Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Herbert A. Ammons Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1216 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 9 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

59 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 18, 2010

My daughter just graduated from 8th grade and I can tell that its an excellent school. The teachers are incredible, the extra-curricular activites are outstanding. Not to mention the amazing drama program and its dedicated teacher Mrs. Barson. The students work hard but get their rewards for it. The school is in a safe environment and they motivate the students to be envolved in clubs and sports.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2010

I don't know what the parent before is talking about. I have taught at Ammons for 10 years and I can confirm what others students have said. The workload is a bit much, but once you get a handle on it, you're off to a great future. This school is not for slackers, but for kids are truly serious about their school goals and their future. I LOVE AMMONS, THE FACULTY, THE KIDS, AND YES, EVEN THE PARENTS....
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 16, 2010

From my experience the 6th grade curriculum was very impressive. After that I do not even know what my child is learning in school for the exception of his math studies due to the lack of teacher parent interaction and lack of homework. The curriculum seems to have declined and homework is minimal if any at all. Not a challenging school after 6 grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2010

Exceptional school. The administrators, teachers and PTSA actually CARE about the progress of the students, both their academic and personal development.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

Because it has a great staff. They involve the parents and make them accountable. Even though the studies are hard & time consuming, still manage to implement lots of activities to make going to school fun. They reward good students, which is most of them. The schools is all portables but that has not stop the teachers, students, staff, & PTA from making this school top rated. Love it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2010

I'm a current 8th grader at Ammons, and the IB program is great. I never found it to be very difficult and it's very much worth it in the end. It's a pretty small school compared to all the other middle schools out there, so of course socially there is a lot of 'middle school drama' but overall most if not all of the students get into magnet high schools and i can safely say attending Ammons with a HUGE growing experience for me. I do think the school is a bit overrated in a sense but looking back on my 3 years i am proud that i was an eagle.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 17, 2010

i go to ammons and it has been a great learning experience there
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 16, 2010

Hello, I am a parent of a child who went to Ammons. I am thankful that she attended this great middle school. She is now in one of the top rated high schools and will be on her way to an even better college, all due to the great start that she received in the IB program through Ammons. Next year my twin boys will be attending Ammons. I look forward to the many opportunities that Ammons will bring to them as well. Mind you, it is not just about Ammons, the student must perform as well. If the student is motivated alot can be achieved!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2010

Excellent school! Great teachers! This school really prepares your child for a future!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2010

I am currently an eighth grader at Ammons Middle and I am proud to say that I am an eagle. To all of those who are scared of receiving to much work and not having a social life your going to be surprised when I tell you this. the curriculum here is not that hard. we have wonderful teachers who dedicate themselves to the students and teach them everything they need to know. I myself am in the cheerleading squad and i am a straight A student. I promise you that if you choose this school you aren't going to regret it. I am proud to be class of '10. (:
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 11, 2010

i belive this school is going to be amazing for any student that want to enter in it!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 22, 2010

I'm a seventh grader now at AMS , and I have to say ; it's been great ! I mean everyone is nice -& friendly . If you have any problems , the counselors Mr.Parra and Mrs.Pearlman are always there for you . Education has been great , Mr.Earle who teaches Algebra is ah-mazing :) He makes make cool and fun while you're learning . They prepare you hard for the FCAT and push you to do your best . I fear of eighth grade because I love AMS !!! I know I will be missing them ':)
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 5, 2010

I am currently a 6th grader going to 7th attending ammon. and I really enjoy this school alot..
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 5, 2010

I'm in 9th grade now...but I will always cherish ammons they teach you a lot about yourself as well. I never would have thought that one place of education could improve me so much, but there the teachers really care about you and make sure you achieve greatness. it's one of the best schools...no one compares. I miss it a lot.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 26, 2010

I'm an 8th grader at Ammons, and I just have to say that I love and will miss miss this school very much. Mr. Adler was great, and although he isn't our principal anymore we still have great teachers and other faculty members. They all want you to do your best and do great things. The work load is pretty heavy, but once you're in your last lear like I am, it's very easy and do-able. The sports are great and we do very well and we have a cheerleading team. I myself am in track and on the cheerleading squad. This school is just amazing, I had so many great memories and I will miss it. If you want your child to have fun, be in a good school environment, and get a good education Ammons is for you.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 6, 2009

The teachers are dedicated to making a better future.


Posted November 1, 2009

Herbert Ammons Middle school is a fabulous school with dedicated teachers who always put the well fare of the students first.Imagine being able to call a teacher at home for help with an assignment.This is one of the many benefits this school offers to our students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2009

They have their act together and the kids want to learn
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2009

This school is the best! i love it so much. The teachers are the best. Especially mr and mrs earle. They are the algebra teachers. But i love all my teachers this is an a school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 3, 2009

I love this school its so much fun and im sorry to see mr.adler leave but oh well i have had so much fun.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

399 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
90%

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

399 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
94%

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
89%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

324 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
94%

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

400 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
93%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

94 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

406 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
93%

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
87%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

306 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
79%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

407 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2013

 
 
96%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

387 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

291 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
99%

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
86%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
96%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

99 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
99%

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 68%
White 16%
Black 11%
Asian 4%
Two or more races 1%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 49%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 60%58%61%
Master's degree 36%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 4%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 1%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School psychologist
Security personnel
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. MARIA COSTA
Fax number
  • (305) 971-0179

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Parent center
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

17990 Southwest 142nd Avenue
Miami, FL 33177
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 971-0158

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT