Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Wilkinson Junior High School

Public | 7-8 | 788 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 10, 2014

I am a student at school who used to go to Wilkinson three years ago. The school is gifted with one of the best staffs of the county. The students get uncommon classes to go with regular classes. I took aerospace and had a blast but I also learned extreme responsibility for later on in life. My teacher mrs. Mckenzie was probably the best one there because she listens to her students problems. I also had Mr. Tompkins as a teacher and he was always a very happy and fun person to be around. I would let my kids go one day for I know they'd be in good hands.


Posted January 31, 2014

I am a parent of a child who attends Wilkinson Jr High. The school staff is friendly and most of the teachers are great. However.....the school is dirty and unsafe. Most of the class rooms are old portables and the lockers are outside. The biggest issue is safety, if you see the school you will know what I am referring to.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2012

My grand daughter who I am raising, started WJHS last fall (2011) . She is VERY happy at WJHS and likes most if not all her teachers. As she said, every teacher has their own way of teaching. You just have to follow their rules. The teachers stay in contact with the parents thru reports, etc. Even though my contact with WJHS so far was limited but is was a 5 Star rating. My grand daughter keeps an A/B average. Which tells me the teachers are doing their job teaching her but most of all SHE IS DOING WHAT SHE IS SUPPOSE TO DO! For students to learn it is a combination of PARENTS and TEACHERS! NOT teachers ALONE or a PARENT ALONE. I rate WJHS 5 STAR!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2010

welll i am a student and its not terrible at all. all in all for the fights there are probably like eight fights a yr. that pretty normal. I really dont like some teachers but i have an amazing one who really connects w/ each student. Sooo that sorta cancels each one out. the math teachers are so so. there is one amazing one and then one not so good. the vice principal is amazing, the princple, im not so fond of. There is one slightly creepy gym teacher. But the guidence counelers (the eighth and seventh) are the best ive ever seen. soooo in a nutshell,. its isnt terrible but it isnt amazing. ummm prob. 7 1/2 out of 10. hope this helps ! :D


Posted November 7, 2010

I personally dislike the school alot there is more emphasis on sports than learning and even though the football team is terible they are treated like heros when the acedmic team, (the kids who are considered nerds but will one day be the leaders and the busieness owners), who win all the time get no specal treatment unlike the so called "star athletes". Also the school only has programs for kids who are slow, where is the programs for the smart children? All in all the I would give this school a 4 out of 10.


Posted August 4, 2010

When I went to WJH, I had no issues with other kids. You hear about all the fights that happen and you hear all of these bad things, but half of them don't even happen. Every fight that I saw or herd of started by someone getting pushed to the ground then the kid jumped on him and then got tackled by either a teacher, officer or by the principal. I'm pretty sure the principal got hurt more then the students, everyone says that they don't care for discipline. I had something stolen from me last year and the kid who did it got cault and he got OSS and ISS for 5 weeks. I had great teachers that cared for what I did, although I did have a crazy math teacher my first year. There's nothing wrong with this school.


Posted July 13, 2009

I love this school! The teachers are great and are always letting you know that if you have a problem you can talk to them about it. Although WJH doesn't have feild trips, we have clubs which we have once a month during school hours, and if you are in Legacy they go on a lot of field trips. I have made a lot of new friends. All around its a great school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 7, 2009

this school has its fiqhts and arquments just like every school. no, it isnt perfect but i love it(: i met qreat friends & people there and id never move to another school if i didnt have to(:
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 6, 2008

I love this school. Saftey is great and there was only one fight last year, its going to be my last year here and im sadd but prowd to go to wjhs:)
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 5, 2008

There are not enough incentives especially for the students who get no electives and are stuck in intensive reading. Administration does not do a good job with discipline apparently students with tardys get in more trouble then a behavior issue.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2008

I like this school but i think that the school has to many fights and could be unsafe. I love most of the teachers they are nice and easy to talk to. I hate the fact that we as students don't get to go on field trips, that would make this school better, and we need dances.... I guess i like this school
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 4, 2006

They change things without telling you, there is not contact at all from the teachers. Be prepared to babysit the adults there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2006

Principal and Vice-Principal seem to not care to hear parent input. Tried speaking with each about a problem with tardiness. Daughter was in ISS for 5 days for tardiness, while another student who cursed his teacher was in ISS for only one day. Disciplinary procedures are questionable. Seems that the students are guilty until proven innocent. Many students have had the same tardy problem, instead of offering solutions, students were told to run to class to make it. Moving to Nassau County to get kids in better quality schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2006

New Principal and VP seem out of touch w students needs and it shows in students' test scores and enthusiasm. I transfered my child--high teacher transfer rate-poor facilities. No dances,few extras. NO 7th,8th grade trips. No discussion.Few student incentives. New principal and VP are unprofessional,give little time for parent input and are distant from their students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2005

Middle-of-the road at best. No major problems with this school, but nothing stands out, either. All-around 'meh'.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 28, 2004

I was a former student here and I enjoyed the school very much. The teachers and staff are very nice and helpful. I loved school the 2 years I was there. This is a wonderful school and I think this is one of the best!
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

364 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
60%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

382 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
56%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

285 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
31%

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
50%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

395 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
56%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

397 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
49%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

392 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
42%

2013

 
 
68%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

374 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
100%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 85%
Hispanic 6%
Black 4%
Two or more races 4%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 3%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 86%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 70%64%61%
Master's degree 30%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 2%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Nurse(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • DR. DAVID MCDONALD
Fax number
  • (904) 291-5510

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Nurse(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5025 County Road 218
Middleburg, FL 32068
Website: Click here
Phone: (904) 291-5500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT