Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Everglades High School

Public | 9-12 | 2688 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

51 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 7, 2008

The experience was good in EHS. It is over crowded but thats not a major issue, students get thru the day. Teachers are good, and they really help you out. One thing is that EHS does not have that many sports.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 16, 2008

I love it at my school. Nobody Bullies me and Im very happy their. My teachers care about me and how I do. They make sure I get my work done. I have learned alot and hope to spend my next two years here at Everglades.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 1, 2007

Coming from another public school in the area which allows me to compare, I have a very positive opinion about EHS. Issues and concerns that have risen have been addressed immediately and telephone calls/e-mails from teachers and AP have been returned within hours. Intimidation, bullying and harrasment are not tolerated at EHS and action has been taken immediately. You will be surprised how other public schools will handle that ... 'Your child's gotta keep it low key'. What kind of solution/approach is that? We parents need to take responsibility for our children's behavior and actions and not leave it up to the school to deal with. Respect, manners and compassion begin at home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2007

Even with the over crowding. This principal runs a tight ship and my children are getting a very good education. I'm happy overall
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2007

the school is okay but they have a few problems like being super overcrowded. but it has a lot of things to get involved so theres no excuse.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 20, 2007

Everglades HS has the potential of being one of the best all around high schools in our county. Have experienced our first year and seen the school fall one grade level to 'C' instead of going up to an 'A', there's a need to correct this with collaborations between our Principal, all Vice Principals Guidance Counselors, teachers, students, and PARENTS. We need more of parent/teachers special meetings to get a good message across that Everglades High will become an 'A' graded school. Lets hear what our teachers need from parents involvment. How to help the counselors so that when parent calls they should be able to return the call within a reasonable time. I,as a parent have always tried hard to help all the kids in my neighborhood who goes to Everglades to focus and get the best grade as possible. Thank you to the school and pricipal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2007

The large size of EHS severely impacts the learning environment. Students at both ends of the spectrum (i.e., those in advanced classes and those who need special attention) get extra support, while those 'middle of the road' kids fall through the cracks. In addition, we have had a number of occasions where teachers and other staff members did not return phone calls. Guidance Department is not particularly helpful due to the large number of students each Guidance person is responsible for (600-700 each). We are not at all happy with EHS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2007

There are alot of students here but that doesnt stop the education process. This is an outstanding school to attend.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 16, 2007

I couldnt go to Everglades longer then a week...teachers didnt care...they want to get out of there as fast as the students. I want to learn not play and its sad that a student wants it more then all her teachers. Their security is horrible... safe would be the last word I would use for this school! Just research some on the past events that have happened and you wont have to think twice!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 16, 2007

Glad to see the 9th graders separated. Should have been done years ago. Now, if you could just get some other sports programs, like gymnastics. Some of these students have never even been on parallel bars or balance beam. What is up with that?? Where is the well rounded physical education? Gymnastics are great for everyone! Too much concentration on football and basketball, and the teams are limited to so few participants.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 2, 2007

This school is very crowded. The Math department is in need of help. Many of the Honor's Math teachers are not willing to assist the students because they seem to have this belief that Honor's students can teach themselves.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2007

it's a very good school. a safe enviroment where teenagers could be themselves and not have the ever constant fear of being harrassased or bullied. it's a lovely school with a good ratio of teachers who do in fact want to help children achieve higher goals.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 7, 2006

I will agree with the guidance department being chaotic. Trust me when I tell you, I took my daughter to private school after experiencing all the inconsistencies.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2006

The best school in Broward county the math department is in poor condition but everything else is great. By far the most spirited school in the State.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 14, 2006

Great school glad to be attending.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 8, 2006

Although Everglades is a fairly new school, they have major work to do when it comes to leadership and the professionalism of the administrators. You can find quality academic programs, but be prepared to do battle if your views are different than some of the staff members. I was happier than my teenager at the graduation ceremony. That chapter is now closed in our family history book. Good luck!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2006

Just average. Pretty good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2006

It's an 'Okay' school. Nothing Special about it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 12, 2006

It is a nice school. Hardly any crime and safe for my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2006

Nice school with a freindly environment.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2013.

598 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
49%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 54% in 2013.

663 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
50%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 85% in 2013.

663 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

617 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "C".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

536 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
47%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

766 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

500 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 45% 29%
Black 36% 23%
White 9% 42%
Asian 8% 3%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 44%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 0%N/A2%
Graduation rate 87%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 52%53%61%
Master's degree 41%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 6%2%1%
Other degree 1%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 8%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons

Language learning

Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Dr. Paul Fetscher
Fax number
  • (754) 323-0640

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

17100 SW 48th Ct
Miramar, FL 33027
Phone: (754) 323-0500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Paladin Academy
Pembroke Pines, FL


Somerset Arts Conservatory
Pembroke Pines, FL


West Broward High School
Pembroke Pines, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT