Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK, 3-5
Public district
Navarre, FL
Students enrolled: 1,021
 

4 stars
Based on 28 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


32 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


West Navarre Intermediate School 5

Posted June 07, 2013
- a parent
Great school, great Staff, very nice teachers that care about teaching. My daughter has excelled in this school and the FCAT scores prove it. Best school district BY FAR in the State of Florida.

West Navarre Intermediate School 5

Posted January 17, 2012
- a parent
My son has graduated from this school and my daughter is now attending. We have had NO issues to speak of. The teachers are fantastic and care about their students. They do the best they can within the budget constraints they face so don't be surprised if there is no gymnasium or band class. They may teach to alot of the FCAT but what do you want them to teach to? Liberal philosophy? Finger painting? They teach the 3 Rs well and throw in other honest learning such as social studies and science. Tomorrow when we have more money than we know what to do with we can buy all new band equipment, a new gym and playground, ipads for all the students and have a 5:1 student to teacher ratio. Until then the basics will have to do and West Navarre does it well. Look at it this way, other schools teach to the FCAT as well...and still fail.


West Navarre Intermediate School 1

Posted September 01, 2011
- a parent
the principle at this school is the rudest person ive every met she should never became a principle my child has been in holly navarre inter. since kindergarten we moved and now he has to go to west navarre and its the worst school im going to move back to the holly navarre district that's how bad the principle is

West Navarre Intermediate School 5

Posted October 09, 2009
- a parent
They are on top of everything and very happy with this school.

West Navarre Intermediate School 0
no rating

Posted May 17, 2009
- a parent
My daughter went to this school for three years before we moved out of state. I agree with the other reviews that way TOO much emphasis was put on the FCAT. I also did not feel welcome and was treated very rudely on more than one occasion by the principal (Ratliff). My daughter did have some great teachers there, but they were limited with what they could do because of the principal's 'rule'. I wouldn't want my son to go there because the kids weren't allowed to be kids, they didn't have recess or get to do anything fun. It was just study, study, study for the FCAT. It was a blessing we moved.


West Navarre Intermediate School 5

Posted April 24, 2009
- a parent
My child attends West Navarre Intermediate School. I could not be more happy with a school. They employ WONDERFUL teachers and staff. I rate the school an absolute 10!!

West Navarre Intermediate School 0
no rating

Posted April 22, 2009
- a student
hi im a student at WNIS i love it there i think its the best school in the world they have very good way of teaching and i dont want to have any other school

West Navarre Intermediate School 3

Posted April 17, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


West Navarre Intermediate School 5

Posted March 19, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

West Navarre Intermediate School 0
no rating

Posted January 30, 2009
- a parent
We just moved here from California and to say WNIS is far superior to the school my daughter attended there would be an understatement. My daughter loves her teacher and welcomes the academic challenges with open arms. WNIS is very well-organized and appears to have a large number of parents involved in the school, although I haven't seen a newsletter from the PTO yet. The office staff (especially Caroline) is very helpful and informative. The pick-up/drop-off works really well. The only complaint I have is the librarian, who has more than on one occasion, discouraged my daughter from reading. Yes, I agree that there is way too much emphasis on the FCAT, which in all fairness, is how schools and principals are rated. The majority of schools in the U.S. focus on passing their standardized tests instead of actually 'teaching,' albeit WNIS does spend a little more than I'm used to.
1 person found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

West Navarre Intermediate School
1970 Cotton Bay Lane, Navarre, FL  32566
(850) 936-6060
Last modified West Navarre Intermediate School is a Public school that serves grades PK, 3-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
West Navarre Intermediate School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 32 reviews. Top