Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Avalon Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 747 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 6, 2013

My son started here for 6th grade. On just the 3rd day of school, he was given an extreme punishment for simply picking up another child's backpack. Since then, he was "targeted" and automatically accused of being the troublemaker (without proof) in any given incidents. Without naming names, the authoritative administrator admitted to me that they harshly punish from the beginning to "set an example". How is a child suppose to thrive in such an environment?! He will definately not be attending 7th grade there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2012

My son has been at this school for going on his second year and he loves it! We had an issue with bullying in 6th grade and I was VERY impressed with how it was handled!!! Not only the teacher got involved but the guidance counselor also called and asked for a meeting with me! I couldn't ask for a better school! The band teacher is phenomenal too!!! He was so made for the job that he has and the love for it truly shows through his teaching!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2009

Avalon Middle is an alright school if your child has no problems in school as far as learning. My son had a 6th grade english and a 6th grade science teacher that were not that great. To hard on the children and the work was so hard in science that even I could not understand. I talked to guidance at the beginning of the 2nd quarter and they said that if he is passing science with a D in this particular teachers class he was doing ok because this science teacher was very hard but yet he has failed science now because he completly bottomed out in the 4th quarter now lets see maybe we should have taken care of it in the 2nd quarter. Anyway other than that it was ok. However since I live in Pace I would love to have my kid go to a pace school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2008

I think that Avalon is a great school! The only bad thing, as others say, is that there isn't an art class or a foreign language, but the high schools have those. An earlier post said that they would like a pool, I think that is a bit crazy. None of the schools in this area have a school, and I've never been to a middle school that has one. Especially with the economy down. Also, there is a gymnasium at Avalon, so I don't know what you are talking about. The portables are because of all the children moving to Santa Rosa from Escambia. I think Avalon is a great school, there was only a problem with 2 teachers, one 6th grade english and the other 6th grade science. The band program is excellent, the band director is phenomonalI have two kids who went there, and they both loved it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2005

We have been involved with AMS for 3 years and have been extremely pleased. I've not heard of a single teacher that I would want to avoid. Their band program is exceptional! The only negatives are that neither art or a foreign language is not offered, however, foreign languages aren't offered at any middle school in the county.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2005

I think the quality of academic programs is alright, as long as your child isn't in ESE. They like to keep kids in the ESE. I haven't seen a whole lot of extracurricular activities. I have parent involvement when I initiated it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2003

I feel Avalon Middle is a very safe place for my children to go too,and I hope there will soon be an Avalon High School.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

225 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
52%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2013.

225 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
63%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

251 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

250 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
63%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

239 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 56% in 2013.

240 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
61%
Science

The state average for Science was 47% in 2013.

237 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
55%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 79% in 2013.

236 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

246 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
94%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 82% 42%
Black 6% 23%
Two or more races 5% 3%
Hispanic 4% 29%
Asian 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 48%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 60%65%61%
Master's degree 38%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 2%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5445 King Arthurs Way
Milton, FL 32583
Website: Click here
Phone: (850) 983-5540

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT