Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

New Renaissance Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1079 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 8 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 6 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

42 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 28, 2010

I'm a sixth grader at New Renaissance middle it is very nice,safe enviroment,but very very strict.They have just made this rule that students have to have escorts to go to any location.But Im not going to focus on the negativity.NRMS also has alot of extra-cirricular classes,and the school is very organized.The school does'nt have much fights,but sometimes.The students does get ponished if they do.To me personally if I could grade the school from 1-10,I would probably be say(truly) a 6.Only because of how the teachers are truly dedicated to their job,how the student body is organized,and how people is nice and kind(depending on who your child is hanging around).
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 8, 2009

Wonderful Learning Enviornment. Dynamic Teachers. Exceptional leadership in the Principal
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2008

Not impressed by the 'culture' incubating in the school. Kids need to be taught in no uncertain way that figting and intimidating another student is just not the way to solve their issues.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2008

I would not recommend this school to no one! The administration has a care free attitude. They don't embrace the parents who take great concern in their childs progress. They don't understand the transistion from elementary to middle school. It appears that many of the teachers are there for a pay check. No matter how lousy they are!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2008

I am a 7th grader at New Renaissance and I think that the school is well ok , but the behavior of the students is kinda chaotic! The teachers are good (most) but i wouldn't really recomend this school to anyone! But things might just turn ariund with our new principal!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 9, 2008

NRMS is the greatest school of broward county! amazing teachers that know how to teach well and are better than the high school teachers now that i have! :0 i recommend it! you'll love it
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 16, 2008

I am in 7th grade at new renaissance middle I think that our school has a great learning enviornment and there are also less fights now !
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 3, 2008

I am a 7th grader in the school and I say the school teaches us well. Although they have behavior issues, they teach us what we need to know in a fun way. I also would like to add that many of my friends say they can't comprehend what the teachers teach us, but it is just that they don't try hard enough. Now they get straight A's.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 30, 2007

I personally think that this school has some control over the students ..but not all. personally i think the administrators take no action into the learning process and they also do not reward theyre students predominatly the 8 graders. the extra cirriculars are good ,, considering that i am a cheerleader and i am in aspira, but i say that our principal is in her own world and shows no leadership
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 15, 2007

This school exibits excellence and teaches my child to have the dignity and pride that a youngster should have in order to be a success...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2007

My children do not comprehend any of the things they are supposed to be learning in school i feel very disappointed that ir has to be that way because i was told it was an excellent school. The security is very low on protection of the students my child has gotten into altercations and no action was taken. I really recommand that you do not send your children there......
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2007

My child attends this school and I think that i has an excellent academic program!There are tons of new ways to learn,for example there is a chess club available to help in math. There are also many extracurriclar activities such as;step, track and field, volley ball, and jazz band which my child is a part of.The parents involvemant is very high ,many parents are volenteers on field trips, school funtions,and etc. So I am proud to say my child attends this marvalous school.t
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2007

Well I'm a student at New Renaissance and personally we have become more organized. I am in the gifted program and it is quite challenging. I must admit that the administration is very difficult when it comes to communication. As far as diversity is concerned we are predominately a black school and nothing is wrong with it. Some parents always argue that their child is inattentive in class but its their child's fault because if their child really wanted to learn they would have some type of concern. So as far as I know, I don't believe anyone should complain about how this school is running because its mainly the students fault. Our school is an A school and 5 star school based on how we run things. As far as behavior is concerned it has nothing to do with administration.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 19, 2006

Academically, this school is aces. This is my daughters third year in the schools gifted program, and it is indeed challenging. Safety has very much improved over the past year, I think it helped to get that last batch of troublemakers out of the school. They do need more activities, which I am sure will happen once the field is completed next to the school. I MUST say that communication is the poorest I've ever come across. They NEVER send anything home in writing. And in most cases, the students find out about events the same day over the morning announcements, leaving the parents completely out of the loop for things like Honor Roll Assemblies or FCAT Awards Ceremonies, which I know I would like to be able to attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2006

This school is horrible. Ridicoulous.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2006

My son is in the gifted program, the teachers are good , he always has homework. Teacher and parent conferences, you can sschedule one but since they are only on thursdays it might take two months until you get one, the best way is to send the teachers a note and have them sign itas prove that they received it, then they will call you. I agree that the communication from school is terrible, they never send any newsletters, everything is by mouth, and sometimes kids forget to give you the information on time.There is an open house at the beggining of the year and thats it, nothing else. There are no extracurricular activities and the diversity is very low so it is hard for my son to blend in. The administrative staff is terrible,they are not equal with their treatment. I will start looking for a school reassignment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2006

This school first appears to be good. It is not! There is way too much violence in this school. They claim to be a zero-tolerance school, they are not...by far! They tolerate way too much for my liking! The programs are OK. The comunication from school to parent is horrible. They send nothing in writing. Everything is done by word of mouth from the announcement to the child to the parents....imagine the accuracy in that. Overall I am extremely displeased with the school. They are really bad at returning calls. Also the teachers dress worse than the kids. They should put uniforms on the teachers! If you ever send your child to make an incident report to report bullying or threats, make sure they get a copy back stamped by the office. They lose way too much paperwork!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2005

This school has problems. Diversity is talked about, but it depends on who you are. I would never send my child to this school. If this is the best, they need to be worried.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 7, 2005

The quality of academic programs was excelent. they have tutors to ensure you undrstand the class.Music and art and sports is very available to the the students and paretns are always envoled in them. they are also involed in other activities like concerts for choir and cheerleaders bake sales and so forth. The school was very helpful to make sure that you were involed academincally and extracurricularly.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 30, 2005

My childs experience in this school has been am very poor one. He never brought homework home, was not challenged at all intellectually. Peer pressure was extremely high, discouraging kids from attending school, or performing at all in this majority black school. Kids were afraid to go to school. Every day there were fights, and serious social issues at this school. No P.E. program for all the students. Little or none extra-curricular activity for all students.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

329 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
37%

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

327 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
52%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

350 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
52%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

361 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
42%

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
51%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

309 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
33%

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

385 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
46%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

344 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
27%

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
34%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

382 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
77%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

421 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

79 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
97%

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
93%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

42 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
98%

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 76%
Hispanic 14%
White 4%
Asian 3%
Two or more races 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 5%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 76%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 48%53%61%
Master's degree 48%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 3%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 10%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Performing and written arts
  • Dance
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. JANET MORALES
Fax number
  • (754) 323-3585

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Performing arts
  • Dance
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10701 Miramar Boulevard
Miramar, FL 33025
Phone: (754) 323-3500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


True Bread Academy
Pembroke Pines, FL



Pines Middle School
Pembroke Pines, FL



His House Academy
Miami Gardens, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT