Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Veterans Memorial Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 856 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 16, 2013

I agree this ranking does not accurately reflect the quality of this school. I found the teachers and staff at this school to be wonderful! The principal left in the middle of the school year this past year which was disappointing, he was fantasti! I hope his leadership ideas continue.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2013

Great school. We have to children here and have had a wonderful experience. Teachers are very caring and provide the appropriate guidance.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2011

Great school. The website ranking doesn't accurately reflect the quality of this school because it is new. The facility and technology are second to none. Teachers are great and both our kids are very happy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2011

Both of my kids attend VME my daughter is going to 3rd grade and my son just attended year of Pre-K and can't wait to go to K. The school teaching is little different as they have combined classes (K-1,2-3,4-5). The teachers are excellent they work in groups to make the progress together. I can't say enough for the principal, he greets the kids by their name every morning ( have no idea how he remembers) and have such a positive attitude, always willing to listen and makes changes to improve the school the students and the whole learning experience at VME. I am not involved with the PTO but I believe the families that are doing great job with everything.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2011

MY SON WENT TO VME FOR A YEAR. IT IS A GREAT SCHOOL. I LOVED THE STAFF AND THE TEACHERS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2011

Enrolled my first grade foster daughter into this school this morning. At her old school she was reading short stories and writing sentences. She came home with this weeks homework for Veterans Memorial Elementary and they were learning to write the letter Q... The office staff was also very rude and treated me horribly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2010

I love VME! We are getting ready to start our 4th year at this school and can't ask for anything more. From the Principal to the teachers to the cafeteria staff, it is like one big family. We are a positive behavior school which means that there aren't as many referrals for bad behavior compared to other schools. We are blessed to be able to have this school in our district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2009

What make VME different from all the other public elementary schools in the areas, is the students taught to master a skill and then move on. They use hands on manipulatives for concrete learning and multiple intelligence techniques to reach all learners. Pick this school if you want a solid foundation for your child with no hole in math or phonics. I don't mean Spalding Phonics which teaches all the sounds to the child and is totally useless in practice. Collier County Schools needs to update its whole language approach to reading and adopt a new phonics program that at least makes sense , they have done a wonderful job with the new math, let us pray for some help with reading.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2009

Although this school may not be for everyone, it is perfect for my 2 sons. They are excelling and getting challenged at the same time. Throughout the day, they see so many of their friends...they don't just sit in one classroom. The staff and teachers are great and so open-minded! Love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2008

I love the excellence and positive atmosphere this school offered for my son. The teachers were able to recognize my child's strenghts and challenged him to his fullest potential. The administration has been key to this schools success! Compared to other schools in the area - I would recommend Veterans anyday!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2008

excellent!!! We love this school
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

151 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

151 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
72%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

132 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
90%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

132 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
57%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

131 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
82%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

136 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

136 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
66%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

136 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
48%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

158 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 66%
Hispanic 21%
Black 9%
Asian 2%
Two or more races 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 1%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 43%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 41%50%61%
Master's degree 57%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 2%2%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 3%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

15960 Veterans Memorial Boulevard
Naples, FL 34110
Phone: (239) 377-8800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Journeys Academy
Naples, FL




Adonai Academy
Naples, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT