Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Middleburg Elementary School

Public | PK-6 | 590 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 27, 2012

I went there when I was little, Mrs. Jenkins was my kindergarten teacher and I loved her. I have moved to Jacksonville and want to move back so bad just so I can put my kids in Middleburg Elementary... They will be ready next year. Cant imagine putting them anywhere else...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2012

I have 2 kids that have gone to MES since kindergarten. I've had the priveledge to work with some outstanding teachers. I like how the school's security has been upgraded so that no one can get on campus without having been cleared by the office. My biggest complaint is that there is a huge lack of parent involvement. I have been room mom every year and find that most parents won't respond to letters or get involved with classroom activites, parties or fundraisers. I have also noticed a big increase in disrepect and foul language among the students. I guess that Middleburg has a large number of underachieving parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2011

not allowed to talk to principle never around, watch out for mrs. saksas class her kids steel school supplies and snacks(she allows snacks) out of students desks all the time. happend with the 2 we sent there in 2 years
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2010

I have 2 children. One went to another local school and now my youngest goes to mbe. I simply love how much time and love and compassion the faculty put into the development of our children. I would say that my son's kindergarten teacher in a saint! it's pleasant to see that administration is out on the grounds and know most of the students (not just the trouble children) they aren't just sitting in their office all day! i would def. Recommend taking your child to middleburg elementary school, mdbg florida. Our teachers are remarkable!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2008

In my eyes this is the best school in Clay County. The teachers and staff really care for the students. Thanks Middleburg Elem.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2006

I have 2 children in Middleburg and I love it. My kids are learning on or above grade level. Thanks
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2006

Middleburg is a good school. My kids all love their teachers and seem to be learning a lot! The teachers strive to keep an open line of communication with the parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2005

Both my children have gone to Middleburg Elem. since they were 5 years old. Middleburg is a school where the children come first. Each child is encouraged to do their personal best without being labeled as the smart or dumb kids. The teachers are highly skilled and work hard to bring out the best in each child. The principal is kind and knows each child by name. She is a great example of a leader and I will miss seeing her everyday as my daughter graduates this year. Thank you Middleburg for bringing out the best in my children and giving them the encouragement and confidence they need to go out into the world!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2004

Teachers are friendly and truly care about kids. They have a lot of fun activities for kids and parents to be involved in.
—Submitted by an administrator


Posted May 19, 2004

As a parent of past students and a grandparent of a present student, I think this school is top notch. The teachers go out of there way to make sure the students get a great education.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 21, 2003

My daughter has been going to Middleburg Elem. for two years now. I esspecially like they way they try to make sure each child has the individual attention that they need in evey area of learning. In first grade they switch classes for different subjects to let the students that are at different learning levels excel in each subject the are stong in as well as to let those that need to work at a slower pace to concentrate on key areas. In the second grade the class is seperated for a short period of time during the day to help those who need some help improving their reading skills while the other students practice doing assignments that are written on the board to prepare them for the higher grades as well. This school really seems to care about their students. All teachers that I have met so far have really been great!


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

79 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

79 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
72%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

74 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
45%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

74 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
60%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

73 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
86%

2013

 
 
66%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

84 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

84 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
62%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

84 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
54%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

81 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
56%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

81 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
57%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

96 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "B".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 84%
Hispanic 6%
Two or more races 6%
Black 4%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 40%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 65%64%61%
Master's degree 31%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 4%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3958 Main Street
Middleburg, FL 32068
Website: Click here
Phone: (904) 291-5485

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Middleburg High School
Middleburg, FL






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT