Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
130 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
21 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 38 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Solid Rock Christian School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted March 07, 2016
- a community member
I think the teachers are both competent and experienced- The lead teacher in each classroom also stays after school every day to tutor students who need extra help in any particular subject.

Solid Rock Christian School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted March 07, 2016
- a community member
I feel that the homework given is the appropriate amount for students who are now faced with the challenges of accomplishing more just to achieve a standard high school diploma. Another thing we like is the fact that there are tutoring classes available everyday during and after school to better help the kids stay on task and help them in any area they are struggling.


Solid Rock Christian School
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted March 07, 2016
- a community member
I notice during dismissal High School students assigned to help autistic students with their belongings and escort them from the classroom to their parents. This is a small thing, but encourages empathy and a nurturing spirit for those who are challenged with a disability.

Solid Rock Christian School
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted March 07, 2016
- a community member
I like the various organizations that the school works with to encourage it's students to 'go the extra mile' -- Step Up's Student Excellence, Disney's Dreamers and Doers,etc.

Solid Rock Christian School 4

Posted March 07, 2016
- a community member
My family and I have had a good experience at this school --it's accredited and the curriculum is solid. Gains have been made with test scores that reflect them accurately. I would also like to contest a previous reviewers comments about it being a 'haven' for troubled students - I assume that maybe they were speaking of the ASD (Autistic) students who have their own set of classrooms/program and should NOT be classified as behavior problems or 'troubled.' Working with children and having a family, I understand that if a student is not encouraged and made to learn and study at home (as well as in the classroom) - it is easy to lay blame to whatever school they may attend.


Solid Rock Christian School 4

Posted March 07, 2016
- a parent
I've had my daughter at Solid Rock Christian School for 3 years now. She's doing great academically and I am very pleased with the Abeka curriculum. My husband and I feel that she is in a safe environment and are happy with the education she is receiving. I wish they had more sports programs, however the pros of not having gangs, drugs or major behavior issues far outweigh the other.

Solid Rock Christian School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted March 07, 2016
- a parent
Students are taught and encouraged to be considerate of each other. They also have a "Zero Tolerance" for bullying which is very important to my family and the way we are raising my daughter.

Solid Rock Christian School 1

Posted April 20, 2015
- a parent
This school accommodates many students who are struggling to fit into public schools due to behavioral, social or academic concerns. Though they are accepting of students and kind hearted, the teachers do not have expertise to help students reach their potential. Adult supervision is limited and there could be serious safety concerns considering the fact that this school seems to be a safe haven for adolescents who are troubled. This was not a good fit for our family.


Solid Rock Christian School 5

Posted December 17, 2014
- a parent
My son has been going to this school for 3 years and he absolutely loves it!! His teacher is amazing!! It is a small school and that is exactly what he needed!!

Solid Rock Christian School 4

Posted July 30, 2013
- a parent
There have been alot of changes at this school in the past 2 years and my children are happy to be attending during the coming 2013 -2014 school year. The admin staff is easy to communicate with and with tutroing available everyday afterschool my kids are receiving more intensive one on one time with their teacher(s). They have made gains academically and we are pleased with their progress. I read a review stating that the teachers were not qualified, I disagree, and hardly believe they are "in it" just for the money.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Solid Rock Christian School
21951 U.S. 441, Mount Dora, FL  32757
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 38 reviews. (352) 735-5777
Last modified Solid Rock Christian School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Top