Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Coconut Palm Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 928 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 8 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

37 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 4, 2009

Children feel welcome every single day and that is the most important factor for us. The principal herself in in the forefront of activities and greets the kids as they enter. The art and music programs are outstanding. The AR & Math superstar programs are tremendous motivators for our children to succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2009

It's a good school. My daughter has attended since K and is now in 3rd grade. However parents need to be involved to make sure you get the most out the school. You must push to get answers and make sure your child is getting use of all the available resources. Extracurricular Activities are minimal at best and they don't have anything at all until 3rd grade. The in house aftercare program is not the best, but you have to live with it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2008

excellent school. great one on one attention. warm environment for kids and parents/family. simply wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2007

We love Coconut Palm Elem. My son has been there for K & 1st grade and it has been a wonderful 2 years so far. We are looking forward to another wonderful year in 2nd grade. The school is very clean, safe, appealing and the entire staff is friendly, professional and very knowledgable from custodians, office, adminsitration and of course the teachers. The media center is beautiful and the technology in the school is great. My son got to use laptops in 1st grade. The PTA is also wonderful with many great activities and fundraisers through out the year. It is a great neighborhood school. I highly reccommend Coconut Palm and as parents make sure to always be involved. My son loves going to his school, is learning and is making great friends along the way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2007

This is my child's second year at this school and we are all very happy. He loves his teacher, friends and the rest of the school staff. As a teacher myself, I know that my child is getting a good 'well rounded education.' They have lots of student/parental activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2006

I have 2 girls in this school.I am very happy with the teachers and the school administrators. Its safe and my girls feel good about going to school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2006

Its the best elementary school. They are family. They treat your kid as uf they were your own child... Its just great allaround. I have 2 kids and one that just left. Its great school. I recomend it 100%
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2006

Great school, great programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2006

This is definately a 'A+' school. My son has been there for 3 years now & I have been very pleased. We bought our house based on the location to this school. I have never had to fear for my sons' safey at this school. My family loves Coconut Palm! There is a kickball team and a football team. The school resource officer runs both as part of the P.A.L. program. My son is involved in the SGA as VP of the Student Council. This has really helped with his self esteem. I was really scared to send my son to any public school, as he had only ever been to private schools. After moving to FL from NC we found private schools to be cost-prohibitive. We were very lucky to find Coconut Palm. It's been a real blessing!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2006

Coconut Palm Elementary is an incredibly well run school. The administration is dedicated to the students as well as to the parents. Teachers are willing and available to speak to parents. I have been very pleased with the education that my children have received at this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2005

After moving from a great school district in new jersey i was apprehensive. but we feel coconut palm is comparable to the best of elementary schools in the country. My daughter absoultely loves her teachers and her school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2005

Coconut Palm is a fantastic school. It's curriculum map follows Florida standards and teaches towards the FCAT.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 31, 2005

This is a wonderful school. We are truly happy that we choose to have our children attend Coconut Palm. Our children love it there and we wouldnt have it any other way. The teachers are wonderful and they are extremly organized. The teachers take pride in their students and work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 31, 2004

I think Coconut Palm is a great school. They work very hard to ensure that the students are getting a quality education. They have a great reading program that parents can get involved with - on one particular night, they had a pajama party event where the kids were read books and our mayor was one of the volunteers. The parents were able to purchase books from the book fair and the kids had cookies and milk. What a great event to have before bedtime! Also, the fifth grade is able to use their own laptops provided by the school for certain class instruction. Coconut Palm was also one of the first schools to experience a field trip to Wannado City. I was a chaperone that was able to experience, first hand, the fun that they had.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2004

very good school high tech great teachers too.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 14, 2004

Coconut Palm Elementary is an excellent 'A' school. The staff and teachers really care about the childrens safety and academic skills. The school is clean and presents itself ready for learning and fun.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2003

My daughter's Kindegarden teacher was exceptional. She really cared about each child in the class. Eventhough the school is new, they are very organinzed and on the ball.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

172 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

172 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
66%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

145 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

147 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
58%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

145 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
86%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

120 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

121 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
55%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

118 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
49%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

161 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 39%
Hispanic 36%
White 13%
Asian 8%
Two or more races 4%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 17%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 49%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 63%53%61%
Master's degree 37%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 2%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

13601 Monarch Lakes Boulevard
Miramar, FL 33027
Phone: (754) 323-5050

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Lakeside Elementary School
Pembroke Pines, FL



Palm Cove Elementary School
Pembroke Pines, FL





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT