Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

New Renaissance Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1079 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 8 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 6 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

43 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 1, 2014

I graduated New Renaissance two years ago. If you send your child there, ensure that they are in the gifted program. Teachers like Mrs. Astudillo and Mrs. Manriquez will prepare you for high school and beyond. Sure there are "distractions" at this school, but it's just like any other school. I find that some of my NRMS high achieving courses were much more difficult than my advanced and AP classes. Your kid is bound to learn a lot at Renaissance and there are plenty of events there that'll make his/her's middle school experience memorable.


Posted June 9, 2014

I need more information about this school, because my child need to try out the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2013

This school is horrible don't waste your time going there. My daughter just transferred there and on the first day she came home crying because the students are horrible and very defiant and disrespectful . The teachers are ok but it's mostly substitutes. I also know that one of the teachers doesn't even let her own children go there. This school is very dangerous . My daughter had gold earrings on and they snatched it right off her ears and ran this school needs to get it together and start being more attentive and strict.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2013

My school is great school because there are so many great teacher and staffs that help you there the foods there are ok but the school is excellent they have great Feild trips that are fun and educated and when it is almost at the end of the year we have party's movie day celebration and the teachers teach you every thing that is on the FCAT that is how great my school is thank you


Posted August 5, 2013

I went to new rennisance middle school for 3 years and when I found out we had a flvs class I didn't like it the teacher there was very suspect when she said thing espcially to my friend he was scared that he didn't even go to her class I think they should get rid of her overall the school is great but this teacher is really suspect


Posted May 2, 2013

I'm currently an 8th grader in this school and honestly, it's not a bad school at all. Teachers and staff love the kids and they try to help them as much as they can. Of course there are some students that don't always listen but that happens in all schools. Schools cant guarantee there wont be any students to start drama or fail classes. But the assistant principals and other staff members do their best to stop that, when really parents should be doing it. I recommend this school to all parents for their children.


Posted April 18, 2013

I went to New Renni last for 3 years and had no problems with anyone. It has really changed and I honestly think my time there was great. Every middle school has fights, and they just focus on us because of our past. I was the Student Body President last year in 8th grade and I loved my school. It's very clean and teachers love their jobs and their kids. Of course, there are the rotten apples but most of them are delt with and staff is super nice. All of the stereotyping is really npt necessary. I was also in the Gifted program, and my friends were in regular classes, and we got along. It depends on the student not to get into fights and such. I even left the school with a great relationship with the principal. All you need is vigor and you will do great. -PROUD ex-CAVALIER


Posted March 26, 2013

My daughter is in 6th grade in this school. At first, I was delighted. My delight was torn down by the beginning of the 3rd quarter. Although my daughter maintained a 4.0 during 1st & 2nd quarters and a 3.9 GPA for the 3rd quarter, the school is horrible. Team 6A has not had a set history teacher for almost an entire quarter because the teacher retired. The substitutes do not have control over the children. My daughter comes home complaining and frustrated every day. I ve spoken with the team leader and although she has received several complaints from other parents and has forwarded the information to the administration, the problem has not been resolved. My daughter is not receiving the education she deserves. Additionally, she is harassed by other children for no reason. She is told to ignore them . The bus driver made her cry in front of other children on the bus, so now we pick her up and drop her off. It s like trying to break through a steel wall to get the respect and education my daughter deserves! Despite it all-Math teacher is great! Offers tutoring for the children. Team Leader shows my daughter support making her feel comfortable. Science teacher is nice and helpful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2013

I am a college student now but I went to New Renaissance Middle my 6th grade yr.That was the worst decision ever. This school is a joke and is not taken seriously. When i attended it was a 5 star top notch no tolerance school. now it is rated 6/10. The very first day of school there was a fight with beer bottles. everyday every period there was a fight. towards the end of the school year. there was a girl that had threatened me. The report was made and nothing was done. at the time i was vulnerable and skinny and didnt know how to fight. the end of the day came and the hit me. she kept pushing and shoving me. I did nothing. i went back to make another report. the office said they didnt get my first report. later on in the week while the assistant principal was debriefing me in her office, I saw my first report. I was looking at it while the ast. princ. was still saying they did not have it. After looking back at it a few times she turned it over very quickly. everyone was covering up some sort of evidence. the officer said the tape wasnt caught beccause it snap shots in 10 sec intervals. anyway. I do not recommend this school.


Posted January 6, 2013

This is coming from and current 8th grader. It's really not a bad school. They have programs for advanced or gifted students who learn at a faster pace and the diversity of the school is growing a bit.. Sure the school has fights but of my 2 1/2 years here, there were only 6 of any significance. The main problem in this school is that some students gain this mentality that they aren't smart and can't learn, or they don't have to learn, or they just don't want to learn, or they think that if they just be lazy and barely pass with a C then it's okay. Teachers have been stressing the fact how important your middle school grades are so often it gets annoying. It's up to the student though how they want to act and whether or not they want to learn. The teachers teach it, but its up to the students to learn it. If you don't understand, teachers give TONS of tools to help, such as Khan Academy, tutoring, extra practice, extra credit, make-ups, whatever. Then the student still has an F or D or C and then when the big test comes they say "When did we learn this!" and then some parents think its teachers fault. Like I read in one person's review, the schools as bad as you make it.


Posted April 22, 2012

New Renaissance is great!! I'm in the 6Th grade and I <3 it!! My fave teachers Mrs.Greene, Ms.Hankerson, Mr.Didonato Rock!!SURE THERE IS SUM FIGHTING BUT I STAY OUT OF IT!!i AM JUST HAVING FUN IN skool wid my friends and we dont care about all that junk..!Love u my crazzy friends and i know im a crazzy smilling girl!!LOVE this skool!:)


Posted January 26, 2012

NO HUNGRY KIDS!!! STOP BULLYING!!! My children are new students at this school, and I am really dissappointed, yesterday my daughter was telling me that one of her friends was left without lunch, just because the lady in charge of the Cafeteria decided that she owes money to them and the kid didn't receive a lunch, my daughter shared her lunch with the student and then she was hungry too, please DON'T LET this happens, ask parents to be more responsables but the kids don't have to pay for this. PLEASE, PLEASE, take more care with the bullying cases, it has to STOP in the School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2011

In my opinion New Renaissance Middle is a wonderful school. There are excellent teachers, challenging academic classes, and they had brought back the extra-curricular activities (which were originally cut). Offering advanced and gifted classes allows the students, including me, to learn at a faster rate. The school academically is an A school, and has good FCAT scores. We currently now have the escort system, which forbids students to leave the classroom without an administrator worker. Fights hardly ever occur, and when they do privileges are taken away. People should stop speaking badly about the school if they have nothing good to say about it. "Ghetto people" [excuse my language] give the school a bad reputation, by starting fights and doing poorly in academics. I am not saying that African Americans are the ghetto people of the school, since many of my classmates are "black" and do not act inappropriately. And the parents whom complain about a lack of diversity at the school should stop. It is not the schools, or the staffs fault. All of you who judge the school without learning further about it should be sorry.You can't judge a book by it's cover, can you?Thanks for reading.


Posted August 4, 2011

Constant fighting, Kids being robbed, No security guarding them while off the halls or restrooms. Bad reputation as a Middle school in broward county


Posted July 20, 2011

My son is a student at New Renaissance. From day one kids were trying to fight with him for no reason at all. I complained, but nothing really gets done. It's very stressful sending your child to a school that doesn't help. It's as if they don't know what to do with the kids there. I don't want to send him back and he doesn't want to leave because he's met some really nice teachers there. I told him that his safety and education comes first. This school needs serious improvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2011

After i read most of the reviews from the parents i was very disappointed. I love my school. In the two years I have been going there I have only seen two fights and to me i think thats a wonderful amount for a middle school. Many parents are complaining that they are not up to date with information about the school but my mother knows more then me because of the daily phon calls from our principal. I as gifted student at New Renaissance believe I get a wonderful education and i rank high in the fcat scores from the STATE so i think my teachers are doing a pretty good job at teaching.


Posted May 1, 2011

My son currently attend New Renaissance Middle School, his time there has been has been terrible. They are busing kids in from out of the area. In my opinion I think only 30% of the student body attend the school while 70% is being bused in on the choice option No Child Let Behind. Which has turned the school into a hostile environment for learning. If you bring in students in from low performing school you need to change the mind set with Life and social skills training for the student body. My son has been taunted because he's Black and well spoken and does'nt speak or act ghetto. He has been bullied repeatedly. If any parent have other options use it do not send your kid to this school, it will drain you and your kid mentally. Also it lacks diversity it is 85% African American, 15% others. This is an important componet needed for life, culture diversity. No parental involvement, how could you when a great percentage are bused in from far away, Im sure the parents who don't live and pay taxes in the area will drive back to school for any school activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2011

I have heard about New Renaissance and it's horrible! There are more fights here than glades I do not approve


Posted April 29, 2010

i love NRMS! people on here are talking about how they dont like it expessially the parents. first of all none of theses parents go to the school and probably never have ! this is the best school to make friends and learn; i have lots of fun at this school i feel as if this is more of a family than students and staff. compared to wc young and hd perry we are more united expessially when there is a problem or an important situation. i love nrms and would recommend this school to any and everyone ! thank you and have a nice day :)
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 24, 2010

new rennaissance is a good school. if you are rude to teachers than you would say that the school is not good if your not you will know that the school is a good school. W have escorts to the restroom so there is more percentage that nobody is getting hurt. i*LIKE*NRMS*
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

329 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
37%

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

327 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
52%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

350 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
52%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

361 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
42%

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
51%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

309 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
33%

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

385 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
46%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

344 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
27%

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
34%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

382 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
77%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

421 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

79 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
97%

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
93%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

42 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
98%

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 76%
Hispanic 14%
White 4%
Asian 3%
Two or more races 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 5%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 76%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 48%53%61%
Master's degree 48%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 3%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 10%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Performing and written arts
  • Dance
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. JANET MORALES
Fax number
  • (754) 323-3585

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Performing arts
  • Dance
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10701 Miramar Boulevard
Miramar, FL 33025
Phone: (754) 323-3500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


True Bread Academy
Pembroke Pines, FL



Pines Middle School
Pembroke Pines, FL



His House Academy
Miami Gardens, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT