Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK, 3-5|Public district
1,033 students|Santa Rosa
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
29 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 33 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


West Navarre Intermediate School 5

Posted June 07, 2013
- a parent
Great school, great Staff, very nice teachers that care about teaching. My daughter has excelled in this school and the FCAT scores prove it. Best school district BY FAR in the State of Florida.

West Navarre Intermediate School 5

Posted January 17, 2012
- a parent
My son has graduated from this school and my daughter is now attending. We have had NO issues to speak of. The teachers are fantastic and care about their students. They do the best they can within the budget constraints they face so don't be surprised if there is no gymnasium or band class. They may teach to alot of the FCAT but what do you want them to teach to? Liberal philosophy? Finger painting? They teach the 3 Rs well and throw in other honest learning such as social studies and science. Tomorrow when we have more money than we know what to do with we can buy all new band equipment, a new gym and playground, ipads for all the students and have a 5:1 student to teacher ratio. Until then the basics will have to do and West Navarre does it well. Look at it this way, other schools teach to the FCAT as well...and still fail.


West Navarre Intermediate School 1

Posted September 01, 2011
- a parent
the principle at this school is the rudest person ive every met she should never became a principle my child has been in holly navarre inter. since kindergarten we moved and now he has to go to west navarre and its the worst school im going to move back to the holly navarre district that's how bad the principle is

West Navarre Intermediate School 5

Posted October 09, 2009
- a parent
They are on top of everything and very happy with this school.

West Navarre Intermediate School
no rating

Posted May 17, 2009
- a parent
My daughter went to this school for three years before we moved out of state. I agree with the other reviews that way TOO much emphasis was put on the FCAT. I also did not feel welcome and was treated very rudely on more than one occasion by the principal (Ratliff). My daughter did have some great teachers there, but they were limited with what they could do because of the principal's 'rule'. I wouldn't want my son to go there because the kids weren't allowed to be kids, they didn't have recess or get to do anything fun. It was just study, study, study for the FCAT. It was a blessing we moved.


West Navarre Intermediate School 5

Posted April 24, 2009
- a parent
My child attends West Navarre Intermediate School. I could not be more happy with a school. They employ WONDERFUL teachers and staff. I rate the school an absolute 10!!

West Navarre Intermediate School
no rating

Posted April 22, 2009
- a student
hi im a student at WNIS i love it there i think its the best school in the world they have very good way of teaching and i dont want to have any other school

West Navarre Intermediate School
no rating

Posted January 30, 2009
- a parent
We just moved here from California and to say WNIS is far superior to the school my daughter attended there would be an understatement. My daughter loves her teacher and welcomes the academic challenges with open arms. WNIS is very well-organized and appears to have a large number of parents involved in the school, although I haven't seen a newsletter from the PTO yet. The office staff (especially Caroline) is very helpful and informative. The pick-up/drop-off works really well. The only complaint I have is the librarian, who has more than on one occasion, discouraged my daughter from reading. Yes, I agree that there is way too much emphasis on the FCAT, which in all fairness, is how schools and principals are rated. The majority of schools in the U.S. focus on passing their standardized tests instead of actually 'teaching,' albeit WNIS does spend a little more than I'm used to.


West Navarre Intermediate School
no rating

Posted December 02, 2008
- a parent
This school and florida schools for that matter put way too much attention on FCAT. The principal of this school rules with an iron fist and the parents are not involed at all. Notes arent even sent home for discipline issues.

West Navarre Intermediate School 5

Posted November 13, 2008
- a parent
My child has attended school here since she was in kindergarten (before it changed to an intermediate school) and I've had nothing but positive experiences here. My child has had some special-needs issues, and the school has always been helpful. Last year, when she had some academic issues, the teacher called us in for a conference and set out a plan to deal with those issues and she improved. She has loved all of her teachers. Of course it's not perfect, but not many schools are. I read some of these reviews and wonder if our kids are at the same school! I've always been greeted warmly when I've come in and felt welcome when I can for lunch or to volunteer.

Nearby schools

West Navarre Intermediate School
1970 Cotton Bay Lane, Navarre, FL  32566
(850) 936-6060
Last modified West Navarre Intermediate School is a Public school that serves grades PK, 3-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top