Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Everglades High School

Public | 9-12 | 2688 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

51 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 30, 2014

I think Everglades is good....what makes Everglades bad is that some students are mean to others and sometimes they don't realize the importance of education.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 23, 2013

My Daughter is in 11 grade, she been in Everglades since 9 grade. At first I was nervous & scared. I would hear so many bad things about that school, Especially about the students & teachers. So far my Daughter is doing great. The school is not that bad!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2013

I have a son in the school now and one child that has already graduate from the school. I see a difference in the school now with the new principal, Mrs. Darbar. She cares about the students and is very interested in parents, students and an of their concerns!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2013

Honestly, Everglades isn't that bad. There are fights and incidents in every school. If the student is focused and build a relationship with the teacher they will succeed. I f the teacher sees that the child wants to better themselves they will help. We also have the biology teacher of the year and most of the teachers are very highly credited. The JROTC program is outstanding and will encourage everyone to take the course. I love it
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 14, 2013

This school is average in my opinion but the teachers at this school really dont care about you, well the freshman teachers..... The students here are OK but some are terrible. I give Everglades a three star
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 3, 2012

I am a freshman in high school and i do not like Everglaeds at all. Most of the teachers do not even teach. The people their are rued amd motionless. The students dress nastly and do not act with intelligence at all. If you want your child to go to a school where they can get a good education and freinds DO NOT SEND THEM TO EVERGLADES!!!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 15, 2011

I truly believe that this is a great school, my son graduated from Everglades in 2008, having no problems to get into various colleges because his academic preparation and my daughter is also graduating soon so I can definitely say how great it is..!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2011

My son goes there and i can say this school has improved his attitude alot . All the teachers are great and care about all there students. I think alot of parents should send there kid here , you wont regret it .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2011

this school is really good i encourage any parent to send their child there. the students and teachers there are very nice and its a friendly enviroment
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 14, 2010

I am a parent of (2) 10th graders this year... I am very impressed with the level of security, professionalism of the staff and the family feel that's received from the over 2800 students this year... I really hope it stays the same or get even better so that my children graduate in 2 more years... Let's go Gators!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2009

My daughter just completed 9th grade and I was very impressed by the visibility of the principal every morning and security. The campus is pretty big compared to what my daughter was use to so I loved the fact that they kept them in one area. Guidance was very heipful and informative. Teachers were pretty good but maybe time for some to retire. Lots of clubs and activities to stay involved. Overall a good first year! Looking forward to an even better one this fall!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2009

I am a graduate from the class of 06 and my brother will be attending this school soon. I felt their was a bit of a rift between regular students and more advanced students. A student who challenges themselves with honors and AP classes will receive a quality education with teachers who are motivating, demanding, and they are some of the best in Broward. Mr Most, Mrs Samson, Mrs Warner and many more will go above and beyond in making sure you are academically competitive with the best in the state. However if your student wants to just be average. Their are teachers who will pass you just to get them out of their class. The school does offer an academy for students who struggle and it's full of problem kids. They are required to take JROTC and it is a good experience to get them back on track. Go Gators!


Posted May 30, 2009

My daughter just completed her first year here and has done extremely well. She likes her teachers, they motivate her to learn, make her classes fun and interesting. She has made friends. Although she was a little afraid her first day; she wishes the year had not ended so quickly. This school offers so much academically; allows students to express creativity; campus is clean,safe; staff is courteous; organized. Always preparing students for college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

my kids first year and last at everglades, I found the quality of the majority of the teachers is very poor. They do not focus or have any motivational skill for teens to do well. I hear it from my daughter and all her friends there. regret having her go there teachers dont know the impact on teenagers they can have.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2009

This school is AWESOME! I love it, it holds a magnificent and plethora of events to become involved in, and you make friends where ever you go. It gives you a pre-taste of the outside life, being on your own, and handling you own business. Everglades gives you an opportunity to succeed, giving us the ability to graduate with above 24 credits with our block schedule. It's just so darn awesome, I love it !
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 24, 2008

im a student that just transfered from american senior high to everglades & i must say the difference between the two schools are amazing, people think that american is a low class school but where people dont see is the effort that the teachers put in everyday. besides everglades teachers lack discipline and leadership & the students are spoiled and rude. thats my view from a student.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 31, 2008

Everglades high school not only has academic excellence, but it also has a superb fine arts program, particularly the drama, choral, and band programs
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 28, 2008

My Son just graduated from Everglades and was a great experience for him and for the entire Family.. It's definitely and excellent school, he is really well prepared for college in all aspects..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2008

My daughter transferred to Everglades Sr. Hs. from a Charter School and it was the best decision that I ever made. The Principal, Teachers and Staff are the best. She does not have absences and her teachers are very supporting. Great school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2008

the school is a great school and have cool teacher that will help you be your best.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2013.

598 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
49%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 54% in 2013.

663 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
50%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 85% in 2013.

663 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

617 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "C".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

536 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
47%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

766 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

500 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 45% 29%
Black 36% 23%
White 9% 42%
Asian 8% 3%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 44%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 0%N/A2%
Graduation rate 87%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 52%53%61%
Master's degree 41%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 6%2%1%
Other degree 1%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 8%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons

Language learning

Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Dr. Paul Fetscher
Fax number
  • (754) 323-0640

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

17100 SW 48th Ct
Miramar, FL 33027
Phone: (754) 323-0500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Paladin Academy
Pembroke Pines, FL


Somerset Arts Conservatory
Pembroke Pines, FL


West Broward High School
Pembroke Pines, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT