Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Beaches Chapel School

Private | PK-12 | 254 students

 
 

Living in Neptune Beach

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $244,600. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $820.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 8 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 5, 2012

I have a daughter in PreK and one in 2nd grade. This is our first year at Beaches Chapel so I can only speak for the elementary program. We are so happy to have our children in a loving, Christian environment at Beaches Chapel. Kudos to the leadership who makes worshiping God and putting Him first priority. Starting every day with praise and worship sets a tone for not only students but staff and even parents about what our day should be centered around. I am equally as impressed with the emphasis that the school places on physical activity and outdoor time. Academics- important? Absolutely...but when our children have a properly fostered relationship with Jesus and a healthy body, the academics will be that much easier for them to comprehend and handle. Since entering PreK my daughter has gone from barely recognizing most of her letters to starting to reading words on her own...in 7 months!! My 2nd grader (who started out the year in first grade) is flourishing and her learning environment is so enriched with creative teaching techniques that make learning fun AND effective! LOVE this school. The one thing I would change would be the lunch menu..need healthier options!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2011

I am appalled to read anything but positive review of both principals. To say that either does not care about academic well being of the students is simply stupidity on the part of the person writing it. Maybe your child has issues that they weren't able to "fix," instead of you taking the time to help your child? My children scored into the high school levels as an ELEMENTARY student! And, now as high school students, their academic track is enhanced by the work the high school principal put into action to bring NOT ONLY dual enrollment/college credit courses, but now this year AP classes, as well! Not to mention my children earned high school credits through the aggressive academic program the principal put into place for those who qualify for it in the middle school. We can't wait for the gym to be built too, and appreciate all the principal is doing to make sure our children have such an important part of any school to their time in school. How could anyone say this is not part of a child's education? PE, volleyball, basketball, cheerleading, dances, homecoming, reunions - all of these things take place in a gym. BCS is a great school and is lead by great leaders!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2011

This is a great school if you are looking for a place where your child's teachers will care about what's happening with your child. I am constantly kept up to date when my children are facing challenges and when they are doing great too. My children have been in the elementary and the middle school and the high school. At each level they have been given a good academic education. Their chapel time is the best we've ever experienced anywhere. We love everything about Beaches!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2011

Beaches Chapel has a great elementary school. The teachers and Principal are outstanding in the Elementary School. However, the High School/Middle School is lacking in ALL aspects. Yes, the High School new but the focus seems to be sports and sports and more sports. And sole emphasis is on acquiring a gymnasium that has nothing to do with education. All monies donated and tuition is not put where they promise. Education and skills needed for College are secondary to administration s personal agenda. The High School Principal does not have a clue about education and is clearly only running a business.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2011

My son attended Beaches Chapel for 3 years and absolutely loved it. We had a bit of a rough start, but the teachers were always willing to meet with us and discuss a plan to get my son on the right track. I did notice that some of the parents were "clique-ish", but I never let that get in the way of my son's involvement with the school. We've moved out of the area, and now I'm tasked with finding a school that he will enjoy as much as BCS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2011

The school needs a lot of improvement, and they were not ready to open a high school. Some teachers are nice, while certain teachers need to be spoken to about their personal involvement with the students. The teachers also complain on a daily basis about their pay, and the school all together. The principal is nice, but has no clue whats going on, and unfortunately doesn't care to.


Posted May 20, 2011

This school is noneducational the teachers bring the children down in their greatest and is rude and inconsiderate of the children. The teachers do their own thing and sone leave for more than 5 times in one class period. The children do not learn anything! I am a former student and now home schooled


Posted March 20, 2011

The teachers in the high school were 50/50. 50% Were wonderful and dedicated and 50% seemed to bring their personal issues into the classroom or they would favor certain students, prior students were favored over new students. the coaches were the BEST ever however the principal seemed to be out-of-the-loop and very harsh on punishments leading to punishment not fitting the crime. Some students would receive a slap on the wrist and other students would receive supspension for the SAME behavior. Very inconsistant methods.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2011

I have four children at this school and they LOVE it! We joked about moving to the mountains and they actually started crying about leaving their school. The teachers have a passion for teaching and give so much effort and time to their students! It truly is the best opportunity for your child's success, spirit, soul and body!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2010

Love it! I've had 3 children attend since 1988 and all have done well. BCS now has a high school too. Excellent spiritually and academically.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2010

My child went to this school last year (08-09) and loved it. I loved my child's teacher and my child did too. However, the school is full of cliques. Some of the parents are worse than the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2009

I have three children that attend Beaches Chapel and it is the best!!! I love it and my children love it. The connection between school and family is wonderful. This school provides it all!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2008

My Daughter goes here and out of all the schools I looked at on this side of town it seem to have the best in education I wanted for my child
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 89% 42%
Hispanic 5% 29%
Black 4% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • CSF
  • CSI
Fax number
  • (904) 241-6296

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • Independent Study
  • Virtual school
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Flag Football
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

610 Florida Boulevard
Neptune Beach, FL 32266
Website: Click here
Phone: (904) 241-4211

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


New Leaf School For Change
Neptune Beach, FL


Duncan U. Fletcher Middle School
Jacksonville Beach, FL


San Pablo Elementary School
Jacksonville Beach, FL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT