Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Coral Cove Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 840 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 8 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

36 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 23, 2011

From the moment you walk on Coral Cove's campus you feel special. From the welcoming atmosphere to the exceptionally organized and arrival and dismissal procedures, there is no doubt that this is a very well run school. Principal Bullock should be the model for other principals to emulate. He is very pleasant, but commands the respect of his staff, parents, and students. Definitely a joy to see him in action. I also must compliment the support staff, most notably Mr. Maisel and Ms. Casanova for their assistance. I could also not ask for a better teacher than Ms. Santiago. Just a great experience at Coral Cove. Parents who can send their child to Coral Cove but choose a charter or private school instead are doing their children an injustice. The best school in Broward by a long shot!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2011

Strong principal= successful school. I love Coral Cove Elementary. My son counts down to go to school every morning! The parent involvement allowed in Coral Cove is incredible. They ask for you to be there! I have had lunch with my son, unannounced. I attend school trips and help the teacher in the classroom with projects. The staff is VERY friendly and welcoming. The numerous family nights provided by the school with dinner and entertainment included are awesome. No charter school can compare. I only wish Coral Cove would go all the way through 12th grade!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2011

This school has a new principal and it makes a significant difference in the environment. Coral Cove has always had great teachers and parent involvement. Now, parents can better interact with the principal. The previous leadship was smart but did not communicate with the parents as much.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2010

Completely agree with previous post. What a difference the new principal is making. We fell welcome, morale is high, and there is true leader at the helm. He is already respected and loved. Great job in just a short period of time!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2010

2nd year at the school and what a difference from last with the new Principal! I love it now. Prev comment about cop- If you park illegally you will get in trouble... Cant park in the grass, dont drop off in the middle of the parking lot and dont block the carline. You do as you are suppossed to and you wont have any issues with the cop. Dont throw the race card and blame him for your own traffic violations! As far as the reading issue goes, request a conference with the new shool staff to adress the teacher being so rude.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2010

I do not like this school. The staff is unfriendly. The cop that directs traffic is rude to parents unless you are Latino. I have tried to approach him on many occasions and he is unapproachable. Not good for morale. My child has problems reading. His previous teacher, in front of him and me said in passing that she knows he is going to be trouble someday. He is black, what kind of message is that? It appears that they only cater to one crowd. I think their admin staff needs to be rethought. They seem to be unqualified. How many children are slipping through the cracks? Cant wait to move. We moved here because everyone rated this school and Glades an A+--sorry, dont see it. I only see the children without difficulties and parents with money excelling.Moving East and putting my kids in Private. Public schools here are no good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2010

Coral Cove is an excellent school. I think there are a few small issues, as there will be anywhere. However, the staff work really hard to address any issues and they do welcome parent involvement. The PTA/SFA & SAC boards are all very strong and encourage parent involvement. Great school overall. My only negative is that as a single parent I sometimes feel that the parents that are very active at and able to attend every event do not give the working parents a fair shake sometimes (like SAC meetings @ 5:30 when work ends for most at 5). But I don't think it is intentional. So thumbs up! :-)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2009

The school teachers seem nice but the administration seems to be way too strict and unfriendly. The principal is unfriendly and the staff rude. I think its's the teachers and the PTA who are helping with the school's ratings.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2009

Coral Cove has a core of strong, dedicated teachers led by an administration that continues to strive for excellence in education. An A school again this year, the overall quality of the teaching staff is impecable. The teachers are actively involved in student development on all levels. They have a strong character development program including anti-bullying, SOAR and character trait recognition by grade levels. The school has a variety of activities to encourage family involvement and learning such as Target math night, science night, family home projects, etc.The staff and administration have clearly defined objectives when it comes to safety and discipline. Parents are actively involved in the progress of their child(ren) from daily notes in agendas, to phone calls home for both praise and concerns, to progress reports and bi-annual parent teacher conferences. Parents are encouraged to become actively involved to facilitate teamwork and assist those parents already dedicated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2009

The principal is unfreindly and unwelcoming. parent involvement opportunities are kept to a minimum in order to shun parental input and interaction. However, the teachers are the heart of the school. Although most of the time conversations are overheard and the staff seems unhappy with what is going on behind the scene. There seems to be an unspoken preference towards some teachers more tham others from what parents can see and what we've heard. My child seems to have have grown academically despite these problems due to a very dedicated teacher. However, I also feel that gifted and high students are not catered to as they should be given that that states gives schools money for this exact purpose. The curriculum for gifted and high students is the same as all the other students. Challenging material is rearely given.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2008

this is a great school. My son has been there since it open the door.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2007

This is my son's first year at Coral Cove Elementary, and I have to give high marks to the Kindergarten Team of teachers, especially his teacher, Mrs. Edwards. This was a wonderful first impression to the school system because of Mrs. Edwards. The only disappointment that I had this year was that my son only had P.E. once a week, and daily in the classroom for 15-20 minutes. I believe that learning is very important, but I also believe that the children need to get out and release some of that energy on the playground. I think that they are better able to remove the obstacles that are hindering them in the classroom by going out and exerting them by exercising. The safety was very good at the beginning of the year with the Police Officer being there all the time, at the end of the year I never saw him.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2007

Great teachers and staff. Also academia is right on track to challenge my son everyday
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2006

Great academic and extracurriclar programs.However, P.E. is for 15 minutes only and they do not offer Spanish at this time. All classrooms have there own bathrooms.The classrooms are locked once the students enter and all the hallways have security camera.A plus when your concerned about your childs security/safety.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2006

Great teachers! Great staff! Wonderful administration. Parental involvement is a bit lacking but this IS the school's inagural year. I hope to see more parent participation in the near future but I am thrilled with the curriculum and the quality of the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2006

Last December, the music teacher, teachers, and children prepared and practiced very hard for a Christmas event. It was by grades, and the last group (The Chorus)was a combination of all ages. The Principal instead of been happy and proud that the parents attendance was 100%. She told us to leave after our children were finished singing because of too many people? We as parents never get to see or interact with each other, and specially enjoy what our children and teachers proudly had prepared for us. This woman was in a hurry for us to leave before the event was even over. She was out of order to say that. This school needs a person with character, motivation, and passion - A Leader- where parents CAN get involved and participate with the teachers and children. You can even get a smile from her. The school needs and deserves a change soon.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

129 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

129 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
65%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

139 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
86%

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

139 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
73%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

136 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
92%

2013

 
 
98%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

127 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

127 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
86%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
68%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

127 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
56%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

117 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 50%
Black 31%
White 11%
Asian 6%
Two or more races 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 2%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 25%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 42%53%61%
Master's degree 51%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 4%2%1%
Other degree 4%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 1%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5100 Southwest 148th Avenue
Miramar, FL 33027
Phone: (754) 323-7950

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT