Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

999 students|Lake
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
21 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (1 response)
characters left.
There are 35 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Grassy Lake Elementary School 5

Posted April 15, 2016
- a parent
I love this school. My daughter has been there from K-2nd. She has excelled in every subject. Teachers and staff have all been very friendly and welcoming. Front office staff is amazing. My younger child will be starting Kindergarten there this fall. I would recommend this school to everyone! Best in the area!

Grassy Lake Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted April 15, 2016
- a parent
Mrs. Matey and Mrs. Murphy are amazing teachers. They seem to really care about their kids. Front office staff rocks!


Grassy Lake Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted April 15, 2016
- a parent
Best teachers ever! I have been so impressed with the teachers my child has had.

Grassy Lake Elementary School 2

Posted October 16, 2015
- a parent
My family and I recently relocated to Florida to give ourselves a better life and more opportunities my child had no choice but to be enrolled in this school it's only been 1 month since school started and my child has came home twice with headlice I believe the school is nasty and the people who work in it are in denial before we relocated my child never had headlice and since she's been at Grassy lakes she's had it twice in one month.....I treated it she was given a clean bill of health I was reassured they check EACH child's head EVERY Friday well clearly that's a LIE IF that were the truth my child wouldn't have had headlice twice with full grown headlice bugs within two weeks from being treated the last time at this school I'm doing my part at home as the parent they need to do their part as a clean and sterilizing staff.....I think that school is is denial and a bunch of liars and I have a paper towel full of dead headlice full grown bugs to prove it.....my advice to parents is check your children's hair for live cuz grassy lakes staff say they do but CLEARLY THEY DO NOT......In the process of trying to get my child moved to another school there is definitely a epidemic with headlice going on in that school and it is disgusting.

Grassy Lake Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted October 16, 2015
- a parent
No.... Not only do I feel they do not respect or have compassion for the children I believe they do it have it for the patents and care takers as well


Grassy Lake Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted October 16, 2015
- a parent
I believe the staff are their for a paycheck I honestly do not believe the staff at that school do not have our children's best interest at heart

Grassy Lake Elementary School 1

Posted April 03, 2014
- a community member
This school had the nastiest and rudest people in the office and the teachers are not very nice either . Maybe the office people ought to learn how to speak to people and how to treat them

Grassy Lake Elementary School 5

Posted October 08, 2013
- a community member
We love the school. The teachers and staff members are great. Are grandson has had three great teachers in three years.And now are granddaughter is going there too.


Grassy Lake Elementary School 3

Posted May 30, 2010
- a community member
Overall I think GLES is a great school . I personaly think that the school gives a lil to much responsibility, but with amazing resaults.

Grassy Lake Elementary School 5

Posted March 29, 2010
- a parent
My son attended Lost Lake Elementary for second grade and the first quarter of third grade. We then moved and he was enrolled at Grassy Lake. My son's new teacher was very supportive throughout his transition. He was expected to catch up on their classroom assignments in a short amount of time and did really well. As the school year is approaching the end, I have noted strong differences between LLES and GLES. My son has been afforded more challenges and opportunties. Homework is not mundane and repetitive. They have assigned more projects and a research paper. Online learning is a requirement not an option (such as the FCAT Explorer program and Raz Kids). After his experience at GLES, I feel like the curriculum at LLES was on 'auto pilot.' The teacher has been informative throughout her web site/emails. She has helped my son become a more responsible student.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Grassy Lake Elementary School
1100 Fosgate Road, Minneola, FL  34715
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 35 reviews. (352) 242-0313
Last modified Grassy Lake Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top