Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Doctors Inlet Elementary School

Public | PK-6 | 791 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 30, 2013

I LOVE Doctors Inlet! We came from Duval and it is night and day. He came from a "D" school in Duval and had to run catch up to an "A" school. His teachers and the school were amazing with their support to do what ever it took to help him. That was last year....this year he is doing very well. No school is perfect. Having parents involved is key to your child and the school. I have been on the other side of the fence...I love Doc inlet:)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2012

The school needs a fence for better protection for the teachers, students and the staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2012

Our 6th grader had a horrible time at this school. She was bullied so much and we complained to the principal, teachers and guidance counselors. Nothing was ever done about it, she would cry everyday when she came home. They supposedly have a no tolerance policy for bullying, however it is never enforced.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

it's a fairly good school. although the teacher's and principal should be harder on the bullies. The teacher's need to spend more individual time with each child, and explain the material more thouroughly
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2009

so far with our son he's had wonderful kindergarden and 1st grade teachers
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2008

I think doctors inlet has gotten better this year about working with parents. The school has also extended the parent pick up area making it a safe place for the children to wait.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2007

Great school with caring teachers and staff
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2006

Although it is early in the year to speak of the quality of academic programs, availability of music, are, sports and other extracurricular activities, I can tell you about the level of parent involvement. The school at Doctors Inlet heightens the availability of parent participation. Volunteers will be awarded a special breakfast at the school on September 8th at 8:00 am. This will give the parents an opportunity to meet other parents who are actively involved. What a wonderful way to incorporate recognition and a show of respect and gratitude. I look forward for more opportunities at my son's school. Joshua Wearvers mom!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2006

Mr. Curtis is one of the most dediated teachers that I've ever known. I had him when I was in school and my child just loved when she was there and I'm hoping for my son to have him in the near furture. Thank you Mr. Curtis. Mrs. Stackhouse is another great teacher she always has time to let me know how my son is doing in her class. Thank you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2005

This is a brand new school and I believe it will end up being one of the best, if not the best school in Miami Dade County! The teachers and administration are excited, the curriculum is college prep and parental participation is mandadtory. This school is the best thing that has happened in North Dade County in more than 40 years! Cudos to Ms. Maggie Manrara, Executive Director, and the citizens of Miami Shores Village!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2004

My children attended Doctors Inlet and it was a great experience for all three. The teachers were dedicated and really encourage parent participation. The community around the school is very family oriented. I would not hesitate to place my children back if I ever returned to the Middleburg area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2004

Doctors Inlet Elementary's Principal and staff are fantastic educators. What the school lacks in funding they make up in sheer motivation by its teachers and staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2004

The school is in need of new classrooms for grades 2 - 6. The outbuilding used as classrooms are showing age and trying to function in one of these must be difficult for the children. Other schools in the are much better. ie: Lake Asbury Childrend should receive the same consideration for classrooms regardless of the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2004

I would like to say there is one teacher there that is wonderful, and her name is Ms Helm I would love for that woman to follow my child around throughout my childs school years...she is a remarkable person...They need to go through and pick out the weeds and it would be perfect....Other than this, the school is nice and clean, they are adding new buildings, its looking really good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2003

Area for improvement: security I believe that the school is too open to public. For example, the gates are open all time. Anyone can go into the school, park the car inside and go to the classroom. I have seen signs but signs are for people that follow instructions and for people that care. There are people that don't care. I believe that the gate should be close during class time. Recommendation: Place electronic gates for pedestrians and cars. In order to get into the school, out of scheduled time, people must ask the office by intercome. Operate the gate from the office. This way, at least, they can say security is good too.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

116 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
53%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

116 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
67%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

104 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

104 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
69%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

101 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
83%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

113 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
56%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

113 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
65%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

113 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
44%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

106 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

106 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
70%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

107 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 68%
Black 13%
Hispanic 11%
Two or more races 6%
Asian 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 4%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 48%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 57%64%61%
Master's degree 41%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2634 County Road 220
Middleburg, FL 32068
Website: Click here
Phone: (904) 213-3000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT