Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Navarre High School

Public | 9-12 | 1925 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 14, 2013

Do not attend this school. Do not allow your children to attend this school. The school is filled with "wanna be ghetto" kids. Faculty is a joke and spend more time prowling the young girls. Stay as far away as possible. No good will come from your child attending this school. They're better off driving another 25 minutes to Gulf Breeze High school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2013

The school is an OK school. There has been some bullying and some of the teachers are not the best. I have had some teachers there that were magnificent. The student body could use a reality check but you cannot change people. I will be a sophomore this year and I really hope the school has improved the teaching staff. Algebra 2 teachers have almost all been fired. I hope the school will be a little better. Other than that it is a good learning environment. I really like the college courses and honors courses that are offered at the school too!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 4, 2013

Very disappointed. Our daughter loved her schools until now. Teachers show little interest in actually teaching and only seem interested in prepping the kids for the state exams. We understand it was a good school at one time, but been in a steady decline over past several years. And, the campus really needs work...a real dump!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2012

Hi I'm a special needs child in ese and Im being bullied at school and the staff there is no help the school is turning the blame to me when I'm the victim i hate this school
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 22, 2009

Like all public schools, there are good and bad things to report. My son graduated in 2008 from Navarre High. His education there was adequate, but not competitive. Teachers and staff were unresponsive to my requests/concerns. A few of the teachers are truly outstanding; but most seem to be just punching their time until retirement eligible. Since he graduated there has been a change in guidance counselors and staff; so there's hope. But if you have an alternative school available, recommend you enroll your child there rather than in Navarre High. My daughter enters 9th grade this coming year and I am moving simply because I do not want her to enter this school. She deserves a better HS education than the one she'd get if I stay here and she attends , I was looking for a job when I found this one so I'm confident I'll find a job
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2009

My daughter loves this school. We have been very pleased with the teachers and staff. She has excelled and is currently the top 10% of her class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2008

Outstanding school! As a former high school teacher and coach, I am a picky parent. They're not perfect, but strive to be. One son has graduated and another enrolled currently. We've been here for nearly 10 years and see constant efforts to grow and improve.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2008

I am currently attending Navarre High School and overall suprised at its excellence. The teachers are sensational and are good at their job. The staff is very helpful. The safety of the school is spectacular. I can be confidant that I will be well prepared for college and the realistic issues of life after high school. Navarre High School is a great institution.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 22, 2008

My child loves Navarre high. She loves her science teacher. He has been very helpful. She went into the school year hateing it now she loves it. Thank you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2008

The school has a lot to work on staff wise. I am a senior at Navarre High School and and honor roll student. I feel ill prepared for college and whenever I interact with school administartive staff most are rude or completely unhelpful. Most of the teachers are top notch but some are not quite as stellar as others. However, on a whole the school is good. Course selection is slim and the halls are crowded but overall the school is safe and a good institution for learning. The only downfall is the administrative staff being rude or ill informed and unhelpful when it comes to helping you academically.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 28, 2007

I have a Junior at Navarre High and have been pleased with her experience there overall. There are certainly areas that can improve and the school is very young. The principal has a vision and seems to genuinely care about the students and their well being now and into the future. He won a state award having to do with incorporating technology into this school after his first or second year here. I believe NHS will continue to improve and will build a strong tradition as a school that gives their students the solid footing they need to go out into the big wide world out there. :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2005

I was in the first class to graduate from Navarre and I loved it. We were able, as students, to mold the direction that our school was going to go in. It was a wonderful experence. I felt the academic programs helped prepare me for college and the life beyond.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 15, 2003

Navarre has a great high school. The teachers and staff show a great deal of compassion for students. Students leave NHS with a solid education and great experiences. Navarre High is is a wonderful, supportive and safe place to attend school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2003

I don't like the way that the school is run. I don't think most of the teachers teach well. Things like the FCAT are important, and it doesn't seem like they care at all. Just my opinion from seeing what this school is all about, and it's not a good one.


Posted May 22, 2003

Academically Navarre High School has a lot to offer. They are soon to be incorporating college courses through the summer as well as during the school year. Extracurricular activities seem to suffer because the coaching staff has been teaching under ten years. Coaches seem to have a problem in separating themselves socially from the students. I believe this is because the school started out with a 9th grade class and then kept adding a grade every year. Their first graduating class was in 2001.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2014.

502 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
73%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2014.

474 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
70%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2014.

475 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
89%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

464 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

314 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
66%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

504 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
83%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

486 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
76%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

362 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 73%
Hispanic 10%
Two or more races 8%
Black 6%
Asian 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 130%N/AN/A
Limited English proficient 21%N/A9%
Source: 1 FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014
Source: 2 FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 3%N/A2%
Graduation rate 80%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 66%65%61%
Master's degree 33%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 1%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 2%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8600 High School Boulevard
Navarre, FL 32566
Website: Click here
Phone: (850) 936-6080

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Fort Walton Beach High School
Fort Walton Beach, FL


Silver Sands-Excep. Children
Fort Walton Beach, FL


Calvary Christian Pre-School
Fort Walton Beach, FL


Calvary Christian Academy
Fort Walton Beach, FL


Okaloosa Academy
Fort Walton Beach, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT