Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Glades Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1483 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

37 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 18, 2009

Im am a student at glades middle school and i strongly believe that this school deserves a 5 star rating because of its great teachers its amazing advancement in technology and our outstanding principal. I would also like to mention our great extracurricular activities ( p.E, cheerleading, band , and choir ) all these things are just the beginning of of this great school! written by: miss. Paula crespo p.S i am sorry for spelling and punctuation errors
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 20, 2009

glades middle is an excellent school i went to the school for 6th grade it is an excellent school the teachers are very understanding of the students situations.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 30, 2009

Two of my kids have attended Glades Middle School. I am very satisfied. Teachers motivate children. Both my kids have done very well here. Safety and discipline are big issues; this is a large school and this is a major concern for me. Kids may a get just a little too much homework. Teachers are readily available.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2009

well i hav to say that glades middle is the best i am a 7th grader and i love it there and the students and teachers are very nice
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 23, 2009

(Count.) fights sometimes do occur, (not to mention the food fights) but there is sercrutity on campous to take controll. The school does have over 2,000 but its all handled in the right way. the school has an incredible time managing system/ schedule that works perfectly. The 6th and 7th graders are in one building and the 8th graders are in another-(so parents, don't worry about the big 8th graders squishing your kids!! =D) the school has state-of-the-art equpment which is amazing. theres an abundance of technology every where you turn. all kids will get a chance to experince all there is to offer. i can truly say i've learned alot these past 3 years, but most impotanly i learned how to become a young adult, and your child will to @ glades. so to parents who are conserned, dont be, glades is Awsome!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2009

Hi I am in 8th grade at GMS and I love it there. The staff is fantastic and I have so many friends. Being on the gifted program makes no difference to my social status and there is no cheerleader/jock monarchy in our school. HIghly recommended!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 12, 2008

My daughter started Glades this past Aug. From the begining I was very apprehensive about the school especially since it has over 2000 students. I worry about her every day. So far she has been in close proximity to two fights, seen kids grope each other and almost crushed between doors trying to get to into her first peiod class. I have addresses my concerns to the the principal and 6th grade assistant principal but my concerns have never been addressed to my satisfaction. I do not feel aw though there is enough staff to adequatly supervise all of the students. Like I said I worry all the time but this has been her best year academically yet. The faculty and staff are really kidding themselves if they even remotely think they are in charge at this school. I am still planning on removing my child after christmas break.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2008

Hi I go to glades middle school and i really like it their school this is my second year at GMS aka: glades middle school. I am on team 7A and i have really great teachers like ms.Cordoves, mr.stiggler and ms. taylor. It is real easy to make friends and most people are nice encluding teachers. their are plenty field trips and reward days at our school GMS is the best school to go to and it is verry close to houses and apartments.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 20, 2008

This is a truly great school! I am in 7th grade, my 6th grade year and this year have been fine. The teachers and administration are really nice and are really good with the kids. They have good programs and clubs so everyone can find what they like. I know it has its bad kids, but doesn't every school. Most people bring up things like fights to push you away, but it has good qualities. It is a state of they art school, has great teachers and administration, good students, and great clubs and programs so everyone can find their own thing. Personally, I believe this is a good and safe learning environment for me and everyone else.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 31, 2008

i really lik this school i go their now and i'm a 6th grader it is a good learning enviorment and i really enjoy it
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 15, 2008

This school was a terrible place for our son. The facilities are new, but it is only a facade. The administration needs to remember that their job is to educate children, not to hire teachers or to maintain facilities. The children are unsupervised and out of control. If it was not because the district forces parents to send children there by not approving transfers, I am sure other parents would choose differently.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2007

Don't be fooled by the 'A' rating. The administration has no control of the students and from my understanding they do not support their teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2007

My son needs close homework supervision and some teachers don't update the schoolnotes. Behavior problems have escalated and this has affected classroom management. I understand there are plenty of extracurriculars but we stick with the academics; our time is spent tracking down what my kid should be doing for homework.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2006

For the motivated student, Glades Middle has a lot to offer in terms of academics, music and sports. I have not seen much in terms of art offerings, but my child is not really interested in that area. I'm very happy with the school and with the effort of teachers and administrators not only to educate our kids, but to teach them life skills. I don't have any qualms about my child's safety, classes are small enough that the teachers know the kids. I'm satisfied. The A rating means something!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2006

Glades middle school is a great school and most of the teachers are there for the kids and educate the kids really well! I passed the fcat this year with very awesome teachers and 3 high scores. Parents think just because the school is a bunch of portables that it is a bad school, that is not true! The new glades building is being built as of this summer... I want to see what you parents think then.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 25, 2006

Quality of curriculum is standard. Music, art and sports are offered but very 'politicised'. Minimal parental involvement. The school is comprised of numerous portables-no actual building that exists for the kids to be educated in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2006

Had to remove child from school and homeschool him because of the repeated issues of students disregard for the rules and the lack of appropriate discipline by the school managment. From my experience with the priniciple and the guidance counselor, I feel that they are easily moved by parents options to disciplining their children for breaking rules. Problems are theft, fighting, drugs, students engage in sexual acts with other students in the bathrooms, knives brought on campus, teachers being threatened by students verbal threats and physical contact. They do not have the man power to control the situation. Only a few guards. This school is not a safe enviroment for any child.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

448 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

449 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
67%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

393 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

469 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
71%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

311 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
37%

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

509 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
63%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

511 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
52%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

507 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
82%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

567 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

192 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
99%

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
98%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 44%
Black 33%
White 11%
Asian 9%
Two or more races 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 3%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 51%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 49%53%61%
Master's degree 46%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 4%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 8%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students PE instructor(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. KRISTA HERRERA
Fax number
  • (754) 323-4685

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

16700 Southwest 48th Court
Miramar, FL 33027
Website: Click here
Phone: (754) 323-4600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT