Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Parkway Academy

Charter | 9-12

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 25, 2012

Parkway Academy has closed down and unfortunately the teachers, parents and most importantly the students had gotten the stiff end of it. It was not an easy closing as teachers worked diligently and cooperatively throughout the 2011-2012 school year to improve FCAT scores. Many demands were put on us, especially at the end of the school year. I've never had so many professional development workshops and emergency meetings in my 10-year career as a teacher. It was very unprofessional of administration to have the parents and teachers believe that the school would be open for the 2012 school year. I had visited the school one week before the first day of school to find out what was going on to find that the office staff, dean, PTA chairperson were still there enrolling students. I was left with the impression that school would be open and that teachers would get paid their last month-and-a-half salary that was withheld. We were supposed to get paid on a twelve-month salary basis with our last paycheck being August 15th. However, the last paycheck that was received was on June 29, 2012. There is no one to contact about reference letters. It was just an inconsiderate act.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 12, 2012

Could be good school but terrible administrators. They are incapable of being professional and effective. They continuously fire and hire teachers yet the school still has not achieved an acceptable passing grade since its inception. They presently owe all employees salary after not paying them their last two paychecks yet they are advertising for new teachers. Broward County has recommended that they be closed down due to achieving a F during the last school year. The school appealed and will likely lose that appeal. The county has written parents to remove their kids and send them to their home school for the new school year. I would not recommend this school for any child.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 9, 2011

Honestly Parkway Academy is a good school I have my oldest son who started when they just opened their doors as a charter. he wanted to leave the traditional public school nearby where he had attended so parkway was our choice He has graduated then went onto college doing fine with two degrees so far in engineering. I now in 2011 have two younger child attending one in ninth and one in tenth they are doing great so far exceeding their level. so as far as previous reviews future parents and future student check the school out for yourself. It is a very strict school and the teachers are great. Kudos!! to parkway its a great school and graet choice you will make to attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2010

Parkway is an excellent school that is run well. It allows flexibility needed in that admininistration encourages staff members to individualize instruction and use strategies to meet the needs of all students. I especially like that all teachers went through trainings to enhance the reading process.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 20, 2010

parkway is all about money ! they cheat to win football seaon its just sad !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2010

my school is ok but it needs big improvements..most of the teachers are awsome like coach williams mr.roberts mr. robinson ms. grant mr.young mr. g.walker mr.johnson, ms devito and ms norey..the school would be better if we had better policies
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 15, 2010

I believe Parkway Academy is a poorly run school. I believe Leadership qualities as well as professionalism play an important part in the overall education process. Parkway Academy has lost its focus in that aspect. They need to regroup and get a better focus on a quality education so that the kids that attend there are able to have a successful educational experience. The leadership there lacks the key ingredient to provide this and need to be replaced to effect a positive change on the future of Parkway Academy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2009

The school is poorly run and i believe that it focuses more on sports than education.The school is definitley not how they describes it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2009

Parkway Academy as a school is a wonderful idea, however, good leadership is important if the students are to truly benefit. This school has produced top class students in the past and I am sure we will continue to do so. But each year we must have a new goal, thus ensuring that all our students are learning as much as they should. Big ups Ms Grant, one of the best Math teachers I have ever met.......I am not a current teacher at this school, but I left because of poor leadership. Our children are much too precious to be wasted. Improve the leadership and this little secret will become the first black school in Florida that is educating our children totally.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 20, 2008

My student has thrived at Parkway. Now that the school focuses on the whole student and students who want to learn, the school is wonderful. The administration and staff are very interested in my child's education. They care and provide a family atmosphere. Parents that are not happy are those who students do not want to learn and do not want to follow the rules. Keep up the good work Parkway!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2008

I think this school needs to focus on the students education. enforce the rules a little more. Also make the classes more interesting and actually kick the students out when they misbehave or fight in school. Actually also enforce the rules that they state but don't follow.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2008

This school is a mess from what i've seen--its dirty and its so small that our kids can never be safe in there
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2007

i love parkway academy yes it is very strict but it helps us children relize how much less violence there is at the school
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 11, 2007

Parkway Academy has an excellent automotive program which is what my son loves about the school. The strict atmosphere keeps the students focused on learning without having to worry about the 'bad seeds' running the classrooms. Parents are required to be involved which helps thew students feel like the school is part of their family and cares about them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2006

I have two children that attend parkway academy.Im not pleased with the school at all.They focus more on discipline than education.Parkway is very poorly ran.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2006

It has been a welcome and pleasant surprise to find a school like Parkway Academy for my little cousin, who plays football. He loves the small personable class rooms, where learning is more comfortable and challenging to his academic endeavors. The Staff beginning with the Principal and Coach Harris make relatives like myself comfortable with the care they have shown to my cousin. There are not too schools today that care for the students like Parkway Academy.Great Job!! Melvin J.Murphy
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2006

Parents are well involved have to do a total of 20 hrs each yer. Prkway is very good for scholarships
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 5, 2006

they have no music programs and no art programs. THey have limited sports which are only football, basketball and track. they have no social clubs or activities except for sga and a dance team. It is a required portion in your childs acceptance that you participate as a parent other wise you must pay two hundred dollars for your childs enrollment for the next school year.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 25, 2005

Parkway Academy is a small school with personalized education. Its small environment makes students, teachers, and staff comfortable with each other.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
19%

2011

 
 
23%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
23%

2011

 
 
25%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

129 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "F".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "D".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "D".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
39%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 87% 23%
Hispanic 9% 29%
White 2% 42%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Two or more races 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Female 52%N/A49%
Male 48%N/A51%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 80%N/A58%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 1%N/A2%
Graduation rate 68%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 0%60%65%
Master's degree 0%N/A32%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2009-2010

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7451 Riviera Blvd
Miramar, FL 33023
Phone: (954) 961-2911

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT