Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

W. H. Rhodes Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 855 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 15, 2014

My child flourished at Rhodes! The teachers and staff were professional, dedicated, and always treated us with respect. My son is proud to have been a Junior Panther!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2012

I do not like this school. My children atteneded this school from 1999 to 2001. I do not feel the teachers teach very well and the guidance office personel were awful. Do not let your children attend this school. There are other options like virtual school if you can use someone elses address and have your child dropped off and pick them up at that address. Like my husband went to pace high in a milton disrtrict. HIs mother used his grandmothers address and picked him up after school. I pulled my older kids and they went to bagdad on my mothere in laws area and I picked them up there. Just a thought. My other children go to Bennett Rusell I love this school and EVERYONE there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2012

I am unable to rate this school at this time. My daughter wil be attending 5th grade here this year, and she was transfered due to rezoning..:-(
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2012

I have a child at this school and I have made my mind up that after all the problems I have had, I will do whatever I can to place my child in another school. There are some teacher that just want to preach the children need to be on drugs and I would love to when these teachers got there Doctor's Degree.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2012

Kids are not taught to attone for their actions. My son was deliberately injured by another student and was made to feel it was his fault by the staff at this school. I ended up paying for his medical bills ($3K worth) bc the school wouldn't help out. Their are good teachers here but they focus on the state tests in the spring. The principle is approachable but reminds me of a chamelon in his mannerisms. I have had 2 graduate from here and one currently enrolled. Unfortunately I can't have him transfered bc of where we live. Teachers are somewhat "selective' on which student they like and treat them accordingly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 17, 2011

My son is in the kindergarten, I love his teacher mrs. Ukazim. Everyone greets you at the door and they most of the children name.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2011

Wonderful teachers so far at this school. I have not had one problem with the school at all and we are on our 3rd year there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2010

I have had a bad exprience they pick which kids they like and dont like and then they treat them acordingly.... my kids will never atend this school again!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2010

This school is a great school for learning. One of the top schools in Florida!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2010

my daughter went to rhodes k-5 she curently is a dual inrollment student w/ a 3.8 gpa. in11th grade. My son is currently in the 4th grade at rhodes. The teachers and staff are the best and give their all to the students. I have beena proud parent in this school for 12 years now. thanks rhodes!!!!!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2009

Finding this school was great. We moved here 2 years ago, we were looking for the best school first and second for a beautiful house, well, we have both. The principal is a Great person, so Mrs. Godwin. We are so glad because my daughter is doing great after the moving, you know..new friends, new school but everything is great. She had the best teachers in 2nd,3rd,she is now in 4th, and her teacher is Awesome. Something that I woutd like to ad, and I have seen this in other schools, is that The Students have a Diploma or an Award when the school year is over, because they have excellent attendance, or for being a A Honor student every year.That will be great for them, Don't you think?...I love the new track, Congratulations!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2008

I am a PJC student who is doing my Service Learning for a second year at W. H. Rhodes and I really love the teachers and the services that are provided at this institution. My only concerns about this school is, there are not enough parking spots. Along with extending the school, the grounds for parking should of been extended.


Posted October 24, 2008

This is an amazing school. I would love to send a shout-out to Mrs. Langham, my 1st grade (Now a 3rd grade) teacher. I love you and wish you the best in teaching!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 31, 2008

Like other residents of this town, we're in the military and our kids have been in different schools around the country. To me, this is the best School my kids have ever attended (2 so far); thy may nor have the best facilities as another military family pointed out, however, they have the BEST teachers I've known. Thank you Rhodes...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2008

The teachers at this school are wonderful, however I have found that the pricnipal and guidance to be lacking in their concern for what is in the best intrest of the students. I have had to fight to get testing done on my children and have had them inform me they don't believe my children need the services they qualify for. What ever happened to what was in the best intrest of the student?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2007

Rhodes is a GREAT school! I attended this school years ago as a child, back when it was named Oakhurst Elementary and now my daughter attends Kindergarten there! She absolutely LOVES this school and ALL of the staff! I would also like to HIGHLY RECOMMEND ~AMBER KIGHTLINGER! 'Mrs. K!' She is an 'Absolutely Awesome' Teacher and definitely deserves to be Teacher of the Year in my opinion! My daughter loves her so much, and it's a really good feeling to know my daughter is safe in her hands! The best part is that she has taught my daughter how to read on her own in less than 5 months! AMAZING!! Everyday my daughter comes home with a smile and talks so highly of everyone at this school! WAY TO GO MRS. K and Rhodes Elementary School! Keep up the Wonderful Job!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2007

I would just like to say I have been well pleased with W.H. Rhodes. My child is in second grade and she has an awesome teacher. I home schooled her through kindergarten and first grade and I was really concerned about putting her in school because it is a different setting for a child to have to adjust to. But the teacher has made it possible for her to adjust quickly. And she really had a hard time reading but now she is reading good. I am so proud of her. And I just want to say Thank You to W.H. Rhodes and Mrs. Hicks.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2007

We are a military family. So my children have attended 3 different elementary schools. The teachers at this school are mostly good. The facilities are over crowded and falling apart.They have a lot of portable class rooms. If you can send your kids to one of the newer schools I would recommend it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2007

We have had past experience with W H Rhodes . My older son went to Rhodes when he was younger and now that I have a second grader she attends there. It's a wonderful school with the best education possible . We love the atmosphere there. Everyone is treated with respect and the students are well mannered. They have each child working at his or her own pace and teaching the best ever. Academics are very important to each and everyone involved , from the teacher , child , and parents. The principal is the best , he encourages parent indolent . He relates well with the kids . You can't beat Rhodes Elementary for educating your child . Try it you won't regret it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2005

Rhodes Elementary is a fantastic school. I believe my daughters are recieving top quality education. The art and music programs are top notch. Physical education is stressed across the board--not just in the P. E. classes. Some of the best teachers in the county are employed at Rhodes.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

135 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
53%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

135 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
65%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

142 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
52%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

144 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
51%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

140 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
24%

2013

 
 
68%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

102 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

102 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
69%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

102 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
41%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

125 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 61%
Black 17%
Two or more races 14%
Hispanic 6%
Asian 1%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 10%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 0%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 62%65%61%
Master's degree 37%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 1%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. TOM KENNELL
Fax number
  • (850) 983-5672

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5563 Byrom Street
Milton, FL 32570
Website: Click here
Phone: (850) 983-5670

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT