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

Eneida M. Hartner is a school with very hardworking individuals that excel in various areas, especially in giving the students as well as the parents a sense of belonging away from home. Together, we all strive to reach success and make a difference that will impact the life of every student. IN MY HEART, WE ARE AN 'A' SCHOOL!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

Eneida M.Hartner is a special place.What differentiates us from other schools is that our students, parents, staff, teachers, and administrators all strive daily to succeed, even as we swim against a powerful current. Our teachers do their best every day to empower our children with a sense of belonging, value, and achievement. No matter what happens,we don't give up on them, nor on ourselves. We know we will continue growing and surprising everyone, as we inch closer and closer to the stars.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Eneida Hartner Elementary is not just a school. We are a FAMILY. Despite the difficult economic situation we find ourselves in, the entire school staff puts their hearts, souls and energy into whatever their job may be. The fact remains that we are an inner city school surrounded by alot of poverty and hopelessness yet we continue to be an excellent school. Eneida Hartner is where my heart is!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 16, 2009

It is a school where the students are reaching for the stars while building an A school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
47%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
35%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
42%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
42%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
52%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
52%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
33%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

83 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "C".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 70% 29%
Black 26% 23%
White 2% 42%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian N/A 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races N/A 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 96%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 55%58%61%
Master's degree 40%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 5%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 5%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Dr. Derick R Mckoy
Fax number
  • (305) 571-2511

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

401 NW 29th St
Miami, FL 33127
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 573-8181

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT