Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lake Minneola High School

Public | 9-12 | 2115 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 8 ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 22, 2014

Well, I don't know where to start. They are very babyish because on half days they will close the gates until they announce walkers because they don't want you to "go in the wrong car"! It took them more than an hour to announce walkers. My next reason, I can't stress enough, the IPads are awful!!! They always have some kind of problem and if a student's IPad dies or if they didn't receive an e-mail then they will miss something important. They say that you don't have o have one but the teachers expect it and they depend on it as if it was their lives. IPads are a complete waste of money, people steal them, they make it harder to do and submit work, and are a hassle!!!!!! It is imperative that the school gets rid of IPads or other electronic devices!!!!!!!!! Also, they are too busy focusing on the "EOC" that they never even mention the SAT which are 10 times more important!!!! These are just a few of the reasons I do not like this school!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 18, 2014

I am very disappointed with the way classes are assigned. I had thought my son actually had a chance to finally get his art elective during his senior year. Apparently that is not the case. He was assigned a weightlifting class that wasn't even requested. I suspect there are lower classmen in that art class as well. I expressed this concern at the end of the previous year and was told it wouldn't be a problem. Then a week before the start of the year I'm told I can't be guaranteed! I even have the conversation in writing! The facilities are fantastic but the administration is sorely lacking.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2014

This school is honestly quite good. I've never had any problems with getting bullied, like I did in other schools. They offer some interesting classes, however sometimes it is difficult to get into the ones you ask for. I've had some amazing teachers, with a few exceptions of course. The athletics and art departments are some of the best that I've seen, although the school will focus a bit too much on the athletics and not give the other students quite as much attention/
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 4, 2014

Their Fine arts program is very good. For a recently founded school, they have done exceptional in taking the FFCC championships by storm and taking the first place medals. Their theater has made history by winning all three main categories in the Cappies in Florida. Their Choir is one of the top in lake county and scored superiors in MPA. They are really going places and I'm excited to see how they will grow in the future years.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 24, 2014

To offer input to the concerned parent, I must say that bullying will be a problem no matter where you go. Lake Minneola has a bullying issue, which is not uncommon. The major problem with Lake Minneola is that the faculty and staff are way too concerned with the athletic teams. The athletes get so much more praise and respect than the students that perform well academically. Some of the teachers even give extra credit to athletes, which I find really unfair. The staff and students here need to focus more on academics, otherwise I would give this school 4 stars.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2014

I'm concerned about the bullying comments with this school. We are relocating and considering this area. I'm second guessing that decision now, Any input?


Posted April 24, 2014

This school is the most amazing school ever built. The teachers are just wonderful, especially this teacher named Dr.Johnson is an amazing, nice, caring teacher. It's a great atmosphere and a clean lovely campus for your child to attend. BULLYING FREE.


Posted January 22, 2014

This school seems wonderful, but it is soooo over crowded! That principal takes all the top athletes from other area schools so that our zoned students cannot participate! Furthermore, classes are all full so you get stuck with useless classes. Other area schools have gone down because it is no longer balanced! This is unfair to all students attending high school in south Lake county.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 14, 2013

If I could give this school negative stars, I would. The school is terrible. Teachers are rude, often cruel, lazy, and frequently bully the students. Administration is filled with dishonest and downright mean staff. Guidance counselors provide no guidance or help in any way. Students are often bullied with no consequences for the bully. The school is set up like a prison. I was verbally, and on one occasion, physically assaulted by a staff member. When I went to complain, the cameras were conveniently down that day. I've seen special needs students bullied by teachers and other staff, and I've watched students go home crying after a teacher has spoken to them. Don't bother trying to tell any of the principals though, they'll admittedly side with the teacher to avoid conflict. If at all possible, go to any other high school. Send your children to any other high school. This school needs serious help and the narcissistic and horribly rude teachers need to be replaced. This school HAD potential. That potential has dwindled away. Ask any student there that isn't on a sports team and has attended for at least one full year how they feel you'll get a true idea of the truth I'm telling.


Posted September 27, 2013

Lake Minneola High School has a great reputation, but bullying has been very high there, let's improve a 5 star school into a 6 stars. Posters and messages around the hall, that will really sink in, no to Anti-bullying programs that are now commonplace in schools may be having the opposite of their intended effect, according to new research. Let's make a difference!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2013

I agree that bullying is a severe issue here and little is done to stop it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2013

I believe this school is a A+!!! They are truly concern for each and every student and make it their job to make sure all the students succeed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2013

Like the other reviews, I can say that this is the best school I have been to. Our principle is unlike any other. She is a kind-hearted person who interacts with her students. Any school can get a good grade, however it take a principle to lead them to greatness and that is what she is. I also feel like when you are at Lake Minneola, you want to try to be the best! We are a very competitive school and always want to be number one! The teachers here are truly here for you to learn and blossom. It is a whole new and amazing atmosphere on campus. We have a great advantage with the Ipad which enable us to go beyond learning and connect with our teachers and peers. This school beats all others in the County!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 27, 2013

This is honeslty the best school I have ever been to! The principal is AMAZING! Unlike other schools I have been to, you see her almost everyday and she is always so friendly. The school is very clean and the teachers are great. We have iPads instead of textbooks too! If you are in the Clermont/Minneola area and you are considering which school to go to I would definatly choose this one! You will feel like you joined a big family. :)
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 26, 2012

I went to Lmhs for a few months before I moved. I was extremely happy with this school. The principle is the best principle I've had! She gets involved in the school. She interacts with the students, she is professional, and she is very kind hearted! The students are friendly. It was as if I had two families, one at home, and one at school. Its the cleanest school I have ever seen. The teachers care so much about the students. This was the best school I have ever attended!
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2014.

470 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2014.

520 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2014.

519 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
81%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

393 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • This school did not receive a grade in 2010-2011.
  • This school did not receive a grade in 2009-2010.
  • This school did not receive a grade in 2008-2009.

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

244 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

358 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2013

 
 
58%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

167 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
52%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

312 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 54%
Hispanic 22%
Black 15%
Asian 5%
Two or more races 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 35%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 90%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 59%62%61%
Master's degree 38%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 3%1%1%
Other degree 1%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 5%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
School Leader's name
  • MS. LINDA SHEPHERD-MILLER
Fax number
  • (352) 394-9601

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Power lifting / Weight lifting
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

101 North Hancock Road
Minneola, FL 34715
Website: Click here
Phone: (352) 394-9600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Montverde Academy
Montverde, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT