Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-12
Public charter
Miami, FL
Students enrolled: 598
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Doctors Charter School Of Miami Shores
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted June 04, 2015
- a parent
There are so many amazing, caring teachers that inspire. However, they are not all perfect, but that's most likely the case at every school.

Doctors Charter School Of Miami Shores
Develops grit: Agree

Posted June 04, 2015
- a parent
100% of seniors graduate and go on to college. There are many AP and honors classes or High School students can opt for dual enrollment with FIU


Doctors Charter School Of Miami Shores
Develops respect: Agree

Posted June 04, 2015
- a parent
The school does not tolerate bullying. People have complained that there are too many rules and it's too strict, but I that makes for a safe environment.

Doctors Charter School Of Miami Shores
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted June 04, 2015
- a parent
Students are proud to be there and ahave the opportunity to achieve their highest potential.

Doctors Charter School Of Miami Shores 2

Posted May 18, 2015
- a student
This school is absolutely horrible please do not let the other reviews fool you! Although the academics are somewhat good the administration is never on the students side, like they claim to be. In particular the principle Mr.Dorn, he will act as though he is for the students however, in hindsight he is everything but for the students. The administration lacks understanding towards the student and the rules are absolutely ridiculous. Coming to school is like prison and very dreadful. I hope this helps you decide your future school. - From a student who is frankly tried of this prison called Doctors Charter School


Doctors Charter School Of Miami Shores 5

Posted May 11, 2015
- a parent
My daughter attends DCS and I'm super happy . This is her 2nd year there, and I choose it because of the sports they offer. Not only has outstanding academics but sports! The staff is fantastic, it feels like home. Is a small environment which is great, the school has a small amount of kids per class.They have all kinds of advance classes as well. The teachers email back the kids with any concern they have, as well as the parents, the constantly recognize the students that work hard in many ways, and they offer tutoring. Sports well, all I have to say is great too. My daughter loves sports and she takes advantage of this. They have great coaches (Coach Gebara, Coach Manny ,Coach Morales & Coach Calli among others) variety of sport choices. We have a strong PTA, The only thing we need is more support from the comunity and more parents joining to help. It is a charter school so we always have to find extra funds. I really advice anyone just to try it! Miami Shores residents, take advantage of this! Thats what I did 7 years ago when someone advice me to try Miami Shores Elementary & Doctors Charter School and Im so thankful I did!

Doctors Charter School Of Miami Shores 5

Posted May 03, 2015
- a parent
I had a wonderful weekend starting with the annual Golf Tournament to the annual picnic for the students, including the incoming students. It is great to see the community come together to make the school the best that it can be. The Golf tournament is a fundraiser which helps the school provides the sports programs for the school. This engages the students in sports in addition to academics. This is a great school with the big sense of community.

Doctors Charter School Of Miami Shores 1

Posted February 05, 2015
- a parent
Simply a horrible school. The rules are geared towards setting up children to fail and the teachers take full advantage of this. Some teachers are great but the bad ones are bad. Including the administration. If your child has an issue, they will pretend to hear you but then making a million excuses for why they are right and refer back to the rules, and why your child is wrong. Beware.


Doctors Charter School Of Miami Shores 5

Posted October 27, 2014
- a teacher
Doctors Charter School of Miami Shores is a premier community-based preparatory school with emphasis on individual student potential and active citizenship. The mission of the school, with parental and community support, is to nurture and to assist each student to reach his/her academic goals and to develop a sense of community responsibility and social awareness. The School embraces ethnic and religious diversity, representative of the multicultural community in which it makes its home. The School s commitment is to serve the community. Therefore the values of the school include the attainment of high academic standards and the cultivation of civic involvement, personal integrity, tolerance and open-mindedness, compassion and a willingness to give back to the community. The school values excellence at all levels: students, faculty, staff and administration.

Doctors Charter School Of Miami Shores 2

Posted March 19, 2014
- a parent
As much as I use to love this school I must urge you to reconsider sending your child here at this time period. I have been involved in the PTSA for many years and I have had multiple children who have attended this school, but due to recent actions taken by an Interim Principle I am in pure disbelief. However, the teachers are simply phenomenal my little girl always talks about how much she learns in Science class. Also the school has a garden which gives the kids hands on biology experience which I think is something very few schools are able to offer.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Doctors Charter School Of Miami Shores
11301 Northwest 5th Avenue, Miami, FL  33168
(305) 754-2381
Last modified Doctors Charter School Of Miami Shores is a Charter school that serves grades 6-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Doctors Charter School Of Miami Shores Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 48 reviews. Top