Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Miramar High School

Public | 9-12 | 2606 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

38 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 8, 2008

My child started last year at this school and she struggled to maintaining her grades. I made an effort to meet with the teachers at the beginning of the year, call serveral times during the year. The only way I got any response from the teachers is because of the guidance counselor going and requesting for them to call. Needless to say they were of very little help, my attemp to keep in touch with them was of no availe. No one really cared weather the child does well in school or not. I am totally dissatisfied with this school and unfortunately my choices are limited.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2008

Miramar is ravaged by poor leadership and extreme micromanagement. If me as a parent can see it I can only wonder what the teachers have to deal with. It concerns me as a parent that the teachers are working under these conditions because it only forces the teachers to not care about my child and forces them to focus on checking blocks and covering their A_ _. Sorry for the languages
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2007

Poor leadership and I have not received any automated calls to my home in reference to any on-going activities. This school does not interact with the parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2007

I attended this school and i am in the IB program. the school has a great IB program, much better than Boyd Anderson. The school may be bad at first but later in a few days it will get better. the IB kids are smart and not bad.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 25, 2007

After recently dealing with the administration of this school I find that the Assistant principals I was bounces around from, make it obvious that knowone speaks to anyone and they are terrified to make a decision on there own. The 'ill get back to you' attitude I received from three different administrators, Shows the level of Micro-Management that has not allowed the administrsation to spread its wings and therefore making it impossible for the kids and the their parents to truly forge ahead. Check the block and keep the school board off our behinds is the basic message they are sending out to the parents teachers and the children. There is poor leadership and it shows in the way they treat there teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2007

miramar high has many new programs for students to enrolled in I believe miramar high is a school for the future. this school is doing wonders for me I;m getting more involved and the school is fun. plus miramar gives us means to prepare for our future but having program that shows us what being in this employment is all about.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 29, 2007

This is a common fact that if the leadership is not good productivity is bad. The New Principal is an old employee. The employee speak horrible about each other as well as the Asst Principle and Principles. It seems that no one take responsibility to their errors, this was the first year for my son to attend Miramar. It seems that if you are a good student and mind your business, the bullies like to pick on you. Staff is ignorant and deaf to the parent complaints. Watch your children grade and even if you are not welcome be involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2007

Very disappointed with the (pre) IB program at Miramar and the teachers also. Lack of communication between teachers and students. My daughter did well in the program, however she'll not be returning next school year. The only saving grace there is Mr. Lamb (the fairly new IB director). Teachers, please take a leaf from this gentleman's book! I do hope this program improves in the near future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2007

This is my son first year at Miramar High School. This school has a lot of area of concern starting from communication among school personnel and parents. Listen to your children when they come home. The most important thing is check the school website and your children grade in every class every week. The extracurricular activities are both good and bad, it seems the coaches expectations are very high. The level of parent involvement is not very good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2006

The IB is a very good program. The principal knows very little however.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2006

it has an excellent IB program. There are really good teachers there.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 21, 2005

The principal is great the IB program needs lots of work. Security is great, great students, well behaved.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 12, 2005

I had a son enrolled in the IB at another school (BA). Now my other son is attending IB at Miramar HIgh. I think the quality of the program and of the teachers at this school is not the same. Some teachers of core classes are not competent. The school should have the necessary tools to evaluate instructional capacity and teaching skills of the teachers assigned to the program. Talented students deserve talented teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2005

Im a student at Miramar High School. Have been attending it for 2 years. It's an ok school, they have certain areas they can work at and make better. Some of the teachers and staff are understanding and willing to help if you need it. There is alot of confrontation,fighting and showing no respect to teachers and staff at this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 1, 2005

I had to speak with the Principal about a problem, and I found he was easily accessible and responsive to our needs. He resolved the problem in a very encourging manner. My review is based on my observance and my daughter's performance both academic and otherwise. She does excellent in the program at Miramar High School. She speaks well and highly of the teachers; enjoys the program she is in; enjoys associating with her peers; and is highly motivated in studying and school attendance. I'm very glad I made the choice to send her to Miramar High School, as I was quite reluctant to do so, and hope the school continues to get all the support it needs so the students can benefit fully from their individual program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2005

This school offers a wide range of academic programs, including the prestigious International Baccalaurette program, the Aviation Magnet as well as several AP and Honor classes. Many students of this school can usually find an activity that fits their interests, and if they do not find what they like in the varied menu of more than 30 clubs and organazations ranging from the Web Design Club to JROTC, then they will find the support from the student body to start one of their own. Another quality of the school to be noted, is its constant progress in implenting technology apt for the new millenium. The school gives one laptop to every student. Socially, the student will be able to fit in the eclectic make-up of the school, where there is respect and tolerance for each other's unique differences.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 4, 2004

Overall has been satisfied with the I.B. magnet program at this school. I'm still concern with the safety issue at this school. During this school year the school was chosen to be a part of the technology pilot study. This is just another example of the students a minority school again being used as guinea pigs; as a parent I'm sick of it. Students were supplied with lab top computers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2003

Miramar was a great school. I loved it. I was there for three years and I thought the teachers were wonderful, the students were friendly, and the overall atmosphere was fabulous.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2014.

682 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
48%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2014.

618 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
38%

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
41%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2014.

627 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
88%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

671 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "C".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

488 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
44%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

637 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
52%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

633 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
45%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

581 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 78%
Hispanic 12%
Asian 5%
White 3%
Two or more races 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 4%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 68%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 0%N/A2%
Graduation rate 90%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 46%53%61%
Master's degree 49%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 3%2%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 3%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
PE instructor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. BRIAN FASO
Fax number
  • (754) 323-1480

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Golf
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Golf
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3601 Southwest 89th Avenue
Miramar, FL 33025
Phone: (754) 323-1350

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Parkway Academy
Miramar, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT