Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

The Beaches School

Private | PK-1, 3-9 | 93 students

 
 

Living in Neptune Beach

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $244,600. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $820.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 18, 2014

I send my son The Beaches school because of the safe environment and educational possibilities that this school offers. The teachers and staff alike are well aware of the troubles that parents nowadays have in making a decision where to send their children to school. This is my 2nd year of sending my son to this school I feel more confident than ever and she will have a better opportunity to learn all of the required skills to better prepare her for the world that lies ahead. Teachers communicate with the children and parents regarding any concerns with education and are more than willing to help the children with tutoring and keep the parents aware of any progress made. I hope to continue on this journey of education with my son, and to send him to the Beaches school in the future. A parent of the Beaches School
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2014

The school is very involved in nutrition and health. They have personal trainers who work with the students. They have weekly yoga. They have a great nutrition curriculum and encourage active, healthy kids. The have a "no screen time" policy which makes me sure my child is not sitting in front of a tv. The class size is small and as a parent I feel the schools open door policy for parents is quite refreshing when compared to other schools. Having my child at The Beaches School gives me great peace of mind.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2013

We like the School. The teachers are actually good, with time for each student - unlike over crowded public schools with 16+ kids /class. schools. Obviously though with a smaller school without the big funding they lack some programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2013

My school takes special time with each individual student. I'm very glad I found The Beaches School for my daughter. I recommend this school for any student on any level.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2013

I feel very fortunate that my children attend The Beaches School. The staff is attentive and caters to the needs of the students on an individual level. The students PE program utilizes personal training instructors. My child is always excited to go to school and the small class size makes the school such a close and supportive community. I really feel like everyone at the school has my childs' best interests in mind with every decision they make.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2011

My children have been at The Beaches School for two years and I have been very disappointed. After two years, they were behind academically and emotionally. The environment of the school is nothing but negative. Teachers were unprofessional. I regret sending my children there. They are many other wonderful choices for private school out there but Beaches School is not worth considering.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2011

The school is lack of resources that any private school should have. They do not have library or gymnastic. They do not have music teacher nor the program. The teaching method is nothing but haphazard. Teachers are of sub par standard. Disciplining methods were not effective and lack of consistency.Teachers do not behave as role model for students. If you'd like waste your time and money, this place is just for you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2008

My son is at The Beaches School and is doing wonderful work. He is being challenged and is exceeding tearcher expectations. He has learned so much since arriving at the school. Hats off to the teachers at The Beaches School. Thank you for making learning enjoyable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2008

My children attended this school for 2 years. Then I chose to switch them to public school. Academically, The Beaches school is WAY BEHIND! I would NOT RECCOMEND this unsafe, accademically behind School to anyone. I was highly dissappointed to see the lack of skill the teachers have. the principal never showed any possitive involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2006

Academics are more one on one than in public schools. The parents are a definite part of the school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2006

We have been more then impressed by the level of attention and support the teachers and staff have given our sons. We look forward to another year with this school and with their staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2005

The Red School house has been an asset to our family academically and socially. My grade school child attended when he was younger and my 3 year old has attended since he was a little over a year. The teachers here are poised to guide the children to learn social and academic skills through play and fundamentally educate the children by repetition, kindness and calmness. Family values and participation is not only welcomed but encouraged. My older son went to a larger school owned by a corporation and while it was a nice school the value of teachers and curricullum was not enforced as it is at the Red School House.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2004

Strong emphasis on learning and personal responsibility. Christian environment. Very small class sizes allow individual attention.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2003

This school individualizes learning for the children and it shows in their mannerisms and leadership ablilty.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 65% 42%
Hispanic 14% 29%
Black 8% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 3%
Two or more races 6% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Kitchen
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 4 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Fax number
  • (904) 249-5241

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Personal Training
Girls sports
  • Personal Training

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • None
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2049 Florida Blvd
Neptune Beach, FL 32266
Website: Click here
Phone: (904) 249-0905

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Monument Christian Academy
Atlantic Beach, FL



Beaches Chapel School
Neptune Beach, FL


The Seaside Playgarden Inc
Atlantic Beach, FL


New Leaf School For Change
Neptune Beach, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT