Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mulberry Senior High School

Public | 9-12 | 1001 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 5, 2014

The teachers show alot of favortism and bulling among students. This not giving all of them an equal chance to succeed. There is no communication between teachers, adminstrators and parents. Some of the teachers lack in preforming their duties as far as teaching goes. I have had three children go to this school and have had nothing but issues with their education. I have since pulled them and placed them into another high school where we are having a lot more success and happiness all the way around. I do not recommend this school. I know several parents that have moved their children because of the same issues.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2012

After all my daughter is going to graduate from Mulberry after going to three different high school I belive that this is the best one of them all. The hardest part was the FCAT but during her senior year she finally passed and graduated with a 3.0.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 4, 2009

I am a High School Student Attending the school and I would like to say that it is the best school I have ever been to I wouldn't want to attend any other school, yes there may be a few draw backs to it but there isnt a school in this world that is perfect. All my teachers are fun and interactive they like to joke around with the students and they are great at what they do. This is the best place in the world and I miss Mr. Hatch too but we will have to make the best without him, I want to sho[u]t out to my faavorite teachers, Talley and Mc'G' are they greatest guy teachers out there they are fun and they know how to make class fun Then there is Maffett Brinton Bowling and Woodard these ladies have been the most helpful with my class work.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 20, 2009

There is a serious lack of communication at this school. Students and parents are not nearly as informed as they should be on important matters, and it takes forever to get issues resolved. Not to mention, the administration is too strict, and the teachers give very little effort in encouraging their students.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 5, 2009

This school is lacking in its academics and administrational leadership, but there is a shining star- The mulberry high school FFA; i would encourage all students moving to the area to become active within the chapter. This chapter has the nuber one poultry judging team in the county(for the past two years) not to mention forestry, livestock exhibition, and a number of career development events that teach responsibility and leadership. Adamant about perfection, the advisors strive to integrate life lessons into their curriculum.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2008

I love Mulberry high school! I think it's great! i moved a couple of months ago. but i love it. and i miss mister hatch! he was the greatest!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 10, 2008

Cheerleading Advisor should be fired, as well as the Advisors' supervisor.


Posted January 11, 2008

Sub Par school to say the least. Should focus more around academics for the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2006

Mulberry High School was the best school I ever had the honor of attending.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 11, 2006

Mulberry High School is a very nice learning facility. The school is much smaller school, offering smaller classes, and more time with the teachers. The MHS choir program has attended all-state compitition, as well as Band. Our school has the best JROTC program in Polk county, and will be attending Drill Team Nationals this year. Overall, MHS has many programs to offer, and is a great oppertunity for many students accel.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2014.

255 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
40%

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
42%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2014.

275 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
39%

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
38%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2014.

272 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
81%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

251 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "D".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "C".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

177 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
41%

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
31%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

275 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
49%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

294 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
37%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

217 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 53%
Hispanic 33%
Black 11%
Two or more races 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 3%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 0%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 1%N/A2%
Graduation rate 73%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 71%66%61%
Master's degree 29%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 7%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Nurse(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MRS. PATRICIA BARNES
Fax number
  • (863) 701-1109

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Nurse(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Passes/tokens for public transportation
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Power lifting / Weight lifting
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4 Northeast 4th Avenue
Mulberry, FL 33860
Website: Click here
Phone: (863) 701-1104

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT