Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sabal Palm Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 572 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted today

My daughter went to Naples Park Elementary K-4 and has spent her final year elementary here at Sabal Palm. This school is so much nicer than NPE all around, better facilities, better communication. I cannot say enough nice things about it. The kids seem to be a nicer group too. When problems have come up, the administration has been quick to address them. Sports Club has been great here as well. I would say I'm going to miss Sabal Palm since she's going to Cypress next year for middle school but I will have a Kindergardener in a little over a year and we get to come back all over again.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2013

I have my little girl going to Sable Palm Elementary its a great school and excellent teachers! Later this year my boy starts, I'm sad but happy. They grow up quickly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2010

Sabal Palm Elementary is a great school! :)


Posted October 11, 2010

My great grandson will be attending next year. His sister and cousin attended a few years back. It's a good scool.


Posted March 27, 2008

I have had two of my boys attend Sabal Palm and I am very happy with the administration, facilities and teachers. My boys are 8 years apart so they have attended the school during very different times but the quality of education has been consistent. I feel the teachers are always quick to respond to our questions and concerns. The office staff is always friendly and you can feel they enjoy thier working environment. The facilities are always clean, well maintained and well landscaped.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2007

Overall, the school provides an excellent learning environment. My children are challenged to learn, the teachers are truly devoted to their field and show a genuine concern for the kids. The staff is supportive and always helpful. From 2005 to 2007, after school activities have expanded and we (as parents) love to see more of that. We've also noticed that the lunch menu has more variety. I volunteer at the school as much time as I can, it would be nice to see more parents involved in doing the same.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2006

excelent school, very good organization
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2006

Sable Palm teachers are wonderful, they really care about the children. I feel as though they need more Extracurricular activities. Our first year at Sable palm was one to remember... However as the years go on, the parents are no longer willing to help out. I no longeer feel welcomed there.. I only feel welcomed in my kids class rooms. Our PTO has most of the schools office staff on the board...some who don't even have children in the school!Too bad they use to have a lot of great parents helping out... well looks like they can handle things on there own.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2005

The school is well organized and I enjoy that it has many activities throughout the school year. The teachers are great and the administration knows what they are doing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2005

I think the school overall is a good quality school but because it is so new it lacks afterschool activities. I would like to see some sports added afterschool.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2005

Sabal Palm Elem. has proven to be very beneficial to my two daughters. The teachers are excellent as far as helping the children learn at a steady pace. The only issue I have with the school, is that teacher's are out of the classroom alot. Meaning, my daughters have had many substitute teachers for one reason or another. It hasn't impacted my girls in a negative way, because the substitutes have also been a great help to them. Overall, I think the school is wonderful, and it has a great Principal!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
35%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
55%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
43%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
54%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
46%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
55%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
45%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

90 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 45% 29%
White 42% 42%
Black 5% 23%
Two or more races 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 3% 0%
Asian N/A 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 61%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 62%50%61%
Master's degree 38%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4095 18th Ave NE
Naples, FL 34120
Phone: (239) 377-8200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT