Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

East Milton Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 757 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 9, 2011

This is in response to the May 31, 2011 posting. The teachers are not allowed to leave the classroom to take 1 student somewhere else in the school, without another adult being present. The students are paired up together to go to the library, etc. As for the principal, leave her alone. She loves the students and is involved at EVERY school activity. The school is very safe for the students and staff. All of the double doors get locked after school starts, except for the one by the office. I give props to anyone who can manage up to 20 children in 1 class. Good job EME


Posted May 31, 2011

I do not think East Milton is a very safe school for young children. The school lets four and five year olds walk around alone in the hall ways and expect them to know there way through the school. The principle dresses innappropiately for an Eelementary school. Short tight skirts and high heels is not very professional. Children arent even allowed to wear such clothing. When the principle brother was shot, It was announced every day to pre k and kindergarden students that he was SHOT!! I cant imagine how scared those little children were hearing something like that every day. There definitley needs to be some changes and overall supervision on what goes on in this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2010

i went to eme and i loved it there it was the best school i ever went to!!! it was my favorite school in florida!!!


Posted October 8, 2010

I am a great grandmother of a student at EME and disagree 95% with the April 16, 2010 post. Not everyone in that school is like that. There may be a couple of teachers that don't return calls and I know they should. Particularly to parents/grandparents who are willing to help any way they can. I have only had one person be a little nasty to me and we got that settled wtthout any problem. Did it ever occur to anyone that it might be our own attitudes that cause the problem. Personally I wouldn't want the job of trying to keep so many children and parents happy. Just try to put yourself in EME's staff and teacher's shoes and walk in them for a week. My Mom and step-Mom together taught a combined total of 90 years so I know first hand what EME goes through. I applaud you all.


Posted April 16, 2010

communication with teachers at e.m.e. is awful!!! they don't return parent's phone calls,you can't call the school and talk to them ,the office staff is very rude!! other parent's have stated that if you want to have a conference with a teacher,and you do eventually get one,from then on you will be ignored,and your child will be only tolerated from then on.this has been proven in my experience to be true.it's alway's the child that forgot or lost something,the teacher's want admitt to making one little mistake.i would never recommend this school to anyone.pjt


Posted May 20, 2009

i love EME my spouce and his family all went there like 30 years ago and my dughter has gone scnce kg and she is in 5th now!I loveL EME and u should to!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2008

East Milton Elementary is accommodating, student oriented, and safety minded. The school is accommodating to children with special needs.They have taken the time to hear parents concerns and help place our children in the best environment to work with his disability..My children pride themselves in attending EME ,There is Active involvement from teachers and principle ...They Work well with the parents...The staff members make every effort to ensure the children are receiving a quality education. The school is children oriented meaning that every activity at the school is carefully planned to ensure that the children are receiving a well rounded educational experience. The school is also safety minded in that no one can just show up unannounced in the school, which is very important in my opinion. They have procedures in place that helped me to feel comfortable that my children are in good hands even when I'm a worried
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2008

This is an awesome school with a great staff! Parents are encouraged to volunteer and be an active part of their child's education. The principal, Mr. Johnson, and vice-principal, Ms. Hughes, are great and genuinely care for the children. If anyone is looking to move into the area and wondering about this school all I can say is it's a great place where you are treated like family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2006

We have a great principal and caring staff. Welcoming to volunteers and input.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2006

I am very pleased with the overall performance of this school. My child has made a drastic improvement from his previous school. He went from not liking school to loving school. His teacher has been more than willing to help out in any way she can and keeps me informed of his behavior and progress.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2006

I myself think that eme school is alsome the staff is so helpful and know what they are doing. from the principle mr. johnson all the way down to teacher aids , everyone knows their role at the school and they get the job done
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2005

East Milton Elementary is accomodating, student oriented, and safety minded. The school is accomodating to children with special needs. The staff members make every effort to ensure the children are receiving a quality education. The school is children oriented meaning that every activity at the school is carefully planned to ensure that the children are receiving a well rounded educational experience. The school is also safety minded in that no one can just show up unannounced in the school, which is very important in my opinion. They have procedures in place that helped me to feel comfortable that my children were in good hands. I have loved having my children attend EME, and look forward to the years to come.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2005

East Milton Elem. makes the children feel like they count along with the parents. My son has loved it there. He will be going into 1st grade in the fall. He is already reading. His teacher is wonderful. I am looking forward to haveing my two other children enroled there. The family atmosphere there is great. Thank you to everyone there.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

114 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
42%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

115 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
59%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

107 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
37%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

107 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
48%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

103 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
21%

2013

 
 
56%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

93 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
40%

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
47%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

92 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
66%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

93 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
39%

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
47%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

107 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 84%
Two or more races 8%
Black 4%
Hispanic 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 92%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 81%65%61%
Master's degree 19%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. TERRY PASCHALL
Fax number
  • (850) 983-5625

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5156 Ward Basin Road
Milton, FL 32583
Website: Click here
Phone: (850) 983-5620

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT