Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

2,519 students|Broward
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
51 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 62 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Miramar High School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted August 24, 2016
- a community member
Because your kids is getting worst not moving forward this is a forest for animal.

Miramar High School
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted August 18, 2016
- a parent
Both my kids went thru the IB program. My daughter got a full scholarship from Columbia U and was a Gates semi-finalist from this program. My son is currently a Senior in IB. Last year, one psych teacher was never in class and another teacher graded super critically bringing down his gpa, but the school is good, depending on the program. IB and aeronautics is best. Debate is great, as well.


Miramar High School 4

Posted August 18, 2016
- a parent
Both my kids were in the IB program...which is a great program w a guarantee of bright futures scholarships. My daughter earned a full scholarship to Columbia Univ. & was a semi-finalist for a Gates scholarship. My son is currently a Senior in the same IB program. However, last year, the psych teacher was absent for most of the year, and there was another teacher, who graded very unfairly, which brought his overall gpa down...however, for the most part, the school is good, depending on the program, and debate is wonderful! wish they had a program to teach kids how to test better

Miramar High School 2

Posted January 16, 2016
- a community member
Apathy pervasive throughout the school. Teachers vary from good to poor. We choose school because of IB program we will not be back.

Miramar High School 1

Posted December 05, 2014
- a parent
Parents please DO NOT send your child to this school. This is the first year my child is attending this school and he will not be attending this school next year if I am able to get him into another school. If you have the choice to send your child somewhere else or home school, please do so.The teachers do not teach. My child is in the IB program and its not worth it. He is taking AP classes, Pre-IB and honors classes. The teachers are terrible in all of his classes. They do not teach your child what he/she needs to know. The smart kids who come into this school will leave feeling like they did not learn anything. This school actually makes your child dumber NOT smarter. This school is only an "A" school because of the IB and AP students who actually try to learn stuff on their own NOT because the teachers are teaching them anything. If you value education and you actually want your child to learn something. Please send your child somewhere else or home school your child.


Miramar High School 1

Posted September 17, 2013
- a parent
Me, my son, and daughter all moved to Miami due to a job transfer. I had no choice due to this home school mumbo jumbo. We used to live in Fort Myers,Fl. I must say Ft. Myers wasnt much...it had amazing schools. They have no type of clubs that are interseting to join. I prefer my kids to go back to Fort Myers High School.Ft. Myers wasnt much.it had amazing schools. Miramar High school is for no student to attend. Theirs constant fights, Drug test, The staff is full of bad teachers, and dont listen to them about that they have gotten reopened and their better then they were befor.if you ask me no their not. They have no type of clubs that are interseting to join.They also don't respond to anything they always have these arrogant senior students in the front doing stuff even the teachers act like they dont want your child their. My son and daughter were great kids A+ students. Now they are terrified of even going to school. This school/district should be ashamed of themselves..they deserve ZERO stars.

Miramar High School 1

Posted August 13, 2013
- a parent
Miramar IB/AP program is a joke. The teachers do a horrible job in preparing the students for the AP test. Most of these teachers are lecturing instead of teaching and care more about just surviving the year rather than caring if the students pass. The whole program needs a make over.

Miramar High School 2

Posted July 25, 2013
- a student
The school needs to hold teacher's and adminstrators responsible for their poor academics The majority of the AP teachers are very poor and the administration does nothing about it. They support the inept teachers. If your child is bright and IB or AP material do yourself a big favor and go somewhere else to learn. Do not meet with the prinicpal until you have your discussion with the superintendent. Be PERSISTENT with the superintendent. This school needs NEW LEADERSHIP. The "A" is because of the AP students who would succeed whereever they attend school.


Miramar High School 1

Posted May 23, 2013
- a community member
If the public only knew what this school really has to offer, they would be horrified. All of the good teacher are running out of the school in droves. The school has extremely poor leadership and the current state definitely reflects that.

Miramar High School 4

Posted February 19, 2013
- a community member
As a former student of Miramar high school I must say the school has improved a lot. When I was their I was a sophomore 2006-2007, but after that year I transferred to Everglades to complete my high school years. Anyways the learning their was sub-par, I wasn't in IB or magnet programs but I heard those were tough as well. At times I'd here people comparing Miramar and Everglades, but honestly they're about the same. Now Miramar is an A school for two years straight. So I just wanna say Miramar is a great place for students to learn. Yes you do have the bad apples in the tree but that's at any school, so the best thing to do is ignore them. Lastly parents must keep up with their children's school work. At this school if your waiting for a teacher to call you he/she won't unless it's something bad, then again that was back then and since then the school has seen so much growth

Nearby schools

Miramar High School
3601 South Douglas Road, Miramar, FL  33025
(754) 323-1350
Last modified Miramar High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top