Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bagdad Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 436 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 23, 2014

Great little school! Both my kids attend Bagdad Elem and they love it. My son has ADHD and the teachers and staff were great about getting my son the help that he needed to achieve his academic goals. So glad that my kids go here and they get the one on one attention and respect of their teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2013

We just moved to Bagdad in January from San Antonio Texas and my son had trouble adjusting to his new school at first. As soon as his teachers recognized he was having trouble they informed me and did everything they could to help him. Now he is doing great! I'm very pleased with this school and its staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2013

Great teachers! My kids have been going to this school since kindergarten. The teachers are very caring.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2012

I LOVE THIS SCHOOL AND IT'S STAFF! My daughter attended kindergarten here this year and thrived! A huge thanks to Mrs. Gooch and her fantastic staff for turning this school around! Test scores have improved tremendously and the teachers are committed to the children's learning! Thank you for an AWESOME year!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2010

This school has some questionable teachers. It received failing grades both years my daughter went there. Education at this level is priceless, and I wish I had paid for her to go to private school, or at least sent her to another school that was not failing. The superintendant needs to seriously evaluate this schools leadership and fix it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2010

This is a very small school and has recently received yet another failing grade. My daughter attended Kindergarten here with an excellent teacher; I cannot say the same for the following year. Her First grade teacher was a complete nightmare and had no business teaching young children. We even had parent/teacher/principal conferences to try and work with them. The only way to get out of this school is to send/bus your child to a school 20 plus miles away since the closest school to it also received a failing grade. They also give you a deadline prior to the school starting for you to decide if you would like to transfer your child. There are a few good teachers at this school but I unfortunately can not recommend this school and regret trying to work with them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2010

I agree that that the administration and teachers are very caring and very nice. My child has enjoyed his time in this school very much. However, I felt as a parent that I often did not know what was going on in the school, and felt like teacher/parent communication was poor. I belong to a large playdate group and felt that most of my friends had interesting and fun stories to share about what there kids were doing in school. Bagdad did not offer as much creative and fun learning techniques as some of the other elementary schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

The teachers are very caring and they will help when a child is in need. They take the time to make sure each child knows what they are doing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2009

I am very pleased with the school. It is a small school which allows for more one on one. I am very active at my childs school so I get to see a lot of the inside activity that is going on. The teachers and staff work very hard. My daughter whi is in the 2nd grade loves the school and the teachers and staff. A very at home feeling.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2007

Since Bagdad has recently changed administrative staff, the school's atmosphere has improved tremendously! Mr. Brewton and Mrs. Gooch are a refreshing addition to our child's educational experience. I love the fact that my child's teacher has excellent parent/teacher communication through weekly newsletters and her webpage. Every time I visit my son's classroom, the children are engaged in learning activities. I feel very safe leaving my son in the care of Bagdad Elementary's school staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2007

The school size is great . The office staff has always been helpful. My only problem is my child's teacher seems to forget she is there. I know some of the classes are crowded but she deserves the same amount of attention as all the other students even though she is behind in some of her learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2005

The teachers are Fantastic and dedicated to student achievement! The art and music program are wonderful! Our school made AYP for the year 04-05- which means EVERY child made a years growth- even those with learning disabilities! And whoever said that this school is behind is not aware of all of the obstacles they had to overcome this year. It is a small school that is family oriented, safe and NOT behind the times. I would recommend this school to anyone!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2005

This school seems a little behind the times as far as education level goes. There was a huge lack of parent involvement (at least in my childs class) as well as a lack of supervision.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2004

I absolutely love Bagdad Elementary. I have two students attending and both have learned so much, but more importantly to love learning. The communication between teachers and parents is excellent. The art and music programs are exemplary. The majority of the staff are compassionate and caring...there are problems with the lunchroom monitors, but what a tough job, and the office staff can be a bit rough at times. The technology is above excellent and my children have access to all sorts of learning enhancements. My neighbors have a 4th grade child with learning disabilities and they have been very pleased with the atmosphere and modifications that have been made for him. One major disappointment would be the number of students in kindergarten classes. Too many! Overall, a small school in size, a family atmosphere. I would not hesitate to reccomend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

70 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

70 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
78%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

66 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

66 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
50%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

67 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
27%

2013

 
 
66%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

51 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
53%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

51 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
61%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

51 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
45%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

75 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "C".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 74%
Black 11%
Two or more races 11%
Hispanic 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 62%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 68%65%61%
Master's degree 29%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 3%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MRS. LINDA GOOCH
Fax number
  • (850) 983-5687

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4512 Forsyth Street
Milton, FL 32583
Website: Click here
Phone: (850) 983-5680

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT