Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Grassy Lake Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 987 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 17, 2014

Grassy Lake Staff and teachers work hard because they care. They push my child to be a better student. The office staff greets you with a smile, every staff member that works there is friendly whether they work in the cafeteria, janitor service, resources, etc. The teachers really do their best to provide a safe and fun environment for the students. The principal Ms. Cole keeps parents informed with automated calls to remind us of special events going on through out the year and reminders of days off, etc. I can't speak for every single teacher at this school, but those I have come in contact with because of my children have proven themselves 100 times over. My child was bullied by another student in kindergarten and I sent an email to the principal asking that my child not be put in any future classes with the bully and my child is now in 4th grade and my request has still been upheld without me having to send anymore emails.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2014

This school had the nastiest and rudest people in the office and the teachers are not very nice either . Maybe the office people ought to learn how to speak to people and how to treat them


Posted October 8, 2013

We love the school. The teachers and staff members are great. Are grandson has had three great teachers in three years.And now are granddaughter is going there too.


Posted May 30, 2010

Overall I think GLES is a great school . I personaly think that the school gives a lil to much responsibility, but with amazing resaults.


Posted March 29, 2010

My son attended Lost Lake Elementary for second grade and the first quarter of third grade. We then moved and he was enrolled at Grassy Lake. My son's new teacher was very supportive throughout his transition. He was expected to catch up on their classroom assignments in a short amount of time and did really well. As the school year is approaching the end, I have noted strong differences between LLES and GLES. My son has been afforded more challenges and opportunties. Homework is not mundane and repetitive. They have assigned more projects and a research paper. Online learning is a requirement not an option (such as the FCAT Explorer program and Raz Kids). After his experience at GLES, I feel like the curriculum at LLES was on 'auto pilot.' The teacher has been informative throughout her web site/emails. She has helped my son become a more responsible student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2010

Agree with the lack of wanting to move children. I know they have their reasons children are in each class, but believe it or not the parents do know when there isn't a good fit for their child. Love99% of the teachers, but the principal needs to be 'jumping on any issues the parents feel strongly about!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2010

My Son has always been an A+ student, coming from Lost Lake and now Grassy Lake. This year, we discover he was absolutely incompatible with his new teacher and his grades went down dramatically. He begged to be moved to another class and so we requested the principal's office, over and over. However, our request was totally ignored. I am very disappointed at the way the issue was (or was not) handled by the principal's office. This year felt like torture to my son who, up to now, has always been excited to go to school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2010

i love the school. they have great kids and teachers.cool manners 2.awesome learning also.my favorite teachers are mrs.rozar,mr.garcia,miss smith,and mr.stalnaker.thats all the comments for now.there is more.good bye
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2009

This is an 'A' school in my books, the teachers take their time to educate the students, at first I taught it was too much for my fourth grader but then I saw the results; and I'm a very proud mom ;-) Thank you G.L.E.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2009

Grassy Lake has been my sons only school and I wouldn't want him to go anywhere else. The teachers are wonderful and he's learning so much. He made principals honor last year and looks like he's on his way to do the same this year. He love going there and loves all the teachers that he knows. Keep up the great work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2008

Wow. It is so nice to see how much parents and students care about our school. Thank you for the great reviews and opinionated comments. This is our second year of being a part of the South Lake learning community, and we are still striving for excellence. I believe it is the great teamwork of parents, students, teachers, and staff that help make Grassy Lake Elementary such as great place to grow and learn. I know we will work harder to be more efficient teachers and staff. We truly believe in helping our students dream, believe, and achieve their goals. Shoot for the Stars!!!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 10, 2008

I have two sons that attend this school. The school itself, I think is great, as it's a very nice, bright and clean school. I have two issues and that is one, during the orientation, the Principal made a comment that both myself and my husband couldn't believe our ears. She said that when there are problems with children, she looks at the parents, and then she said 'the apple doesn't fall far from the tree'. An odd thing I thought coming from someone in control of a school. The other issue is my son is being called 'student' constantly and not by his name by his teacher. I get notes in his agenda or seperate notes and his teacher seldom uses his name. I'm wondering if she knows it...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2008

Initially, being the parent of a kindergartener and not knowing anyone that goes there, I was your usual worried Mom. But after these first few weeks of school, I must say I'm really impressed. Being part of a school admin. in Orange County previously, I know a lot of what makes a school great. This school has the 'right stuff'! Everyone from top to bottom is warm,friendly and professional, even after those crazy first weeks..traffic problems..hurricane days..etc. They've done a great job and deserve to continue being an 'A' school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2008

Grassy Lake is a wonderful school. Administration and Guidance Counselors are very supportive and very quick to respond to questions and concerns. I transferred my kids from an area private school. Grassy Lake curriculum is more challenging than what we experienced in private school and I am much more informed about their academic progress. We couldn't be happier thanks to Grassy Lakes highly qualified teachers and outstanding communication skills!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2008

Grassy lake is an awesome school. The teachers as well as the staff, are all kind and very professional.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2008

My son was transferred to Grassy Lake from another local school also due to overcrowding. I was not happy he was being transferred as we moved here from Orange County to go to that school. My son's teacher in Grassy Lake Mrs. Natal 1st grade was wonderful I can't say enough about her......She took my son under her wings and when she had to let him go he flew like never before.....He made Principals Honor Roll. I am so proud of his accomplishments this past year. I highly recommend this school. The staff is really caring and wonderful about the children and their education. We are so happy that our son attends Grassy Lake Elementary school for his education.......We are looking forward to a wonderful 2nd grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2008

My daughter was transferred to Grassy Lake from another local school due to overcrowding. We were leary at first, as her old school was really good. She had a wonderful teacher, Mrs. Carter - and it showed in her performance. Mrs. Arnold runs that school like the CEO of GE, and the kids are well-behaved and respectful. I would like to see more recognition in the higher grades for achievements such as straight 'A' students. It truly is noteworthy for kids in the 4th and 5th grade to achieve this. A certficate at the end of the grading period would do wonders.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2008

I absolutely love this school. My son's teacher is just amazing and the school staff has been awesome. This school it beautiful, kept very clean, and my son began this school mid-year and excelled like you can't imagine. He became confident and just hit the ground running and I truly believe this has everything to do with his teachers being such great encouragers. I highly recommend this school and I am taking my daughter out of the private school she is in and that he was in first half of the year and happily placing them in this public school. It's worlds better than what they had before. I'm thankful for Grassy Lake!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

172 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

172 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
70%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

172 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

172 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
64%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

170 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
88%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

192 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

191 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
62%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

192 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
57%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

176 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 54%
Hispanic 25%
Black 11%
Asian 6%
Two or more races 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 6%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 48%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 69%62%61%
Master's degree 30%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 1%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 1%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MRS. DOREATHE COLE
Fax number
  • (352) 242-1504

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1100 Fosgate Road
Minneola, FL 34715
Website: Click here
Phone: (352) 242-0313

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT