Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Herbert A. Ammons Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1216 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 9 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

59 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 23, 2009

this school is amazing it is really fun here and i learn a lot Mr.Adler is a great principal and the teachers teach great
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 31, 2009

Amidst all the budget cuts and setbacks that are happening in our educational system, Mr. Adler and his staff have done an excellent job of keeping the school and its activities and curriculum going. I think that going to Ammons Middle has been a great experience at a very difficult stage for my children. The students are constantly challenged by the curriculum but there are a lot of incentives for doing well. The school should be benchmarked by others as an example of what they all should be doing. The down side is the facility itself. It is a portable school and does not have its own cafeteria. The staff makes up for it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2008

This is the best school my son has attended. We are a military family and he has seen his fair share of schools. He has attended both private and public schools. I would gladly pay my old tuition to attend a school of this caliber. He has always been an A student but we never felt he was really challenged after leaving the private school. He has alot of work and there is little time for video games (yeah) but he loves this school and speaks highly of all his teachers. There is a real enthusiasm at Ammons starting at the top. When you meet our principle, there will be no doubt in your mind that this man loves his job and has worked his tail off to help make Ammons the school it is. Its refreshing to be aroung teachers that really want to teach and not babysit.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2008

It is a wonderful school.I am very pleased to have my daughter at the Ammons school. A caring , energetic Principal. Devoted teachers.Friendly Administraters. Great studends who are eager to learn.Janitors keep the place clan and orderly. A big thank you to all the employees from Herbert Ammons School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2008

i'm an 8th grader here. i love the school, everybody knows eachother, the teachers are very nice and they know the student's potential. it may seem like a lot of projects and essays, but they're just preparing you for whats ahead. Mr.Adler is very involved, he communicates with the students very well and always tries to encourage us.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 22, 2007

This is my son's second year at Ammons. This school has brought out the best in him. He can play guitar, has mastered the computer, is fluent in Spanish and he is excelling in academics. I like that the IB has set a theme of recognizing academic achievement. The principal is second to none. I highly recommend this school for its positive environment, rigorous curriculum and excellent teachers. Thank you Mr. Adler for making this the best school in Miami-Dade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2007

I love this school as soon as the first day of class. my son has been so motivated that we are in shock. Thanks for haveing such a wonderful program that finaly my son enjoys going to school every day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2007

My daughter just graduated from this school, she improved all the way, it's a great school, the best of the best and now she will be going to Coral Reef. I. Vazquez
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2007

I loooove my school, it rocks...I think that they couldn't do any better...:-).
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 1, 2007

I was a student at Ammons,(2003-2006), and I did enjoy my expierience. I went on a band trip in my 7th grade year to Atlanta, GA. We would always have super fun fundraisers, and great treats if we did good on the FCAT or raised a certain amount of money for the school. I can say I really enjoyed it and I learned alot. My straight A/B grades are a result of attending this school. Now I am in my freshman year at Sebring High, and I used to attend Homestead High. Much love, Samantha
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 5, 2006

I found the IB program very restrictive. Middle school children should be able to explore their interests.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2006

My child has attended Ammons for the past three years and has had an outstanding experience. The teacher's interaction with students as well as parents is impressive. The academic levels are basically limited to as far as your child can take them. This is a school for any child who can has the ability to excell.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2005

This school is very good. My child improved her academic status in her first year. It is very organized, and there is no vandalizim. The students are alot better than at other schools in the area. And they are given freedom and are respected.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2005

Parents cannot speak for the students as they are not the ones in the school. But overall it seems good. The students get text books at home and text books at school and so they don't need to carry them back and forth, which is a huge plus. And the clubs are great. My child enjoys it and the curriculum is spectacular.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2004

My chid is in the ESE program at Ammons. She has had an outstanding experience at the school. The teachers and staff are totally committed to student success. Very caring and dedicated school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2004

One of the greatest schools with one of the greatest principals in the county. I have nothing but praise for the Ammons program, and especially the principal who goes well beyond the call for his students. Consistently a top-rated school, Mr. Adler ensures his teachers have the tools to promote high achievement from the students. A hands on principal for whom I have nothing but praise. My son has excelled in this program, and I hope my younger one will be able to attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2004

My son attends Ammons and loves it! This is the best middle school in the area and it compares very well even against schools in higher income areas. My daughter has also applied to attend this magnet school. There is a great deal of parent involvement and most teachers really care about the kids and participate in clubs and after school tutoring. Some drawbacks are the school is overcrowded and this is problematic during lunch and class changes or parent events, they do not have lockers except in music forcing kids to lug around a bag full of books, projects and instruments all day, the online grading system could use some work with items not regularly updated as stated, arranging meetings with individual teachers is problematic and group teacher meetings too time constrained to be meaningful, there are also too many substitute teachers in classes at at times or too much movie watching. That being said, I have found communication via email to some teachers to be effective and for the most part the school seems to try to help the students as best as possible including giving them a ride home after extracurricular activities if necessary. They are also working on the locker situation. All in all the problems are minor for a fairly new school and the staff seems interested in working out its problems.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2004

The school is a campus comprised totally of 'portable classrooms.' However, they are modern and clean. Construction abounds, limiting room for the kids to travel to class. The teachers are mostly young and the turnover is somewhat high. The principal is a great guy, even though he tends to brag a bit too much about this A-rated magnet school. He's big on attendance and the school's image in the community. However, my kid loves the place, and it's about the best middle school around. Strong Spanish language and gifted program (half the student body is in gifted) and lots of kids take h.s. courses as 7th and 8th graders.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2003

Two of my children attend this school. Except for their running of the sports program and few insignificant nitches here and there. Ammons I think your wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

399 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
90%

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

399 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
94%

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
89%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

324 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
94%

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

400 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
93%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

94 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

406 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
93%

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
87%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

306 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
79%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

407 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2013

 
 
96%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

387 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

291 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
99%

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
86%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
96%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

99 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
99%

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 68%
White 16%
Black 11%
Asian 4%
Two or more races 1%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 49%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 60%58%61%
Master's degree 36%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 4%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 1%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School psychologist
Security personnel
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. MARIA COSTA
Fax number
  • (305) 971-0179

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Parent center
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

17990 Southwest 142nd Avenue
Miami, FL 33177
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 971-0158

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT