Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Corkscrew Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 650 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 10, 2014

CES has gone from being an A+ school to a C school. It's sad to see how careless some of the teachers have become. They need a new counselor as well. There's much to be done, but they lack the adequate staff, and programs to help the kids improve. Usually they tell you " there's no more space". My kids have been in this school since 2009, and they are not in the school of choice program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2013

Great principle/assistant principle involvement, both are not afraid to get up and dance or be silly with the children which the children LOVE! They get involved in the PTA and are a great support system for parents and PTA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2010

The teachers at CES are the greatest!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2010

I transferred my kids from a Miami-Dade County School that was great and I was so worried about changing my kids from their long term school and classmates in the middle of the school year but my kids are so happy they don't complain about going to school and they love that their homework was cut to almost nothing which now they have more time for their own activities. Corkscrew staff was helpful and polite and the teachers seemed very nice. A+
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2009

Excellent teachers, wonderful learning environment
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

The teachers and staff are very concern and interested in the students. My kids love to go to school everyday!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

The staff is so concerned and caring for the children, no wonder it's an A school!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

This school has the most above average teachers that I have seen. The majority of them have only the students best interest in mind and whole heartily give of themselves to the kids, through thick and thin. It is also a very controlled environment as to the safety of the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2008

This school has great teachers yet some of the children as a result of the families leave me to wonder if my children are in the right setting
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2008

There are some really great teachers still there, hower since the orginal principal (she was awesome) has left, the school has changed. It has become more strict and military like.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2006

I have never encountered a more pleasant, caring, hard working staff as I have at CES! Everyone strives to keep up high standards of education,while still making it a fun, positive environment. My kids love school now, and are doing great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2006

The school daily activities seem to differ from the school's Mission Statements presented to the Public. Moreover also your students seem to be granted greater amount of time for participating in Play or nonacademic issues instead of appreciating the uniqueness of Time which is in your hand.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2005

I have a child who went through grades 1-5 here at CES. He obtained a strong academic foundation and is well-prepared for the upper grades. This is a wonderful school with a great staff and children. There are very few behavioral concerns. Expectations are high. I would recommend it to everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2005

I love this school, the teachers are wonderful. I am amazed at how many parents are involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2005

Great School! A dedicated faculty and lovely place for my children to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2005

one of the best schools around. you always feel welcomed. my son accelerated beyond my dreams. the teachers and principle are always there for you. you want to be involved because you are so proud of the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2005

My son has gone to this School as an ESE student since he began school a the age of 4. My son did not talk, feed himself, dress himself, understand the fact that he is a diabetic or what that means to him, let alone anything academic. The praise begins here...the teachers, speech, PT, nursing to monitor his blood sugar, OT, His teacher and his aides all of these people who honestly loved my son and NEVER GAVE UP ON HIM! Now last year he was taken away because there was no 'program' that fit his needs. I am NOT and neither is my HUSBAND, who usually does not get involved in matters of schooling. This year he did. We both cannot wait until we can pick our home School instead of the assigning one to my son that he has never set foot in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2005

On the morning of signing our housing purchase agreement, I made the effort to interview my sons new school by dropping by unannounced. The purchase agreement was contingent on my comfort level with the new school. I found the school plain and utilitarian in appearance, but met with the school councelor anyway. He was very professional and kind. He answered all of my questions and gave me a tour. We were able to meet the principal and vice principal, who were also kind. We encountered polite and quiet children of all ages. That was impressive. The classroom was age appropriate and colorfull. We liked the caffeteria seating arrangements, and we were taken aback by there being sand for the playground area! My son thought that was cool. I had a good gut feeling that this may work out for my children. Needless to say- we signed the purchase agreement following.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2004

Staff warm and welcoming. Teachers work hard to do the best for the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2004

Best school with the best teachers. I can not walk through the school without being asked by an employee where I am going and why (even with a sticker).. The fun ways they have to teaching the kids is a life long lesson they will never forget!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

104 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

104 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
73%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

124 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

125 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
65%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

121 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
88%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

125 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
56%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

125 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
66%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

125 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
54%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

135 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 47%
Hispanic 42%
Black 6%
Two or more races 4%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 9%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 44%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 42%50%61%
Master's degree 57%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 2%2%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1065 County Road 858
Naples, FL 34120
Phone: (239) 377-6500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Nicaea Academy
Naples, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT