Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Solid Rock Christian School

Private | PK-12 | 100 students

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Mount Dora

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $146,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $840.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 30, 2013

There have been alot of changes at this school in the past 2 years and my children are happy to be attending during the coming 2013 -2014 school year. The admin staff is easy to communicate with and with tutroing available everyday afterschool my kids are receiving more intensive one on one time with their teacher(s). They have made gains academically and we are pleased with their progress. I read a review stating that the teachers were not qualified, I disagree, and hardly believe they are "in it" just for the money.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 22, 2012

Since the new Principal was appointed, the school has made a lot of progress. My son used to be bullied when he used to be part of the public system. In addition to that, there is great communication with the Principal. If there is any problem, she will adress it immediately. My kid is safe. Because of this, it is all worthy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2011

My son attending this school last year. Talk about, unorganized school. My son went through 4 teachers and 2 principals. This church school is there to just collect your money. We got the run around all year. The teachers are not qualified in any sense of the word. My son had a scholarship, they just wanted the money, no intention of helping him as they promised us. I just believed, since they are a church.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2009

My child was in public school and wear she was not doing well with a low C to high D G.P.A. This was very low for her understanding of the work given. The problem was not so much the work but the structure of the classroom. She was in need of this structure and accountability for her work and actions. Now she is working ahead of her grade and is on the A-B honer roll. If instilling morals and accountability is a priority to you and your family this is a great place to start.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2009

This school is the better choice over the public school choices. However, if your child needs more one-on-one learning, seek another alternative.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2009

My granddaughter came to this school after having attended and completed K-2 grade in public school. She was struggling with reading and self esteem. She had been bullied for some time coming home with bruises repeatedly over a 2 year period. Meetings and interventions were of no help. The school was going to PLACE her in 3rd grade knowing she wasn't ready. After being pre-tested, SRCS put her in 3rd grade working in the 2nd grade subjects she was behind in. She not only caught up to grade level but was moving ahead and finished the year doing 4th grade level work. Her teacher and SEVERAL other staff members gave her the individual attention she needed. She is safe, secure and thrilled as a happy honor roll student. She loves her teacher, class, school, staff and God. It touches ones heart.


Posted October 23, 2008

This school wants money for things they should allow the children to do. They only have pe once a week.We got blamed for teacher losing homework. Not allowed to discuss santa clause? As long as god is included and is the reason for the season, what is the problem? The lord loves to see us have fun with our children. What Father wouldn't?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2008

My children have done so well since coming from a public school. Public school is rushed that they leave some children behind. Solid Rock takes the time to make sure each child fully understands what they are learning. My children seem to be more confident. They like school now. The teachers and other facility are very loving and caring. They are learning how to make right choices in life. They are going to be better people becasue they are apart of this school. My sons now believe they can do anything they want. Thanks Solid Rock.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2007

I like the individual attention that my children receive from solid rock. The ace curriculum is probably the best that we have ever used. This curriculum can be adapted to meet the needs of the individual child. Whether your child is gifted or a moderate paced learner, solid rock can adapt the curriculum to meet your child's needs. The other thing that I like about this school is that living a wholesome life is taught to the children not only during bible, but during each subject. I like the idea that children are not exposed to ungodly lifestyles so prevalent in the public sector. Children are taught that living a holy lifestyle unto the lord is not only what is expected of them but it is the right thing to do.
—Submitted by a staff


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 71% 44%
Black 18% 29%
Hispanic 11% 24%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Asian 0% N/A
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • International Quality Status from Accelerated Christian Education (2008)

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Other health impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Japanese
  • Korean
  • Spanish

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00
School end time
  • 2:30
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Diana Bunting
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACE
Fax number
  • (352) 735-1084

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Virtual school
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Other health impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Japanese
  • Korean
  • Spanish

Resources

Transportation options
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • We believe that the responsibility for educating a child is a responsibility that must be equally shared between the student, the parents and the school. because of this we involve the parent in all aspects of their child's education.
More from this school
  • We offer affordable, family friendly tuitions along with full and partial scholarships for qualified recipients.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

21951 U.S. 441
Mount Dora, FL 32757
Phone: (352) 735-5777

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

National Deaf Academy
Mount Dora, FL





Mt. Dora High School
Mount Dora, FL


Mt. Dora Middle School
Mount Dora, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT