Advertisement
Advertisement

Pinewood Christian Academy

Private | PK-8 | 235 students

We are best known for quality Christian education.

 
 

Living in Middleburg

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $112,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $870.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 13, 2012

My children attended Pinewood Christian Academy through the 8th grade. Upon graduating, they both attended public high school, taking advanced classes, and were surprised at how easy the public school class load was compared to PCA. The faculty always went above and beyond to make sure the children were both encouraged and challenged, including several months of after-school help for a minor learning disability. Finally, the spiritual atmosphere is great, the students are taught not just about the bible, but are encouraged to act out their faith through community involvement and student interactions.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2006

Both of our boys, K and 1st, are enrolled in Pinewood. This coming school year will be our second year with the school. It is a first rate school. I have been very impressed with the faculty, the level at which my boys are taught, and the involvement of the parents. Highly recommend !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2006

Pinewood Christian Academy is a school that goes above and beyond in making your child feel welcome and nurtured as well as providing a high quality Christian education. The teachers are kind and compassionate and are willing to spend after-school time to help children grasp any difficult subjects. My children have learned Latin this year and have seen how it's used in everyday language! The art program is fantastic as well as the hands-on lessons kids learn in the computer lab. Parents are offered so many fun and interesting ways to volunteer and are expected to be involved in their child's educational experience. My children left a rich homeschooling environment to enter this school. I was not disappointed in any way with the transition and my children have not lacked in their education, they have excelled.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2006

Our son attended from Pre-K through 2nd grade because we moved to MD. He has been in gifted and honors classes since arrived to MD and I feel it is from his start at Pinewood. Everyone truly is concerned with each child and their progress, this is all backed with strong christian fundamentals and respect for people.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 1, 2006

great school good education. presbyterian 'america' fair rates
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2004

Having gone to youth group myself at this church and been a member for 15 years, I was excited for my son to attend Pre-K last year. The curriculum is above average. The things he learned just blew me away. The children are not only taught academic standards, they have chapel once a week (in which parents can attend too), respect for others is taught and expected even from the younger children. Parent involvement is required and is so much fun. It is truly a family atmosphere. Tuition is also very reasonable. Principal Martin and Pastor Rod are wonderful. We look forward to sending all of our children there thru 8th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2003

My son attends this school for the second year now and we are very pleased. The staff always show they care for the children. We even received letters in the mail from the teachers in the summer sending love and prayers. If I can, I will leave my child in this school until 8th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 93% 44%
Asian 3% N/A
Black 2% 29%
Hispanic 2% 24%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Karan Jennings
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Presbyterian
Associations
  • CSI
Fax number
  • (904) 644-0566

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • Virtual school
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

198 Knight Boxx Road
Middleburg, FL 32068
Website: Click here
Phone: (904) 272-6408

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT