Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Dr Michael M. Krop Senior High School

Public | 9-12 | 2676 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

47 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Sunday, April 20, 2014

I am a freshman and I am pretty neutral about this school. There are good things and bad things. Since I am one of the gifted children, the teachers are better but some of the non gifted children get terrible teachers. Some of the better aspects of this school are that there are many activities after school although the school does not provide transportation for these activities. A lot of people at this school also smoke or do hookah which makes this school a disappointment. I like this school but the students that don't care much about their school life make this school worse. And another thing, there is a teacher at the school who just stands in the hallway criticizing everyone and sending then to CSI. I was coming back from PE and had not put my ID on yet and the teacher saw and sent me to CSI. I was not pleased. The teachers that I have are very friendly and they have a lot of experience. enough to know if you are having trouble or not. I hope my review has helped the community out there. I would want this school to improve by monitoring their students more and taking away the students' drugs and harmful objects.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 19, 2013

The academics at this school are the best in the County. Test scores are through the roof and the students get into Ivy League colleges. This school has more silver Knight winners than any other school in Dade or Broward. If your child is serious about going to college, this is a great school. The staff is seasoned and amazing. Don't hesitate to check this school out for your child. The Principal, Ms. Baglos is incredible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2011

Horrible teaching staff. My daughter had 4 different math teachers in a course of a year! Their staff is impatient and seem to care nothing about the children and their education. I took her out of that school the following year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2010

My son real like that and the football team he's in the magnet program i'm happy to see he's grades go up.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2010

Great School my child travels from Miami Beach to go to magnet orchestra program. Also school stresses disapline and safety.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2010

Also, to add. The discipline at this school is unbelievable. Every day after school ask what the kids are doing? Smoking by the bus lanes. And No one cares. Every day when I go down the stairwells i smell marijuana. Kids get disciplined for the petty, small things like being 1 minute late to class and having to clean up trash instead of learning.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 18, 2009

Some of the school office staff are rude when it comes to helping you out for anything that has got to do with your child and they are rude to the student also and it shouldn't be that way at all but it is happening and it is not right and I hope they are able to either counsel the office staff to be more courteous and professional or get people that really want to work with parents and students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2009

I was a good kid until i let krop get the best of me. Im sure their extra cirricular activities along with the gifted programs are great. But i wasnt apart of it nor was i ever reccomended by teachers or staff to join anything that might have helped me gain some interest in school. Maybe i was too focused on trying to be one of the 'cool kids'. I want to say more maybe help parents understand what their kids are going through but im just going to keep it short and say krop needs to work on student parent involvement and i dont mean waiting till the kid gets in trouble before it can happen
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 12, 2009

krop is the best school in florida period .. i dont know what u are talkin sbout but this school is highly organized
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2009

As a parent of two, I am proud that both my sons graduated from Krop. The teachers were all amazing. The athletic program was fabulous and has won the number 1 program in Dade County at least two or three times. The number of clubs students can participate in is incrediable. The school is over crowded and like as can be expected not all schools can accomidate all students. You can never please everyone. If your child is involved in school activities, sports, and is motivated they will surley succeed at Krop. Krop also has a very involved PTSA that does great things for the school. Check with them, they are an excellent resource for you. Good Luck
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

Krop is a very disorganized school, and it's administration lacks communication within it's staff. There are several good teachers, and the NJROTC program is amazing, with very involved instructors.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 12, 2009

I am so dissapointed with this school. My Child is a freshman and in the gifted program. 3 out of her 6 teacher's hardly teach because of the two hour blockl. The kids have lots of free time to get in trouble. The grade book for the parent to view online is hardly ever updated and you should see some of the things they count as grades. We don't have another high school in the area that is any better, but to hear and see people raving about this school is presposterous. The office staff is very unfriendly and condescending. As a parent of a freshman student I am appalled at their lack of consideration and professionalism. If you want to meet or speak with the teachers, they don't return your calls and the students are treated for the most part like convicted felons.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2009

I am a new parent and right now i'm doing a lot of observing! so far i like how the kids get a lot of exposure to many things! they have so many committees the kids can join and i like it because of the diversity in children! yes its very overcrowded but you have to ask yourself why and how are they able to stay and 'a' school when other schools say thats one of the reasons they're failing. The biggest problem i am having is trying to be involved the faculty n staff act as if they never have time and whenever i try to be involved or is concerned about something they act as if i'm bothering them. Sorry b ut my daughter not having a text book like everyone else or my her grades is 'our' problem not just hers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2009

I was part of the Visual and Performing Arts program, but overall the faculty there is great. They take an interest in the student's future and preparing them for college. I wouldn't have gotten such great scholarships if I hadn't gone to this school. I was supposed to go to Carol City Senior.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 4, 2009

I didnt like this school for my son. there were alot of kids who picked on him and beat him up
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2009

This has got to be the worst school I have ever dealt with. I come from a family of teachers and the attitdue of the administrators and teachers is disgraceful at the best of times. The administration has no regard for parents or the students. I personally have witnessed teachers and administrators berate students without a second thought. My son comes home everyday angry and frustrated. The school is terribly overcrowded and has two campuses and requires Freshman to switch between the two campuses, which can get very confusing for children just starting High School. Classes are so overcrowded and teachers don't have control over the classrooms. They don't teach, they yell, lecture and ignore students asking for clarification or help. We are moving just to get my son away from it. Stay away you'll regret it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2008

I love Krop. It diverse student population is amazing and most of the teachers are amazing and inspiring.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 22, 2008

i attend this chool and it is the best of all my other schools it is nice and big with aot of nice teachers that attend...... my school rocks
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 8, 2008

My two kids love the school. Even we move away from it, they still go back to it. I am happy to see the school received an 'A' school rate for this year. Great reason to send my kids there even we have to pay much more gasoline for driving.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2008

Dr.Michael Krop is a great school.Teachers are excellent and actually TEACH there curriculum well. I recommend Krop for those in Dance or any other magnet program.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2013.

704 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
56%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 54% in 2013.

637 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
65%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 85% in 2013.

687 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

733 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "B".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

434 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
41%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

608 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

621 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 42% 23%
Hispanic 34% 29%
White 21% 42%
Asian 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Two or more races N/A 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 56%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 2%N/A2%
Graduation rate 89%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 56%58%61%
Master's degree 40%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 3%2%1%
Other degree 1%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 5%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Arts & music

Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Dawn M Baglos
Fax number
  • (305) 651-8043

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Tennis
Girls sports
  • Tennis

Arts & music

Performing arts
  • Creative writing
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1410 NE 215th St
Miami, FL 33179
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 652-6808

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Off Campus Learning
Hallandale, FL







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT